We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh the views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kawau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kawau Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kawau Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh the views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

My husband and I had a fabulous time at Kawau Lodge - didn't do much more than relax, relax and relax - a perfect get-away-from-it-all holiday. And Dave and Helen are perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they are so friendly and easy to be with. The fishing is fun (either out in their boat or off the jetty), and walks around the island very enjoyable. And as for the meals and snacks - absolutely lovely! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WANDDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

I chose Kawau Lodge as a surprise getaway for my partner and I.
We live in Auckland, and we were really needing a break from the fast pace of life. And Kawau Lodge provided it!
In summary...wonderful food cooked by Helen, great conversations with both Dave and Helen, awesome views over the cove, watching eaglerays and stingrays cruise around, comfy bedroom with books, stereo, TV and ensuite, and yummy snacks, cheese, crackers and bubbly on arrival, afternoon kayaking, lovely 2 hour walk over the ridge to a nearby cove, beautiful surrounds, and a chorus of birds to awaken us in the morning. No cars, no noise. Just peaceful. I loved the personal touch that Dave and Helen provided by inviting us to watch the All Blacks rubgy on Sunday AM in their living room.
Only drawback was that ajoining the kingsize room was their office, and I felt a little worried staying up too late in case I kept them awake with the TV or talking / laughter.

Oher than that, I would highly recommend this to overseas visitors, and to escaping Aucklands alike - perfect for a couple seeking some peace and quiet! Reasonable value for money, Helen and Dave are great hosts, very lovely genuine people who I feel privilaged to have met, and I cant wait to revisit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AislingOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here with guests from the UK who were blown away by the gorgeous location. Breakfast on the balcony admiring the view is a highlight, as is waking to the sun each morning. Nice little touches in the service include a fridge in which to keep the best of NZ wines cool for that little evening tipple on the balcony, and the small bottles of bottled water by the bedside. Make time for a spot of kayaking around the Cove, as well - well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thumper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

After busy weeks and a long, horrible flight we arrived at Sandspit waiting for the cat to pick us up. After throwing our bags on board and a warm welcome from Dave we got on our way to the lodge. Sitting on the back of the boat watching the beautiful surroundings in the sunshine our holiday really started!

The lodge is beautiful located, overlooking the bay where we could watch the stingrays from our balcony. Lots of options for activities kayaking, swimming, fishing and hiking but also to relax and read a good book. If asked, Dave is happy to give a "ride" in the cat to other areas you want exploring.
Helen is a fantastic cook and the meals were a real joy. She prepared a lovely birthday dinner for my husband and we toasted with some great New Zealand wines from the local winery.
On our last evening we joined Dave when he smoked the fresh salmon just before dinner...the best salmon we have ever tasted!

Helen and Dave are lovely hosts, warm and welcome, always there and happy to help. Helen helped us book some of our next accommodation and we got lots of suggestions for the rest of our trip.

It was our first time in New Zealand and we could not have chosen better than the stay at Kawau lodge. It made a fantastic first impression and a great start of our holidays.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

The setting is beautiful with a lovely garden and the house right on the water. Dave picked us up from Sandspit in his comfortable launch so from then on everything was organised and easy. We had great meals at the kawau lodge, Helen is a superb chef. The cove is sheltered and ideal for kyaking and we could fish straignt off the jetty. Mansion house is definately worth a visit and we did a lovely walk from there up through some bush. We also did a walk from kawau lodge. A great place if you are looking to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longfamily_auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dairy Flat
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We wanted something special for our 40th wedding anniversary. A place to relax, walk, boating, good food, not far from Auckland. A place to finish off a busy year before another busy year started. Kawau Lodge filled all categories. Just magnificent.
Helen and Dave were just brilliant, from planning, pick up at sandspit to drop off.
We spent 5 nights with Dave and Helen which enabled us to walk over a great deal of the Island, either with a picnic lunch or back to the Lodge for lunch. We used the Lodge kayaks for leisurely paddles up the estuaries or more challenging paddles out of and within the cove, as well as a means to an end; to walk to another area. Dave and Helen included us in Island activites with which they were involved. This enabled us to find out alot about the Island as well as meet many people who live on the Island, some or all of the year.
We could use the extensive gardens for a sit in the sun and a quiet read, watch the stingray go up and down with the tide from our bedroom balcony, go for a swim, walk through the bush with very good instructions from Helen for what land marks to look for, be it just a mound of stones, and return back for a lovely meal.
Dave and Helen were just lovely, very accommodating and so informative. We enjoyed our stay with them immensely.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkforEnjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed on their weekend package in Feb and despite a full days rain had a throughly enjoyable visit. Our hosts went out of their way to make us welcome and Kawau island was such a fasinating place and so peaceful. The trip on the boat from Sandspit makes it all seem so special and the rooms were spacious, well equipped and with a view to remember for ever. Everything had been thought of, beautiful cotton sheets, bathrobes, swimmming towels ,various eco friendly toiletries and much much more. It was so relaxing and interesting. The package was quite expensive but the BYO was good ,although their prices were very reasonable and it was a wonderful and special memory to take back home.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pr_sewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawau Island
6.0 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
9.4 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 3 in Kawau Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.6 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.4 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawau Lodge

Property: Kawau Lodge
Address: North Cove, Kawau Island 1030, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kawau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kawau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace and tranquility only 1 hours drive from Auckland city and a 30 minute boat ride. We can arrange your transfers to our oasis in North Cove. No roads, no cars on our property, 3 tastefully appointed queen rooms two with en-suites and one with own bathroom plus bunk beds. The lodge has magical sea and bush views. Kawau Lodge is self contained, so need to bring your own provisions and linen. We will supply linen for $25 per room, some basic items available i.e. rubbish bags, toilet paper, flour, sugar, tea, coffee. Ideal for a couples retreat or honeymoon or 2-3 couples looking for a getaway weekend or mid week break away from city life. If you have your own boat a mooring can be made available or we can arrange personal transfers. Go kayaking, sailing, bush walking, swimming, fishing, listen to bird song or just sit and relax. Trips around to visit the famous Mansion House estate can also be arranged. $395 per night (min 3 nights) or $1995 per week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Kawau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing