We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax”
Review of Kawau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kawau Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Kawau Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Dave and helen are the friendliest hosts I have ever experienced. They get the balance of homeliness and excellent service the lodge and it makes for a lovely experience.

Fantastic food with great facilities at the lodge.

Definitely worth a couple of days there to wind down.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Kawau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent our last two nights in New Zealand here, and in spite of the rainy weather, had a wonderful time. Our daughter and son-in-law had sailed to New Zealand from California, and we were here to visit with them. Dave and Helen arranged a mooring for their sailboat, so they could spend some time with us before we headed home. The meals were delicious, and we loved the selection of New Zealand wines - all excellent. Hiking on the trails, kayaking, enjoying the birds that were everywhere, and Dave and Helen's hospitality all made our stay memorable. We had the lodge to ourselves while there, and found the guest rooms had all the amenities you could want.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We spent three nights at this lodge. Helen and Dave were great hosts, they made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was comfortable and the food great. This is a good place to relax after a busy time at work. We enjoyed mansion house, the walks and some kayaking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

An incredibly relaxing 2 days great hosts, great hospitality beautiful lodge and surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble and we will be back to recharge the batteries before the end of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

From the minute we met Dave at the marina we knew we were going to have a great weekend away. Amazing location, such a friendly team, fantastic accommodation and the food was really really really good. Can thoroughly recommend Kaway Lodge!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We traveled from Hawkes Bay and had to very relaxing two nights with Helen and Dave. Information e-mails before how arrival where very helpful. Enjoyed trip on ferry to lodge,able to have good look around Kawau. Good walks ,amazing food and great way to remember wife's 60th .
Little bonus was day we helped release kiwi chick on Motuora Island .
Sorry for late review.
Thanks again Helen and Dave from Claire and Vince

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Very inviting people. Great food (we did ask for no onions, but hay!). Couldnt have asked for better service. Remote island and a perfect getaway !! Thank you for the experience guys. We hope to see you again as I think this will now be a go to place to get out of Auckland (only 40 mins, you would have never know that there is such a great place so near!!!). Mike and Crystal

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike159753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kawau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawau Lodge

Address: North Cove, Auckland, Kawau Island 1030, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kawau Island
Price Range: $117 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kawau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace and tranquility only 1 hours drive from Auckland city and a 30 minute boat ride. We can arrange your transfers to our oasis in North Cove. No roads, no cars on our property, 3 tastefully appointed queen rooms two with en-suites and one with own bathroom plus bunk beds. The lodge has magical sea and bush views. Kawau Lodge is self contained, so need to bring your own provisions and linen. We will supply linen for $25 per room, some basic items available i.e. rubbish bags, toilet paper, flour, sugar, tea, coffee. Ideal for a couples retreat or honeymoon or 2-3 couples looking for a getaway weekend or mid week break away from city life. If you have your own boat a mooring can be made available or we can arrange personal transfers. Go kayaking, sailing, bush walking, swimming, fishing, listen to bird song or just sit and relax. Trips around to visit the famous Mansion House estate can also be arranged. $395 per night (min 3 nights) or $1995 per week ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing