We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dona Lola Club
Nearby Hotels
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort(Sitio de Calahonda)(Great Value!)
$227
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$283
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda(Mijas)(Great Value!)
$203
$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ona Campanario(Mijas)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$148
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Macdonald Leila Playa Club(Sitio de Calahonda)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CalaMijas Hotel(La Cala de Mijas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveler rating
330
226
48
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
226
48
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdona lolaon siteindoor poolsea viewda vincione bedroom apartmentwine tastingreception staffspanish lessonsexcellent resortlocal busestop floorfamily poolan adultpoolside restaurantpaellatapas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 627 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday. The apartment was a good size in this oasis of a complex amidst the typical 'cater for Brits' pie and chips Costa del Sol establishments. Only complaints were that the beds were punishingly hard and bizarre to discover no wine glasses in the apartment.

The on site restaurant is nothing special but there is a fab French restaurant a short walk away (Chez Max). Da Vinci is friendly but no better than a supermarket pizza. A surprising 'low expectation, good result' moment was Maites Cafe near the Sol supermarket which served great fish.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank WensleydaleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a friendly resort with great staff. Curro (Francisco) the activity coordinator has been there 20 years and is extremely knowledgeable in many areas. His Spanish lessons are well worth attending and they are FREE. The orientation meeting was very informative and fun. Reps from the excursion companies were there to make a presentation and answer questions. We took 3 and they were all excellent.
It seemed like we were the only guests not from Britain (we are from Canada) so we heard a lot of English spoken and it had a family atmosphere.
Our 2 bedroom unit was about 900 sq. ft. and looked out over the water to Africa and the Rock of Gibraltar.(Patricia 222) It was not right on the water but was high enough to see past the other buildings. We felt like we were in a fishbowl though because every window except the patio had other units looking into ours. But who would be crazy enough to complain with such incredible views with stunning sunrises and sunsets? We decided to move into a 1 bedroom and stay 1 extra day after our week was up. The internet connection was good and cost 19.95 Euros per week and included a bunch of movies. The website says it is only in public areas but it is now also available in each apartment.
Apparently they are 90% full all winter which is terrific in any economy.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view you better ask for it. We were told most with the great views were studio and 1 bedroom.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grammasue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My son and I stayed at the MacDonald Resort Dona Lola from the 19th January 2013 for 1 week.
When we arrived there was retiling work being carried out by main reception and along the bar/ coffee shop and steps up to the car parking area. The landscaping around this area including the fish pond was empty as well and it looked very sad. The main outdoor lido was completely closed and drained with extensive work and what I can only describe as painfully slow work being done by 1 person. The Sky satellite service for Sports and movie channel stopped for 2 days owing to the subscription expiring. The indoor male changing room had a shower out of use for the whole week while we there for some re plumbing and tiling work.
On the plus side the reption staff were helpful and the resort manager was polite and keen to attempt to promote the facility. The quality of the apartment Room ((Elizabeth 212) was generally good and clean.
However for a 5* RCI resort it was frankly very disappointing. I strongly suspect that in the busy holiday Easter and Summer periods this resort is really good but in quieter Winter time especially January all the maintenance is carried out and I would definately not recommend it for a holiday in the Winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The 3 bedroom suite that we booked several months ago was old and in disrepair. I had to ask 3 times to repair the heat. Very cold. They told us that we were on the beach however this was not correct we could only see the beach from where we were located. The hotel was also under construction and noisy in the only restaurarant that was open. The suite did have laundry in the room which was handy. I would not return to the hotel however would return to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wgarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is our first experience of Spain and as it was winter we were not there to swim and lie on the beach but wanted to see a little bit of Spain. We found this resort to be ideal. It is well located on the main road with easy access. Our apartment was extremely well equipped though the sofa bed suffered from the same complaint that they all have. Doesn't work very well as either sofa nor bed. The glassware was superb and the rest of the kitchen inventory not far behind, though we did wonder who would need a rolling pin on holiday. The staff were all polite and helpful and the daily activities organised by Curro were interesting. Our apartment had only a glimpse of the sea but that was not a priority for us. As it was off season some refurbishment works were underway and the main outdoor pool was closed. We were informed of this well before our visit but due to the weather no one was swimming anyway. There is a big choice of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes walk and free wifi is readily available for those not wanting to pay the resort's fee. We booked 2 excursions with an independent company associated with the resort and both were cancelled. One to Tangier due to poor weather (and it was blowing a gale that morning) and one to Gibraltar presumably due to insufficient numbers. But Francisco rang around and arranged an alternative for us which was appreciated. The charge for power, although pre advised, is somewhat unusual but I guess is the fairest way of doing it. We were charged 32 Euro for a week so factor that into your budget. In short we really enjoyed our stay at Dona Lola, and have no significant complaints. Cant comment on the beach or water sports due to being there in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews