We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak that just melts in the mouth - like ice-cream!”

La Estancia - Argentinian Steak House
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 8/22
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $39
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 18, 2016

We were invited to La Estancia as our friend and his wife know the owners (one of whom is the head chef), who also live on their urbanisation. When we arrived, however, although we did have a reservation, the owners were not present, but that did not stop the staff from offering us a warm and friendly welcome. We were quickly shown to our table and after a few minutes, the menus were provided and drinks were ordered. Being a warm, summer's evening, we all went for Tinto de Verano (red wine with lemonade), and while we waited for drinks to be served, we all perused the menu.

There is a fairly wide choice for non-steak eaters, but as we were here for the meat (why else come to an Argentinian Steak House?), we all decided on having the Beef Loin (Solomillo), but the smaller portion of 220g. By the way, as we had heard that the steak was so good, we decided against having a starter, which we had been told is rather large, something we witnessed as we saw other guests on other tables tucking into their food. So it was straight onto the main course. And when the steaks came, there was no disappointment. Meat that just melted on the tongue, like ice-cream. I am a meat fan, and I have eaten steak all my life - but this steak has to be the best one I have ever tasted.

As we were sitting outside on the veranda, the atmosphere was one that was lively but not too loud that you could not converse with each other. The service was attentive but discreet. At the end of the evening, we met the owners and passed them our congratulations on such a lovely restaurant and thanked them for the wonderful experience that we had had that evening.

If you decide to try a steak on the Costa Del Sol whilst on holiday, then I cannot think of a better choice to make. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MoscowMicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 501 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2016

Visited for late dinner with friends.
Steaks are perfect, very tender.
Actually the best steaks we have had in several years..
Sauces also very good.
Good service, nothing negative.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronny64Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Immediately greeted and shown to our table by attentive, smiling staff. Waiter kindly explained the menu and gave us suggestions regarding a nice meal. I had beautiful prawns to start and my main course was one of the nicest steaks I have ever had.

Table service was always very prompt and we were always made to feel important. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Three fillet steaks, excellent meat quality, great peppercorn sauce. Service was good - early sitting as we were with our four year old (who had fillet steak!)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

This was the last restaurant that we visited together as a group of 8, and out of all the restaurants we had visited in the area this by far my favourite! We arrived and were seated outside where we given a detailed explanation of the specials they had available. The waiter took our starters and main orders after we had decided them over a couple of drinks, we were then seated at the table indoors which was beautifully laid out and we had clear sight of the kitchen. The starters were all beautifully presented and generous in size and very tasty! The staff left adequate time for the next course to arrive and each plate was served individually which gave it a very personal feel. I ordered a steak which was by far one of the best steaks I have ever had the pleasure of eating, everybody had said that their steak was cooked to perfection, from rare to well done they were certainly very knowledgable in this area. We then decided to eat our dessert outside where the waiters helped us move our drinks, bottles, glasses etc. A few of us (who could fit it in) ordered our desserts that were so beautifully presented it was almost a shame to eat it, until we did! And discovered how yummy they were, they were not overly large and off putting like some desserts can be! After we had finished our desserts, the manager had offered to buy us all a drink of our choice so were served up a mixture of teas, coffees, baileys, disarano and brandy. Both the head chef and restaurant manager joined us for our last drink of the evening which I thought was a really nice touch. The whole evening was fantastic, from the food to the customer service I could not fault my evening in anyway (only that it had to end of course) so if you are in the area and happen to go past "La Estancia" I highly recommend you go experience this wonderful dining experience for yourself!

Abigail

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Passenger310587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Estancia - Argentinian Steak House also viewed

 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to La Estancia - Argentinian Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing