We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect getaway”
Review of Kawau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kawau Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kawau Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was the perfect getaway, a delightful experience from the time we left the quay at Sandspit. Superb setting, hosts helpful, considerate and fun, good cooking, comfortable rooms. We loved the kayaking and walking

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anoldskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a special experience. The wildlife was abundant, scenery amazing and the hospitality fabulous. All tucked away in a little part of heaven. I'm not sure if it is generic kiwi warmth or just Helen and Dave's unique style but it works. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overseas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The trip on the boat to North Cove on Kawau felt like we were getting far away from our home in Auckland. A tranquil and remote setting, with water and bush, no roads or cars or city sounds. Peaceful and panoramic local walks of different lengths and difficulties. Great welcoming hospitality by Dave and Helen, our hosts. Rooms look out to the inlet, with deck and outdoor living almost directly above the waters edge. Plenty of facilities for water activities such as kayaking, and availability for excursions around the island on the Lodge boat, with Dave as an extremely well informed and entertaining guide.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was SO good the first time...we had to go again! The first time we stayed at Kawau Lodge was our honeymoon. As we tried to think of somewhere to go for our second wedding anniversary... it hit us "Why not go back to Kawau Lodge?" ...especially because we have often reminisced about our first stay there :) Second time around it did not dissappoint! The cooking, the company of Dave and Helen and the beauty of the place was wonderful!! We HIGHLY recommend this place and we are sure that if you go once, you will want to go a second time too ! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniepelzer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic spot hidden from the world. Great option for a small break away for parents, couples. Hosts helen and Dave are excellent. Kayaks available for use, great bush walks and stunning views. Really enjoyable and would definitely visit again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fijiscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our trip to Kawau Island and our stay at Kawau Lodge was perfect from the moment Dave picked us up at Sandspit until he dropped us off at the same location two days later. Our plan was to have a relaxing weekend together at a destination where we could get away from it all; the choice couldn't have been better. Helen and Dave were wonderful hosts, placing a premium on ensuring their guests are well catered for in every respect. Our room overlooking the water in North Cove was all we could want, providing the ultimate in relaxing surroundings. A delicious breakfast on the deck in the morning sunshine started the day off on the right note. At the end of the day, dinner was a highlight as we joined Helen and Dave in their home along with other guests we hadn't met previously. We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience and the company (the conversation was certainly memorable). In between times we explored the local area by taking walks in the bush behind the lodge (one to Vivian Bay) and Dave also dropped us off at Mansion House Bay on our last day where we walked to the old copper mine as well as visiting the magnificent Mansion House itself. In a word the stay was 'magic'. Thanks very much Helen and Dave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent an amazing 3 nights at Kawau Lodge to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Helen and Dave are wonderful hosts, nothing too much trouble, amazing food and lovely accommodation. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and quality time together as well as meeting other guests and great conversation over dinners. Forget the top hat and tails just kick off the shoes and relax and read a book or if you are into kayaking and outdoor activities its there too. This lodge would suit young and mature couples. Enjoyed our tour on Dave's boat and our lovely picnic at Mansion house. Thanks again Helen and Dave for your hospitality and our happy memories of our 40th anniversary.

Room Tip: King room has a lovely deck and outlook. Sit out on the deck and enjoy view over breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopkins73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuka, Owner at Kawau Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for your great review and so glad we managed to provide you with nice memories for your 40th wedding anniversary. Enjoyed meeting you both. Take care and remember to smell the roses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawau Island
6.0 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.4 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 2 in Kawau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.5 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawau Lodge

Property: Kawau Lodge
Address: North Cove, Kawau Island 1030, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kawau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kawau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace and tranquility only 1 hours drive from Auckland city and a 30 minute boat ride. We can arrange your transfers to our oasis in North Cove. No roads, no cars on our property, 3 tastefully appointed queen rooms two with en-suites and one with own bathroom plus bunk beds. The lodge has magical sea and bush views. Kawau Lodge is self contained, so need to bring your own provisions and linen. We will supply linen for $25 per room, some basic items available i.e. rubbish bags, toilet paper, flour, sugar, tea, coffee. Ideal for a couples retreat or honeymoon or 2-3 couples looking for a getaway weekend or mid week break away from city life. If you have your own boat a mooring can be made available or we can arrange personal transfers. Go kayaking, sailing, bush walking, swimming, fishing, listen to bird song or just sit and relax. Trips around to visit the famous Mansion House estate can also be arranged. $395 per night (min 3 nights) or $1995 per week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kawau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing