We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to spend the rest of your life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfside On The Beach
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have stayed at Surfside On The Beach on at least six occasions and it gets better every time. The rooms are great, the views are stunning and the beach is perfect. The owners Sonia and Rob and their team are delightful people and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We plan on buying a unit there and 'living the dream'.

Room Tip: Corner suites have the best panoramic views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Maybe one day you WILL get the chance to spend the rest of your life here:) it certainly is the perfect place with absolute beachfront at your doorstep,5 minutes walk from the local shopping centre and surf club and only 10 minutes drive either way to Caloundra and Maroochydore... and glad that you love our rooms.
We look forward to catching up with you another time.. and once again, thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Surfside On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were paddling at Lake Kawana and this was a few minutes drive away. The staff were extremely friendly, units were huge and perfect for a group of friends. We stayed in a three bedroom so the big dining facilities both inside and on the roof top were fabulous. Even had time for a quick walk along the beachfront and a dip in the pool. Lovely getaway and great value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Front Office Manager at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to look after all our visitors and it’s good that you found us to be a friendly bunch. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time you are paddling Lake Kawana Way. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed on a short term lease (3 months) whilst our family was relocating to the Sunshine Coast. This was an excellent location within steps of the beach, and a short walk to Kawana shopping mall, and the local surf club. Underground parking that is easy to get in and out of. There are also numerous car parking spots outside off the street and plenty of on street parking if all else is full. Under parking parking should not fill up because you get a spot with your room. I have stayed at numerous room types here, and the higher levels have roof top access to your own BBQ area, and great water views. The are three pools which are well maintained. The hosts are very helpful and always available to assist with any questions. My son recently had friends from Sydney visit and he stayed here with them and found the room and staff by good. Sonya, your hospitality is outstanding and I would recommend anyone to stay here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Front Office Manager at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Wow.. 3 months with us and so many nice things to say!! Thank you. We really appreciate great feedback and took particular note of your comments about our parking facilities. Excellent info to pass onto our future visitors. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was a nice quiet location away from the crowds of Mooloolaba - yet close enough to get there quickly by car. The apartments are large, old style furnishings and clean. We had one over looking the pool. It was a nice place but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and the rooms facing the western sun very hot - so we had an uncomfortable nights rest. Would recommend to book a ocean facing room that doesn't have the bedroom windows facing the western sun if possible. Otherwise this is a good spot in a great location. Very quiet which is nice. There is a park and surfclub within walking distance which was good for a play for the children and a quick dinner.

Room Tip: Would recommend to book a ocean facing room that doesn't have the bedroom windows facing the wes...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puckawidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Public Relations Manager at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. You are spot on about the location. We are central to everything, but far enough away to be able to kick back and not have to fight crowds of people. It’s also good feedback about room location although being on the ocean we are usually blessed with beautiful breezes. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed as a family of four. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, ocean view.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds comfy, great balcony with lots of sun and nice view.
Pool is small, but it's not really a resort, so that's expected.
It was very quiet when we were there, hardly saw any other people, although we went outside of school holidays.

Our apartment had access to the roof top which would be great for a party/gathering. (beware if you have young kids who are climbers, this could be scary!) It had an amazing view of sunset, lovely breeze. There was only one table setting up there, no bbq, but you could easily take up some drinks and dinner. (we stayed in apartment 23)

Overall, quite good value and comfortable. Only suggestion would be some block-out curtains! Sun wakes you up very early, which is ok for us, but not for people who would like to sleep in.

Room Tip: I noticed on the booking that you are not guaranteed air conditioning.. I would definitely not book...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Public Relations Manager at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Great to hear you had a good time with your family. Surfside On the Beach is a great destination for families with 1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments available. You’d love the penthouse! The good thing about our resort is that it is a little bit away from the madding crowds but close to everything. Not sure if you were aware but there are 3 pools on the resort so that if one pool doesn’t suit, you can mosey on over to another one. We hope you’ll come back and visit us soon.. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment for 3 nights . I arrived and walked in, very average for the price . The bedding configuration I requested on the internet wasn't what I asked for. I rang management and they couldnt move us to another apartment and was told because I booked on the net and didnt book on phone you get what get . They offered me queen size sheets and to move the single beds together . Also the beds were the most uncomfortable beds Ive ever slept on . Not supportative and springs digging into your back . Wont go back

Robin

Room Tip: I have no tips I dont think management cares.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Director of Sales at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hello Robin,
Thank you for your feedback. After your phone call to our office, you were informed that the apartments we had available for your dates all had 1 queen and 4 singles as the bed configuration and we were not able to move you to another apartment. We value your feedback about the beds and apartments and have found that all guests that have departed from that apartment have been happy with the apartment.
Kind Regards
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Surfside on the Beach in a three bedroom apartment. We have a toddler (under 2) and it was a perfect get-away for us. The only downside is that you cannot swim at the beach directly across from the apartments (no flags), however the swimming pools make up for this and being so close to the beach is great for sand castles and paddling.

The only detraction was that I called to notify the management that our fridge was leaking however no one ever came to look at it, and the apartment didn't have a grater - other than that we had a wonderful break here and will come again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfsideonthebeach, Public Relations Manager at Surfside On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Just wanted to say thank you for your feedback. It really is great accommodation for families and good for the little ones with 3 pools to choose from and the patrolled beaches just a 5 minute walk away. Apart from a few minor hickups, which rest assured we have rectified we are glad you had a wonderful break and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buddina
2.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#8 of 16 in Mooloolaba
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Kawana Waters
6.8 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kawana Waters Hotel
Kawana Waters Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mooloolaba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside On The Beach

Address: 143 -147 Lowanna Dr, Buddina, Queensland 4575, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Buddina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buddina
Price Range: $139 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surfside On The Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfside On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing