We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat and part of a country's history as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagac
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A real treat and part of a country's history as well”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A living museum with wonderful surroundings and beautiful old buildings from the earlier time of the Philippines history makes for a wonderful few days. Included with excellent service and food. You can't go wrong here. Señor Azucar deserves the utmost respect and applaud for making it all happen. A preservation effort of Philippine history not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    307
    93
    40
    26
See reviews for
309
78
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a pleasant post-Christmas family weekend vacation last December 29-30, 2012. They're doing a good job maintaining and restoring historical houses, which would otherwise be in a sorry state. Although, ideally, it would be better to keep these historical houses in their original location. That is - if the government/private sector in the area are willing and able.

We enjoyed the free tour of the houses (most especially my husband who loves heritage houses) and the cultural night they prepared for the guests. The hotel staff at the reception, maintenance, restaurant, and tour services were very hospitable and friendly, a trademark of Filipino quality service known globally.

The executive suite where our family of 7 stayed was a good choice. It has 2 toilet/bath, beds are comfortable and the air conditioning is sufficient. Although, the resort is a bit pricey for the local tourists.

I think our 2 days/1 night stay is enough as there is not much to do in the resort. Although it has a swimming pool and beach. Also, be ready for the long wait at the reception and the restaurants if you visit during the peak season. The amenities (like towels, toiletries) were not yet in the room when we checked-in but all it takes is one call to the reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5CM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Luckily, I was able to convinced a friend to have avail a day tour here. The day tour package includes welcome drink, fresh face towel, a tour around the village and free access of their beach area.

The tour was fun and very educational. Since there's only two of us, we were combined with other groups. The tour took 1 hour and a half (photo sessions included). The tour guide assigned to us was very enthusiastic which made his "talk" about the history of every house more interesting.

After the tour, we decides to have our lunch in a restaurant that serves Filipino food. We ordered lechon kawali good for 2-3 persons. The price is reasonable and it did taste good.

Entering the village felt like you are entering a Spanish Colony. It even felt like you're not in the Philippines. I want to go back here and I hope it will be an overnight.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanycula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarlac
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed overnight with my family of 5 adults and 2 kids at this resort/hotel on a weekday (Thursday) where there were no activities and only a few people around (peaceful and quiet). The resort was remarkably historical, nice and clean. The staff were helpful, pleasant and courteous, although there was a hitch in our check-in. We arrived at 1:15 PM and was told that our room was not yet ready. They offered free ice-cold drinks to other guests, although for some reason we were not offered some. The reception area was hot and humid (no air conditioning),and after waiting for more than an hour and after I protested and made a complaint, we were finally ushered into our room. Our 2-storey old house with a loft was clean, spacious and comfortable with 3 queen-sized beds (one on the 2nd floor and 2 on the loft). The 1st floor has a small living room with cable TV, a toilet and a small dining table. The air conditioner is adequate in spite of the hot weather outside. All the beautifully restored old houses in the resort has an interesting story to tell. The walk along the cobble-stone paths were truly nostalgic. The swimming pool was large enough since we were the only ones using it at the time. The public beach area though has not much to offer (grey sand, murky and no life guards). The restaurant though is a little expensive (don't bother looking for a restaurant outside the resort as there were none). Though they were not strict about bringing in food and drinks. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this resort. Nice place to bring relatives and friends living abroad.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive Suite at the Paseo de Escolta which was spacious, roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

A quarter to 7am, we left Manila for Bagac, Bataan. We arrived at the resort past 11am. I could say it took about 3.5 hours to get there (minus one stop in NLEX). At the reception, we were advised to take our lunch as we couldn't check in yet. Check in time is 2pm. So anyway, we had lunch in one of the resto there, a set lunch of a piece of (small and dry/hard) pork chop, with rice and string beans, beef stew soup and a scoop of corn ice cream for dessert. Oops, plus a glass of coke. Php410, a bit expensive considering the quality of the main entree. The homemade ice cream was delicious, 'though. And the resto staff were nice. 2pm, we headed to our room, an executive suite with loft, good for 4 people (officially), but with 1 queen and 2 double beds, I'd say it should be for 6. With a lot of room for extra beds! Very, very spacious room, really nice. The first floor has a living room and a tiny dining area, plus T&B. Upstairs is the room with queen bed, a small dining set, and a full T&B. Then there's the stairs to the loft. The rate included set breakfast for 4, additional Php500++ per person (I think) for extra guests. Just don't expect much on the set breakfast, quite frustrating. We really don't mind paying much, but I think, their set meals (lunch and breakfast) need a lot of improvement. Then there's a walking tour which lasts for approx. 1.5 hrs. A tour guide shows the guests the different heritage houses and a little history of the house. Personally, I think they should provide more information on each house, to make it more interesting. They also have a cultural show at 6pm every Saturday. For dinner, we had a Filipino buffet-style meal for Php550/pax. Good food. And the tandem of Kundiman si Lolo at Lola serenaded us during dinner. Was fun. We also requested bonfire at the beach, pretty cool. Early morning is the perfect time to hit the beach, water is calm and clean, pure bliss. You can even see small fishes while swimming. Overall, nice experience, but it's so humid out there, wish there's more trees. If only to see the heritage houses, I think it's worth going to just only once in your life.

Room Tip: The executive suite with loft is nice for 8 people max. Casa de Cagayan is a native style house, ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshineYell0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had our trip planned, coming form Subic for a day to watch Asian Triathlon and roam around it's attractions, (don't miss the Tree Top Adventure), we proceeded to Bagac via the SBMA Morong Rd, quite eerie JJ Linao road, a very challenging, forest surrounded, we went down and up, up and down, the mountains, but the "adventurous" in us says it is a very fulfilling trip. (That's the same route to Anvaya Cove and Bataan Nuclear Power Plant)
The Las Casas is marvelous and unique, although one can finish to tour the place in a short time, a day tour or an overnite is not enough to feel the novelty of the place. We love the exclusivity of the beach. We went to swim in the early morning so when the others started leaving & trooping to have breakfast,my family is the only one there. I admire the maintenance the owner takes, we saw two personnel picking up trash in the morning and in the early evening in the beach front making sure it's clean. Don't expect a Boracay or Palawan white sand, you are in Bataan of course. The most important, water is still clean, we can see some fish and can pick up little shells underneath.
Service wise : Any needs, requests or problems are attended to right away. The food is of typical restaurant price but serving is generous (so it's okay to share) and taste good. We would sure love to go back every now and then, and when it finishes its 200 houses project (right now they only have 27). Only downside, the wi-fi is not available in the room but they have it in the reception or you have your own subs anyway. Besides it's a vacation from everything!
So as not to waste your energies and thrill, in 30-40 max minutes more, you can be at Mt,. Samat to feel the place of valor and see the view of Manila Bay on this side and the whole of Bataan through the elevator inside the Dambana cross.( Note: since we came from Subic, we went back to Manila via Bataan National Hiway and SCTEX Dinalupihan Exit instead)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a day tour in this Filipino heritage hotel last April 20, 2013 and indeed struck me of the old Filipino antiques from every corner thus depicting of the past era, It is much exciting to see all those old buildings and as well as the surroundings. We had our lunch here and the food is great. The gabi ice cream as a dessert will also fill your stomach as a last food course. Thereafter, we started to roam the area and had a lot of pictures taken because beautiful images to capture is everywhere. Still not contented, we rode in a kalesa: Php 50.00 is charged for every passenger and it is limited to four occupants, Reason: The Horse named "Makisig" also get tired and has to maintain certain weight to finish the task for the day. They have also a swimming pool area called batis and a huge swimming area in the sea.

They have also a souvenir shop in the area, you can even wear their Filipino dress and costumes and have a photograph for a fee. A lot of things could be made and an enjoyable day tour is not enough to fully enjoy your stay. You have to stay overnight to fulfill your satisfaction. Indeed, this is a showcase of the Filipino Heritage! There are a lot of improvements and constructions being made in their expansion area, A must see for local and international tourists.

BTW, before proceeding in this attraction, try to visit Mt. Samat! It is an unforgettable experience,,,,,,, Am pretty sure, this will be included in my future trips that needs to be revisited. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagac
19.4 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
169 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
#1 of 5 in Balanga City
122 reviews
14.6 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#5 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Oriental Bataan
The Oriental Bataan
#1 of 1 in Mariveles
40 reviews
16.8 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
238 reviews
11.1 mi away
Crown Royale Hotel
Crown Royale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Balanga City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar

Property: Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Address: Brgy. Ibaba, Bagac | Bataan, Bagac, Luzon 2107, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Bataan Province > Bagac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine showcase of Filipino history and craftsmanship, Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar in Bataan takes you back to 18th-century Philippines in the twinkling of an eye. Architectural pieces of a bygone era, from different parts of the country, were reconstructed brick by brick, plank by plank. The noble-class mansions, wooden stilt houses, and a grand main building made of stone stand proudly in a village of cobblestone streets. To add up to the ambiance, a backdrop of majestic mountains, expansive rice fields, and a running river that flows to the sea, are found in the vast property. Truly a travel destination unlike any other, this resort in Bataan is a living museum of Philippine heritage. The traditional houses as hotel accommodations are the centerpiece of this Bataan beach resort about 125 km northwest of Manila. Even so, this destination resort does not lack in providing avenues for entertainment, relaxation, and recreation. It has the Napiya Spa, a swimming pool, private beach, gaming center, 3 restaurants, conference and banquet facilities, cultural shows, and heritage tours. Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar takes pride in giving you a glimpse of the past, reliving the age-old yet distinctive Filipino traditions, while providing the luxuries and comforts of contemporary times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas Filipinas De Acuzar Hotel Bagac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing