We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montemar Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel(Subic Bay Freeport Zone)
$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acea Subic Bay(Subic Bay Freeport Zone)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Vasco's Restaurant, Hotel and Museum(Subic Bay Freeport Zone)(Great Value!)
$40
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sky Home(Bagac)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
33
92
40
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
92
40
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla mareanon membersblue poolfood tastetennis courtsgarden viewtree houseoff peak seasonhole golf coursehour drivekiddie poolpeace and quietwhite sand beachevery summergallery roomwonderful weekendmy hubby
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 188 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend a night in Montemar. The trip was only 2-3 hours from Manila if you take the Sctex. Upon arrival on the gates of the resort, they have security guards checking whether you're expected or not. The reception area is unimpressive and this is the only place with wi-fi!!! Our room has two double beds, a tv, safe, and a ref that only contains 2 bottled water! A hair dryer isnt provided. The food is just okay. But I'm a bit dissapointed with the service of the staff. Probably they need to have more training in customer service.

Room Tip: Choose the room near the pool and playground if you have children with you
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenbernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Since my mother hails from Bagac, Bataan, i remember before when I was a kid that this place is exclusive for members only. The facilities and amenities were different then unlike now when this became open to the public. I just notice that for the past five years or so, we've been visiting this place every January. This resort never fails to amaze me. Staff are. always courteous and very wiling to help. The rooms are cozy, they had a nice landscape but in some area near the playground needs improvement. With just 2 to 3 hour drive from Manila, this can be a good choice for a quick weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Think Grace Kelly compared to the supermodels of today. Quietly dignified & timeless, as opposed to flashy, superficial beauty. Or compare your mom's best home-cooked meal to the more expensive entrees in a 5-star restaurant. Unpretentious, unassuming, but highly more satisfying. This is what Montemar is compared to the more expensive, more exclusive beach resorts.

PROS: The hotel has recently undergone a renovation, so it has gotten even better with age. The service, as always, is efficient without being invasive. The resort has various activities that you can try like banana-boat rides, jet ski rides, and you can even hire the local "bancas" to take you to snorkeling sites or to caves where you can explore a bit. If you want to stay in the resort and are a bit tired of swimming, you can play basketball, shoot some pool, or play beach volleyball. They have a small kiosk set up for pearl jewelries and other knick-knacks that you might want to buy as souvenirs. This kiosk also features a henna artist during the weekends.This resort is extremely child friendly. The waves are very calm, and they have a kiddie pool connected to the shaded pool for adults. The resort personnel are very friendly and alert, always ready to give extra service if needed. (My mom made a simple comment to me about how the serving for breakfast seemed to be a bit less than what was served the day before, and the waiter promptly came back with an extra serving of "tocino", a breakfast viand staple here, without being asked.)

CONS: (I didn't say the resort was perfect, right?) Your rooms will not be cleaned unless you hang the "please make up room" sign on your doorknob. This means they also won't replenish the complimentary toiletries unless you ask. The soap they provide is really thin, and melts right away, so you'll need to ask for extra bars. (They always give you the extras with a smile, so no hassle there.) They provide towels in the rooms, however, beach towels will only be provided for a fee of P50 per day. (A little over a dollar.) If you come during lean season, only one restaurant will be open, so the food choices will be limited. During peak season, however, aside from the main restaurant, they have an al fresco type dining area which features grilled food, which, I heard, is really good.

In summary, the pros far outweigh the cons in this resort. The price is also very reasonable. My family of 3 stayed for 3 days and 2 nights, and we spent a total of roughly P17,000. This covered the hotel accommodation, plus all the meals we had on the resort, plus the "banca" ride we took to a cave located around 45 minutes away. (Converted to dollars, this translates to around $395.50 for the entire vacation.)

Room Tip: Gallery rooms (good for 4 people) are located at the 2nd floor, so maybe it would be better to get the de Luxe room (good for 2) and just pay for the extra bed, since the de Luxe rooms are located at the ground floor, right next to the shaded pool. Don't get the cheaper rooms because they are located farther from the pool and beach area. It's not worth the money you'll save to have to "hike" daily from the cheaper rooms to the main resort area.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EvilSnarkyToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Montemar Beach Club in Bagac Bataan is the venue for team building activities in our office last November 2011.

The place itself is nice, with a wide and lengthy enough beach front. The beach has fine white coral-ish sand but once you get in the water, it’s a bit stony.

Food: Taste is average and the servings could have been bigger, considering that they charged a bit high on these. The selection is limited although I am not sure if it’s the ones provided in the menu that our group chose. I am not sure if their ala carte food is better in terms of selection and servings.

Rooms: Very nice and spacious, ours even has a loft (mini 2nd floor) with two more beds. We also have our own terrace. However, the big “queen size” bed in our room is actually two single beds joined together. Room amenities could have improved as I have noticed that the bath soaps they provided might have been old stock already as these were becoming “oily” on their package; they should also have provided toothbrushes and toothpaste at the very least, considering their room rates. The screen door leading to the terrace can be easily broken into so I think they also have to improve on this.

Other facilities: They have aqua bikes but I am not sure why weren’t able to use it, same with the kayak. I saw two large pools that is far from one another, which I find a good thing as our group sort of had the other pool to ourselves.

Parking: Not a problem during the time as went there during off-peak season. Not sure about that during peak season though

Restroom in the restaurant is well-maintained.

What is important is that I had a good night’s sleep and was able to enjoy the resort. However, if given the chance to come back to Montemar, I’d say I’ll pass unless it’s free…

Room Tip: Reserve the rooms near the beach so you don't have to walk long...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jejebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

the facilities were excellent but the service and food sucks. they boast of a buffet but limits the amount of food one can consume. the service crew even made snide remarks that is insulting to the cleints. even their junior officers were rude. they are not senior citizen friendly.

Room Tip: choose another resort!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank mcd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews