We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of La Orquidea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sitio de Calahonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Orquidea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to these apartments for the last 15 years!

We have never had a problem the pools are cleaned everyday, gardens, plants and hedges always maintained.

The service from the housekeeping to reception is exceptional.

Its a great family atmosphere with great views looking over the sea.

There's all different pools for kids and adults of all ages.

The apartments are clean and spacious with balconies that have a table and chairs, clothes rack and sun loungers too!

The apartments also have a fully equipped kitchen with oven, microwave,fridge/freezer, kettle ect.

I have made some lifelong friends here and would defo recommend anyone going here especially if you have young children.

You do need a car as it it quit hilly and sometimes far too hot to walk.

There's great bars and restaurants to accommodate everyone. Some that are very cheap and great quality.

The beaches are beautiful and Marbella is only a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cockney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived late at night and on entering the apartment found that it had a strong smell of smoke also the sheets on the bed were a little damp. We awoke the next morning to find that the doors and windows were covered in condensation. There were also damp patches on areas of the walls around the appartment. However as the day was nice we opened the doors and the smell and condensation had gone by the end of the day. I think this due to the fact that the doors are all single glazed and there are quite large differences in temperatures between night and day at this time of year. On an evening we found that it could be quite cold and the fan heater had seen better days not really getting the room up to a good temperature. The whole appartment looks as though it was furnished in the 80's at a high quality but is now starting to show its age. The kitchen was equiped to a good standard and there always seemed to be a good supply of very hot water. Our apartment had two terrace areas that meant we got the sun from the early morning to late evening, they had two sun loungers with cushions and a table and four chairs. As it was late November we did not take advantage of the swimming pools, however they looked clean and the grounds were well kept. There are quite a few cats around the complex and were quite noisy at night on a couple of occasions. The bar on the complex was closed as the current landlord had left (No more Les). We had our towels changed once during our 9 day stay, however no further cleaning was done and you need to take your rubbish to the bin area yourself, but they do give you a supply of bin bags. You also need to leave a £100 deposit for breakages

The main thing you need to know that this apatment is up a VERY steep hill. It took us around 20-25 mins walking at a good pace to get from the apartment to the bottom of the hill. We did not have a car so this did limit us quite a bit. The nearest mini market is actually up the hill and its a lot easier to carry groceries down a short way than up from the Mercadona at the bottom.

There is a very nice bar up the hill that shows sky sports, and also an Italian restaurant. Around the same distance down the hill is a bar called the two lions that also serves food, however we found it all to be very salty. The main restaurant and bar area is nearly at the bottom of the hill, but only a few were open as it seems to be their holiday season.

Try Barboru at the bottom of the hill on the parade of shops near the blue bridge that goes over the road. Lovely breakfast and coffees (and yummy cakes) at a very reasonable price. They also do evening meals but closed on an afternoon the week we were there.

Bus stops in both directions are at the bottom of the hill and are at 30 min intervals. A bus to fuengirola costs 1.45 euros and takes around 15 mins with the final stop being at the bus station. The bus station is a couple of streets away from the sea front and 1 street away from the rail station. You can also get the bus from here to Mijas for the same price and its around 10 - 15 mins journey. well worth a visit.

Overall good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albox, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just spent a long November fortnight at La Orquidea. This is a brutally frank and honest appraisal of the complex. I suppose my main concern about the apartment was the black mould growing on three out of four walls in each bedroom. We noticed it when we first moved in, and by the time we left it was threatening to re-decorate the entire apartment. Another itch that went unscratched was that after my son, (who normally thinks that water will dissolve his skin) had his morning shower, there was no hot water left, afternoon ablutions for the adults, then!
When we mentioned to Flavio that we were only able to receive four channels on the TV he seemed genuinely surprised that there wasn't a 'digi-box' in the room - apparently, guests 'inadvertently' pack them in their suitcases on leaving, but we still didn't get one.
The bar, snack-bar, entertainment room was being re-decorated, (no, not black mould!) but the pools were full and being made full use of by a couple of hardy morning dippers.
Anyway, now that I've got those gripes out of my system...
Building access security and the gardens and grounds are excellent, and the night-long car park floodlights are a real asset in the bedroom when visiting the toilet during the night.
Plenty of kitchenalia is supplied, and the electric heaters were a boon, especially as we weren't charged for the electricity.
Hard beds and a penicillin farm apart, a clean, quiet, well-run complex with everything you could need for a decent holiday, but perhaps not in November!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently enjoyed a 9 day holiday in this resort close to Calahonda. Easy transfer from Malaga Airport .The weather was fantastic. Husband and 2 sons enjoyed the Golf courses which are near by. The resort has great amenities. The apartments are in a beautiful location overlooking the three the pools on the complex and has GREAT SEA VIEWS. The kitchen was excellent and fitted out in every way
The Bar/Restaurant on site friendly staff and had good entertainment most nights, with great food and bar snacks (especially the breakfasts). The Resort staff very friendly and helpful.

We loved it so much we have booked again for summer 2013.

Room Tip: Go to the Top floors for at great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNaughtys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently enjoyed a week in this resort close to Calahonda. The weather was perfect and my wife and had a most restful week. The resort was quiet for mid - September which suited both of us. The apartment was spotless in every way, a beautiful location overlooking one of the three the pools on the complex. The kitchen was excellent and fitted out in every way. The only one disappointing feature were the beds!! Camp style, dated and overdue a change. Bed linen also left a lot to be desired, the under sheets were more grey than white.
The Bar/Restaurant on site was acceptable with a limited food menu. The Resort staff were very good and most helpful with a couple of maintenance problems.
Note a car is essential as the area is very hilly and while going down is fine coming back up can be challenging!

Room Tip: Look for a first floor apartment on the South side overlooking the pool with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDkirrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have just returned from a 9 night stay in La Orquidea. This was our first time in these apartments although we have stayed in the Calahonda area on numerous occassions. The apartments were spotless and well decorated with great facilites however the beds could do with bieng updated and the apartments would benefit from air conditioning as it can get quite hot and stuffy at night time. The pools were great in particular the water slide which my kids couldnt get enough of. It was quite quiet which suited us yet busy enough for the kids to make friends, everyone at the snack bar was very friendly and the staff were great. Flavio the receptionist was great and very helpful. Overall a super holiday and we will definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just returned home from another fantastic fortnight at La Orquidea. The apartments are a bit dated and would benfit from the addition of air conditioning but a great time was had by all. The people are what make this holiday special and what keep us coming back. Bar Staff very friendly and helpful. Les, the bar proprietor in particular could not do enough for us. He sought our opinion on several new products which he was considering introducing. We found this exceptional as Les clearly has customer satisfaction as a high priority. Les has great sense of humour which we deemed appropriate for all generations. Please do not be put off by other negative comments regards the bar staff as this is not how we or our friends have found them.
Thank you all at La Orquidea for making our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calumgorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sitio de Calahonda
0.6 mi away
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
0.9 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.6 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#10 of 27 in Mijas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
90 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Orquidea

Property: La Orquidea
Address: c/ Don Jose de Orbaneja s/n, 29647 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > Sitio de Calahonda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sitio de Calahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa del Sol Holiday Rental Apartments La Orquidea is an exceptional Andalucian pueblo style Family Holiday Resort in Calahonda, on the Costa del Sol, Spain. We are situated mid-way between Marbella and Fuengirola close by the port of Cabopino, a quiet Marina with its own truly Mediterranean style. Noted for its peace and tranquility, we are set in sub-tropical gardens where the sun shines 320 days of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Orquidea Hotel Sitio De Calahonda
La Orquidea Spain/Sitio De Calahonda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing