We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent History and Heritage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Ranked #1 of 3 Bagac B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
228 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent History and Heritage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I had to attend an event in Samal, Bataan which was about 2.5 hours from Manila. We decided to proceed to Bagac, which is another 45 minutes drive where the resurrected old houses where in the process of being put together. The reception was inside the main entrance where the parking area was located. Our car was allowed to drop us off but had to return outside as soon as our bags were dropped off. Check in was quick and were helped to our room. The lady said there are now 29 completely restored houses and more are being built. We were assigned room 206 at the Escolta Building which has 3 floors. The wooden stairs creaked but looked sturdy enough. As in bygone days, the room was quite large, maybe about 40sqm with a large wooden 4poster bed, modern toilet and bath plus a separate shower, equipped with modern fixtures. We were provided a hot water kettle and complimentary coffee/tea making consummables. Very convenient indeed after a long drive.
There are several scheduled walking tours of the restored houses. We were late for the 430pm so we had no choice but to do the 830am schedule. We walked the cobblestoned grounds to the swimming pool, then the restored bridge made of stone. A smaller version of some of the bridges crossing the Seine in Paris or the famous stone bridges crossing the Blue Danube in Prague and Budapest. We saw more restoration work across the bridge. The property is pleasantly sandwiched between the ocean and several rice fields allowing the breeze to blow thru the restored houses. It was warm but pleasant with this breeze.
Dinner was excellent with live folk music. Only drawback is the very large portions which even when shared is much too much. We had the ox tail cooked in peanut sauce, a local delicacy called kare-kare. Delicious. We paired this with fried catfish which was large and had to be halved to fit the serving dish. Plus local veggies called kangkong cooked in garlic. After dinner we walked around the facility again to get this dinner digested and get us ready for our in room massage which we booked earlier. The one hour massage went by quickly. The two therapists were extremely good. We were both asleep by the time they finished.
Breakfast was okey but not that good. The portions could have been larger and should allow for 2 eggs instead of just one. Coffee was good but no free re-fills given. You can of course order another cup.
The 830 am tour schedule just had the 2 of us. The guide was pleasant and even lent has large native hats for shade. Due to time constraints, we managed to see the inside of only one of the restored houses. We were requested to leave our shoes outside as a sign of respect for the house. It was very well restored and the inside looks so much more intricate than the outside. Really a walking history of the period.
We plan to return to finish the tour and see more restored houses. Truly worth recommending to friends both local and especially those living overseas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    271
    76
    33
    24
See reviews for
263
68
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I heard a lot of good things with this place and definitely it didn’t let me down, from the moment we arrived at the gate we fell in love with the place already. By the entrance gate you will find staffs dressed in old Filipino costumes and even the security guys were dressed in old military uniform. We arrived to the place at around 1 in the afternoon and they are definitely very strict when it comes to check in time, the check in time was 2 PM and we arrived an hour earlier so we were told that the room will only be available by 2 PM, so it is better not to go for early check in and since it is only 3-4 hours drive away from Manila you can first pass by and visit the Mt. Samat War Memorial which is also nice to visit when in Bataan, you will first pass this place when going to Las Casas and if so ever you will still arrived early at Las Casas before the check in time you can already avail the tour package of the place which starts at around 2:30 PM but during that time it will be really hot then. Actually the best time to go for the tour is in the morning and it is much better to wear sandals instead of shoes since in some of the houses you will need to remove your footwear upon entering.

When you check in they will offer you welcome drinks and cold towels, to why they are serving cold towels is because even during the month of December the place was really hot since it is located near the beach so it is better to wear summer clothes instead. As of now they have more or less 29 old houses in the area and some can be rented out but renting those old houses will be kind of expensive so if you have 4-5 people in your group you can rent their hotel with a loft as it is much cheaper than the houses, it has 2 queen size beds and 1 bathroom but if you have a larger group you can stay on those old houses which is much preferable. If you think that the hotel rooms and the houses were old you will be surprised to know they have ACU’s on them, the bathroom is big with modern amenities like hot and cold shower and a bathtub, they also have cable TV in the room but no WIFI.

The best day to go to Las Casas is during Saturdays because they are having a cultural show in the evening so it is better to have your dinner early so that after dining you can watch and enjoy the show, but also before dinner you can go by the beach first and watch the very beautiful sunset. During at night the lights bring more beauty to the place it seems you were brought back in time, they built a concrete bridge going to the beach which the design was taken from a Spanish era and the fountains will really put in you to a romantic mood. They have 2 restaurants at Las Casas one serving Filipino dishes and the other is an Italian restaurant, we tried the Italian dish and they were delicious they have hand tossed pizza and the pasta was also nice. If you want to take a dip because of the heat they have a swimming pool in the area or you can also go to the beach instead but remind you that they don’t allow swimming at the beach if no Lifeguard is on duty but I would prefer the pool. And when you go to Las Casas better bring a lot of cash because during the time we went there the internet was down so you couldn’t use your credit card and also they don’t allow bringing in foods and drinks inside so you have to buy everything inside the place and the price is kind of expensive.

And before you leave the place go to their photo studio near the hotel and have your photos taken wearing those old dresses, the photo shoot will take at least an hour and you can have it taken outdoor anywhere inside Las Casas and when they print the photos it looks like an old photograph from ages ago.

We did have a lot of fun and really enjoyed the place, definitely we will be coming back again to Las Casas I just hope that they improved the checking in and checking out process since they always make you wait.

Room Tip: For 4-5 persons take the hotel room with a Loft, it is much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Too expensive. Italian food quality is like what you buy in fast food. Beach seems to be murky. Tour guide says thing repetitively. Very poor ventilation on the several houses that were presented. Nothing much to learn and see. A huge waste of time and money. Not even recommended for student study tour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wilson y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great time here in Las Casas with my family. We enjoyed the place, food, beach, of course the houses, although, our ancestral house looks like the houses here in Las Casas, i still enjoyed visiting these old houses in Las Casas. Its also educational trip for my kids. Amazing sabi nga nila..... I like their pinakbet, miki bihon, etc. I love the place. And of course the staff were all accommodating and i like their smiles.

Room Tip: get the executive, family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaagnes_mendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

After many trips to my wife's place in Bataan, we've finally decided to go see the Las Casas Filipinas ourselves. It's just 45 minutes drive from their place and all I could say is it was worth the trip.

As written in their brochure, the heritage houses are great, with the helpful, historical spiels from the tour guides giving the guests a bit more attachment to the casa rather than just see them as 'old buildings'. If you're in to photographing structures, the casas backdropped by the mountain or the sea, with a beautiful sunset, makes the trip all worth it.

They could do with some additional attractions for the younger kids though, but I think it's a work in progress and I'm sure they'll get around to those in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donix_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

An overnight stay at Las Casas brought smiles and cheers to myself.The place,price,entertainment as previously discussed by other visitors are commendable.It's like you were brought back in a time machine circa early 1900's!The historical houses,antique furniture,people in costumes and landscape is just amazing.I would honestly say if you are looking for a more energetic place with videoke bars and choices of food establishments Las Casas is not the place.It's more of immersing oneself about Philippine history and architecture. Las Casas In-house restaurant food is nothing to rave about but rather it's striking interiors & furniture will awe anyone.We were given a corner table tuck in the back portion of Italian restaurant.It's one dinner ambience I will cherish forever. I wouldn't mind bringing balikbayan guests over to Las Casas even for a day tour!Worth mentioning upon check-out a voucher for 1k for room rate discount with 1 year validity was given to me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimpledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A visit to Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar is an overwhelming experience. First of all, it is perfect for a weekend getaway from Manila as it is a manageable 3 hour drive away. Secondly, the prices are very reasonable. We stayed at a super spacious loft-type room for 4 in the Escolta inspired hotel of the resort. I think staying at one of the actual restored houses is more expensive.

But other than the accommodations (which comes with a set breakfast), what was fascinating was the place itself. The concept is solid and well-thought out. With the heritage homes, a free walking tour every hour, the cobble stone streets, the staff in Spanish colonial costume, batis-like pool, PLUS the over-all picturesque beauty, Las Casas Filipinas is a living museum.

If you want a different kind of holiday where you revisit and relive our history and at the same time relax in a well-maintained resort, this place is a definite must-try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagac
11.7 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
#1 of 5 in Balanga City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Oriental Bataan
The Oriental Bataan
#1 of 1 in Mariveles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#4 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
19.2 mi away
Subic Grand Seas Resort
Subic Grand Seas Resort
#4 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
19.3 mi away
Subiza Beach Resort
Subiza Beach Resort
#7 of 18 in Olongapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar

Property: Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Address: | Brgy. Ibaba, Bagac, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Bataan Province > Bagac
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bagac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine showcase of Filipino history and craftsmanship, Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar in Bataan takes you back to 18th-century Philippines in the twinkling of an eye. Architectural pieces of a bygone era, from different parts of the country, were reconstructed brick by brick, plank by plank. The noble-class mansions, wooden stilt houses, and a grand main building made of stone stand proudly in a village of cobblestone streets. To add up to the ambiance, a backdrop of majestic mountains, expansive rice fields, and a running river that flows to the sea, are found in the vast property. Truly a travel destination unlike any other, this resort in Bataan is a living museum of Philippine heritage. The traditional houses as hotel accommodations are the centerpiece of this Bataan beach resort about 125 km northwest of Manila. Even so, this destination resort does not lack in providing avenues for entertainment, relaxation, and recreation. It has the Napiya Spa, a swimming pool, private beach, gaming center, 3 restaurants, conference and banquet facilities, cultural shows, and heritage tours. Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar takes pride in giving you a glimpse of the past, reliving the age-old yet distinctive Filipino traditions, while providing the luxuries and comforts of contemporary times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas Filipinas De Acuzar Hotel Bagac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing