We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time - old Philippines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagac
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Perfect place for our company team building and workshop. Great reconstruction of century old houses and replicas. Just 175km from Manila, less than 1 hour from Dambana ng Kagitingan [ Heroes Altar] WWII Memorial.

Restaurant was also good in continental selection but god for local food. Night cultural show had a good rendition of Philippine dances

Room Tip: The rooms and villas are replicas or rebuilt old houses, expect natural or old wood scent - if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PEEDEEOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

It's like we've been into a time machine the moment we entered at the gate of Las Casas. All the staff that we've encountered are very welcoming, friendly and attentive. The food was great and with reasonable price too, but we still brought our own beverages even though it says on the guidelines that we're not allowed, well, good thing we still did esp some drinking water as a bottle of mineral water there cost twice the regular price outside. But other than that our experience in Las Casas with my family is truly a memorable one...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belles04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The moment we stepped foot on the historical village, we were instantly brought back to the past.
The staffs were all dressed up like in the early 1900s and the village was full of heritage houses, maintained by the resort.

Food was okay but priced on the steep side.

Perfect getaway for family, especially for those living abroad who wanted to be immersed with Filipino Traditions.

I loved the stories the tour guides tell. You should listen attentively because you wouldn't want to miss the juiciest details of each house - especially Casa Biñan and Casa Unisan :)

Best ancestral house to rent would be Casa San Miguel -you have your own billiards table :)

pictures of our trip here:
DAY ONE - http://jotan23.blogspot.com/2012/06/las-casas-filipinas-de-acuzar-bagac.html
DAY TWO - http://jotan23.blogspot.com/2012/06/las-casas-filipinas-de-acuzar-bagac_14.html

Room Tip: hotel rooms are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jotan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Las Casas offers a different kind of experience which one can’t easily find in the Philippines at a very reasonable price. To relive the 19th Century ambiance is quite an ambitious and tedious project for a hobbyist. There’s still so much homework to do but nevertheless since it’s a “work in progress”so we can expect more in the future. There’s still so much room for improvement but with a grand project, ok or good isn’t good enough. Attention to details, as to the comfort in accommodation, basic necessities, activities and so on, while sticking to the concept that the management wants to project. I don’t really know how they can fill-up the place with people to maintain the 19th century ambiance while maintaining the guests’ privacy. Probably a separate activity center for daily visitors so they won’t feel shortchanged while providing the community atmosphere….well, let’s wait and see for the next moves of the management. Nevertheless, don’t miss out on this place, stay overnight to get the “experience” on a weekend (when there are more activities). My family stayed for a night and we enjoyed the place and we’re looking forward to another visit in the future when their other projects are done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betchay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a beautiful heritage Village/ resort located near the water and conveniently not too far a drive from the Mt. Samat WW2 Memorial. The roads to get there are pretty good. I went there with two of my children ages, 14 and 10. We left Subic early in the morning, did Mt Samat and was in Las Casas in time for lunch. The homes are so beautiful and well preserved. The landscaping were a nice touch. A nice infinity pool. The antique bridge was a nice touch. We would have loved to stay overnight like other guests. It is still a work in progress. But what they have was adequate enough to hold your attention. I would recommend this to all visitors, foreign or local. Youthful and Dedicated staff who are tourism graduates from the local area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miglovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just behind Barangay (village) Bagac in Bataan province, spilling onto the South China Sea is the unique resort of Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar. Once inside the compound the visitor is transported to a living museum of (the well-heeled) Philippines of yester years. With cobble stone paths, the large compound is home to many grand homes belonging to the 18th to early 20th century Philippines. Historical (noble class) mansions, that one housed the rich and famous from around the Philippines were acquired and have been restored with great care to their former grandeur. There are more than 25 homes (casas) and most of them are available for rent as whole houses or individual rooms (wide range in price, depending on the grandness of the casa). Against a backdrop of mountains, surrounded by expansive rice fields and a river running through the property to the sea, the resort does offer a very relaxing ambiance, away from the hustle, bustle and the grime of Manila for a change, which is just two and half hours away via the motorways.

The rooms come in various forms and with different options. We stayed in a room in Casa Meycauayan. Rebuilt to the original specifications, the room was large and very comfortably appointed utilizing mostly period furniture, especially the super comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern, clean and functional. The service is first class (provided by servers in period dresses) and a tour of the facility is provided free of charge for registered guests (but one may go for a tour and use the facilities for a fee even if not staying there). The guests may also hire period dresses for special occasions or for fun and go around the compound in horse driven carriage. The resort beach has black sand but is decent enough for a quick dip or a long walk. In the evening dinner is served at the central courtyard (reminiscent of a European town piazza) with a culture show that covers dances from a number of Filipino provinces. The breakfast is limited to a set menu with a few options but is adequate for the purpose.

The resort is close to some points of interest like the Mount Samat Memorial Shrine and other attractions in the Pilar area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nafis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

It is fantastic to be in a place where one can imagine how our forefathers lived. The idea of the owners is to restore and preserve the houses is worth commending. The staff in their turn of the century clothes are beautiful.

We booked and stayed at Casa Binondo I and plumbing can be better done if the house is to be preserved forever. Master bedroom's bathroom should have a shower curtain since water ends all all over the bathroom when one takes a shower. Toilet seat moves when one sit down as it is not fixed good?. Water drips to ground floor from the shared bathroom on the second floor.

The heritage tour with jolly and informative guides is very good, the family loved it. One thing that has to be improved is the F&B service. The servers seems to be very willing but a little training keeping tab of guest's orders and needs especially when there are a lot of guests? Food quality also has to be improved, lacks taste.

All in all, it was a good interesting trip and will recommend it... is hoping to go back in the future when my grandchildren can appreciate and learn from it more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LolaMamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagac
19.8 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 29 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
279 reviews
17.5 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#7 of 29 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
525 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Oriental Bataan
The Oriental Bataan
#1 of 2 in Mariveles
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
The Plaza Hotel Balanga City
#1 of 5 in Balanga City
134 reviews
19.5 mi away
Le Charme Suites
Le Charme Suites
#5 of 29 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
21 reviews
22.3 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#3 of 19 in Olongapo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar

Address: Brgy. Ibaba Bagac - Mariveles Road | Bataan, Bagac, Luzon 2107, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Bataan Province > Bagac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagac
Price Range: $112 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine showcase of Filipino history and craftsmanship, Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar in Bataan takes you back to 18th-century Philippines in the twinkling of an eye. Architectural pieces of a bygone era, from different parts of the country, were reconstructed brick by brick, plank by plank. The noble-class mansions, wooden stilt houses, and a grand main building made of stone stand proudly in a village of cobblestone streets. To add up to the ambiance, a backdrop of majestic mountains, expansive rice fields, and a running river that flows to the sea, are found in the vast property. Truly a travel destination unlike any other, this resort in Bataan is a living museum of Philippine heritage. The traditional houses as hotel accommodations are the centerpiece of this Bataan beach resort about 125 km northwest of Manila. Even so, this destination resort does not lack in providing avenues for entertainment, relaxation, and recreation. It has the Napiya Spa, a swimming pool, private beach, gaming center, 3 restaurants, conference and banquet facilities, cultural shows, and heritage tours. Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar takes pride in giving you a glimpse of the past, reliving the age-old yet distinctive Filipino traditions, while providing the luxuries and comforts of contemporary times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas Filipinas De Acuzar Hotel Bagac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing