We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for an afternoon”
Review of Mansion House

Mansion House
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice for an afternoon”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice bit of history and some nice walks, particularly to the old copper mine. However you can do all the walks and visit the mansion house in around 2-3 hours, don't expect to fill in a whole day there

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
280 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Beautiful stately home on a beautiful peaceful island”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Governor Sir George Grey's magnificent house on Kawau Island dates from 1862. It has been beautifully restored and is open to the public.
Between 1862 and 1888, George Grey spent a fortune developing this as his island home. The house was originally the residence of the mine superintendent, built around 1845-46. Grey enlarged and remodelled this into a magnificent homestead for himself. He even shipped kauri logs to England to be turned into the tall columns which now decorate the morning room. Today Mansion House is furnished with beautiful antique furnishings in the style that Grey had used. He also planted hundreds of different plant species and brought in many exotic and native animals including wallabies, kookaburras, weka, peacocks, zebras and monkeys. Zebras and monkeys are not there any longer, but we did see a couple of wallabies out in the bush and peacocks hung around us while we lunched at the café. So if you’re visiting Kawau Island, I recommend a visit to Mansion House for the small fee of $4 per adult. I would advise that you check the Department of Conservation website for opening hours if you intend to visit in off peak times.
Kawau Island is only a short ferry ride from Sandspit - about one hour’s drive north of Auckland.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very interesting on how the Wallabies arrived!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visited the house whilst it still had its Christmas decorations up. The smell of pine drifting through the house was wonderful. The effort the 'friends' of the mansion house had put in made the house still feel lived in. They'd even gone to the trouble of putting up Christmas stockings in the nursery. The displays were good and informative and I thought the entry fee just right and gave value for money. Interesting to read about the wallabies and the other animals that were brought to the island.
Recommend the walk to old copper mine.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“worthy of a trip to wonder around and relax”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We didn't have time to go through Mansion House itself but we walked around the grounds which were beautiful. Loved the boat trip from our accommodation to Mansion house (taxi)!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Days gone by”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Mansion House is an imposing house of days gone by. It had the Colonial feel from an era when Britain discovered the world.
The house was a little shabby outside and had a musty smell inside but none the less was a joy to visit. The roaming peacocks made us laugh with the places they found to perch and the food at the tiny Cafe was delicious. Walks were well sign posted and re-routes round fallen trees were great for the more adventurous!
Beautiful photograph opportunites in land and out to sea.
There is a walk to view the remains of an old copper mine works.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion House also viewed

 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing