We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for the area”
Review of Macquarie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macquarie Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Argenton B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above average for the area”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here with 2 children and myself. The room was neat, modern and spacious. The setting was a little isolated. Pricing was average, though expensive to add a second young child.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley F, Marketing Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear JoMandco

We are happy to hear you found our rooms neat, modern and spacious, especially with the 2 children. It may seem as though it is a bit isolated, but you would be surprised how much actually goes on in the area. We are 25 minutes from Newcastle CBD, 45 minutes from the Hunter Valley and within 5mins from a large Stockland Shopping Centre. Lake Macquarie is 5 minutes from our door step and provides excellent walking tracks around the lake. Warners Bay also offers a selection of cafés and restaurants. Our reception staff will be more than happy to give you a bit more information next time you come our way. In the meantime, jump on our website for more things to do in the area, http://www.clubmacquarie.com.au/accommodation/things-to-do

Regards

Pamela Mutamba
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
9
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Friendly helpful staff who allowed me into my room at 11 in the morning.Very quiet and roomy with an upmarket feel.Having the club facilities is good for those who don't want to go out.A contrast to those box like neon lit establishments with thin walls and an on the highway location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulosAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley F, Marketing Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Paulos

We are glad our establishment met your needs. Most people are pleasantly surprised by our standards when they stay with us. We are a 4 star motel and have set a great standard in accommodation in the area. Our Sunset Bistro offers convenience to most of our guests as they can wine and dine without having to drive offsite. It comes in quiet handy on bad weather days too. Thank you for your positive feed back we look forward to seeing you at Macquarie Inn again soon…

Regards

Pamela Mutamba
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We needed accommodation close to Cardiff, NSW, so I did a Google search and came across Macquarie Inn at Club Macquarie which was about 7 minutes from Cardiff. What a pleasant surprise on arrival. It is situated at the back of Club Macquarie with river or golf course views. Our spacious room had a very comfortable King bed & two comfy singles, overlooking a very well manicured courtyard with views over the golf course. The rooms were exceptionally clean with lovely fluffy towels & very quiet. For Dinner we visited the Club through a covered walkway which required the checkin keycard for entry. Breakfast was included & was in the Sunset Room with same entry as Dinner. Congratulations to all responsible for one of the nicest accommodation surprises one could ask for.

Room Tip: I liked our room on the 2nd floor & I would imagine the rooms overlooking the river would give a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol255331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley F, Marketing Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Carol

Thank you for your lovely review, it is good to hear such feedback. We are dedicated to continuing to providing our customers with excellent service. The convenience of being attached to Club Macquarie for all your dinning requirements appeals to a large majority of our customers. We are still surprising customers today with our high standards and facilities we offer. Hopefully the secret of Macquarie Inn is out.

Regards

Pamela Mutamba
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Impressive hotel let down by poor staffing, excessive laundry costs, poor in house dining and even less acceptable dining options. Dining is part of the adjoining club which is not attractive despite the possibility.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley F, Marketing Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Dicey 09

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Macquarie Inn. It is unfortunate that you were let down by our staffing and dinning on your last visit.
A high percentage of our guests rate our staff customer service as very high and we feel disappointed that you have not received this standard on your visit.
With regards to excessive laundry costs, we have always provided free laundry facilities to all our guests which includes free laundry powder. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience personally with you and invite you to contact the motel and ask for the Manager.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Macquarie Inn.

Regards

Pamela Mutamba
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenton
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Newcastle
Ibis Budget Newcastle
#1 of 1 in Wallsend
169 reviews
2.6 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
348 reviews
8.3 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
3.2 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Inn

Property: Macquarie Inn
Address: 458 Lake Rd, Argenton, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2284, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Argenton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Argenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macquarie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the northern tip of Lake Macquarie our 4 star Macquarie Inn features 36 well appointed rooms including 14 Spa Suites and 2 Disabled Rooms. All rooms have King size beds, LCD TV, free Pay TV plus broadband internet connectionMacquarie Inn is connected to Club Macquarie by a secured covered walk way. Club Macquarie offers motel guests excellent meals in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Park the car, check into your 4 star accommodation, take a short stroll to Club Macquarie and enjoy all that is on offer.Located only 5 minutes from beautiful Lake Macquarie, 45 minutes from the Hunter Valley Wine Country, and there are 7 golf courses within 30 minutes of Macquarie Inn. Also within 5 minutes are 2 major shopping centres and a 2 cinema’s. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Macquarie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing