We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be 3 star not 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Resort Kawana Waters
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This should be 3 star not 4”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this 'resort' for one night the first weekend in May. Considering it is not a popular destination or in a big town you wouldn't expect to pay much but I think we paid around $140 for the night and we booked on Wotif.com. The rooms are outdated, the bed was uncomfortable and there were no soaps or shampoos/ conditioners for our use in the bathroom. I think they are overselling this place for what it is and need to change their 4 star to a 3. I would come here again but only if the price for a room was dropped as you are paying too much for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merylverstraaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SideSun, Manager at Beachside Resort Kawana Waters, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your feedback. We are an apartment complex and although we offer overnight stays we are not a hotel. We are continually undergoing renovations to keep all apartments to a high standard with just a few slightly overdue. Being self contained apartments with a large shopping centre nearby we don't have shampoo/conditioner in rooms but there is always soap provided and we can provide shampoo etc if you request from reception. Our rates are very competitive and you would find it difficult to book a reasonable hotel room, let alone an apartment, for the rate you paid for a single Saturday night. Again appreciate your feedback but please let reception know of any concerns so we can attend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had to book these apartments at very short notice due to a family illness and expectedly paid through the nose for a very basic apartment. The major issue with this place though is the fact that it was the most unwelcoing accommodation I have stayed at in 20 years. The list of don't dos in the elevator, the total lack of service and overall room cleanliness made for a very depressing stay. It's unfortunately fairly indicative of holiday accommodation in Queensland. Get as much as you can from teh punters for as little as possible in return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We came from allover Australia for a wekend together, Great area out of the busy tourist but exactly what we wanted. Our room was all that we needed with a well appointed kitchen area and some excellent eateries close by.
We plan to be back for more family reunions.
Thanks Jim & Carol for a great weekend.

Room Tip: 2F has an excellant balcony large enough to cater for a family of 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed only for the one night, due to business at the adjoining Kawana Shoppingworld.
Minor gripes, but generally clean tidy and as it is in a predominantly residential area, quiet.
A good place to stay, but transport will be needed to take you to places.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We could not fault our stay. Initially I thought it could have been a bit out of the way when booking, not having any local knowledge. Yes it is away from the many resorts further up. However that suited us, less people and tourist hype pleasantly quiet and SO!!! relaxing. No need to get in the car if you don't wish to. Walk to the shopping complex, beach and restaurants that were reasonably priced. The apartment was affordable, roomy and well equipped with a great ocean view and a lovely sea breeze. The Managers were very accommodating and welcoming.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M_M201154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed a weekend recently and thought the managers were lovely. The 3br apartment was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy - all of which tick the most important boxes. The Manager James recommended a good local restaurant - Portside seafood which was about 10 mins walk from the apartment with good food very reasonably priced. I would stay there again. The Kawana Waters surf club across the road also had one of the best steak sandwiches I've ever had.
My only criticism was that the manager did not give good advice re local public transport (we were there for the Cold Chisel concert). He recommended we walk the 3.5km to the venue as there was little public transport. We did this, only to see several local buses pass us on the way to the venue. There was also on-site parking at the venue for only $5 - which he failed to mention.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

From the moment u step in to the Resort Carol & James is indeed a good host to the Resort. I would recommend this Resort to anyone, the Resort is Xcellent in service < Hospitality is indeed the best, Relaxing and value for money... AAA+++ Highly Recomended The best Resort and Buddina..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buddina
2.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Kawana Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bluewater Point Resort
Bluewater Point Resort
#1 of 1 in Minyama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfside On The Beach
Surfside On The Beach
#1 of 2 in Buddina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
7.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Resort Kawana Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Kawana Waters

Property: Beachside Resort Kawana Waters
Address: 101 Pacific Bvd, Buddina, Queensland 4575, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Buddina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buddina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachside Resort Kawana Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean styled seven story building with 36 apartments right on patrolled beach. Peaceful area close to all amenities and attractions of the Sunshine Coast. Surf club and major shopping within a short walk. Apartments are A/C & fully self contained with kitchens and laundry. Resort has outdoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, games room, BBQ area and full size floodlit tennis court. Cable TV, lift and secure basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beachside Resort Kawana Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing