We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Day”
Review of Mansion House

Mansion House
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Awsome Day”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was a beautiful historical visit. The Mansion was well kept a very surreal experience how its was lives years and years ago and its history. Amazing. Beautiful day and it was enjoyed by our family.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waste of a day”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We prebooked our ferry ride to Kawau and were told to get there at 10 for 10.30 departure. The ferry left late due to the staff just being so slow. The boat had been at the Wharf the entire time we were waiting and we we boarded the boat, all the seats upstairs were wet. It wouldn't have taken 5 minutes for the crew to give the seats a quick wipe. The ferry had clearly not been cleaned for some time either.
When we arrived to Mansion house, we discovered that they take cash only and therefore we couldnt go into the house to have a look. It would have been good to advise us either on the website or at the Ferry booking office that we would need cash on the island.
The café was shut so we didn't get to eat there. (We weren't planning on it thank goodness, as we had taken a packed lunch).
We found the staff on the ferry very rude. When we returned to the ferry and asked if we could board early, they replied "No, we need our space you know"! At first I thought he was joking as they were just sitting there eating their lunch and it was only my husband and I. He was serious, so we retuned to the Island and just relaxed.
If you are bored out of your brain , want to experience terrible service and have money to burn - buy a ticket on the Ferry and go to Kawau , if not there are plenty of things to do in Auckland that are better value for money. I would recommend a day trip to Shakespeare or a trip to Highwic house rather than this. Oh well, we got some fresh air and had a nice stroll.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawau Island
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Looking Great”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Since the restoration has been completed, Mansion House is looking great with it's new paint job, very attractive new shingled roof and restored chimneys. Full compliments to staff for the gardens as well, they are looking lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank manuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, lovely walks, coupled with the stunning Mansion House”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went on the Kawau Water Taxis Mansion House Cruise, which provides more than enough time on the water. You leave Sandspit at 10.30 and get to Mansion House Bay around 11.30am.

The trip lands at Mansion House, which is spectacular, even more so considering its history and its importance to NZ. We managed to look around the house, have a picnic lunch, and complete the walk to the Copper Mine Lookout returning via Redwoods track and Two House Bay in the time available. Neither track very challenging (although the last part from Two House Bay to Mansion is a little steep) and our 7 year old managed just fine.

We'd recommend just the Mansion House Cruise if you are physically capable of walking the tracks. Take a picnic and lots of water. If not, the Mail Run, which has less time on the ground, may be more appropriate.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahNZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mailboat Trip To the Mansion House”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very enjoyable trip on the Mailboat, stopping at the Mansion House. We didn't go for the BBQ on board, preferring to spend time at the Mansion House and they have a good cafe/restaurant in the grounds. House being refurbished but very interesting and surprisingly under-stated considering it was one the Governors Mansion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeithP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion House also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing