We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beach House
Nearby Hotels
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
$111
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
$80
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gulf Harbour Lodge(Whangaparaoa)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Waves Motel(Orewa)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
120
11
5
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
11
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsauckland seaplanesamazing hostssuperb cuisinenative birdshoney moonpohutukawa treesnapperhauraki gulfrelaxing staywonderful weekendshort driveisland paradisecouple of nightswhite sand beachbridal suitemagical weddinglittle things
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 141 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a quick winter weekend away here in May and it was great. Very relaxed, informal and the food was fantastic. We had the place to ourselves and the hosts were perfectly available but discreet, leaving us to feel relaxed and enjoy the place.

I'd love to go back in summer as even in winter we had a beautiful golden beach and the water is crystal clear.

Dinner was a highlight, really very good. The sweet parsnip and vanilla sauce especially. This isnt 'resort food'. The family run team are genuine chefs. Highly recommended and a real foody treat.

The only criticism - no sky in the room when it said it was, but that's a minor - everything else was very good, very relaxed and these guys run a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JImmyMc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had enjoyed several amazing lunches at The Beach House before having the opportunity to stay there. When we stayed we were really spoilt both in food and hospitality by the wonderful hosts Andrew and Sandra. Would absolutely recommend, and have since made a booking for some close friends for a special birthday present. Max T

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is an idyllic spot within easy access of Auckland ( one hour drive plus 20 minute boat ride). The lodge is private, immaculate and luxurious. The hosts simply add to the experience with their friendly relaxed style. The food as they told us in Matakana the night before "is to die for"! Breakfasts were our choice, dinner one night a 3 course meal and our second night a degustation of unequal standard.
We could have swum 10 metres from our bedroom in the beautiful sandy beach but chose to wander the island through the native bush exploring and reading our books.
An unforgettable experience. We loved it and plan to return. Thank you Andrew and Sandy

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

From the moment we stepped directly off the pier to the resort we were treated like kings and that was just describing the service.
Just as we were thinking about lunch the fresh fish was delivered directly from the sea on to our plates, you don't get any better than that. For dinner Andrew's 23 years of being a chef was highlighted in his presentation and taste which left us sleeping like babies for the night. If you want a 1-2 days romantic escape with great food, service with plenty of great places to walk around an island then I can highly recommend the beach house.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stunna09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were met on the beach and welcomed to a sumptious lunch on the deck under the branches of the pohutakawa tree with a view across the sea back to the mainland. It was all very impressive and the food and service were superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews