We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dona Lola Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort(Sitio de Calahonda)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Leila Playa Club(Sitio de Calahonda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
331
226
48
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
226
48
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdona lolaon siteindoor poolsea viewda vincione bedroom apartmentwine tastingreception staffspanish lessonsexcellent resortlocal busestop floorfamily poolan adultpoolside restaurantpaellatapas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 628 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The 3 bedroom suite that we booked several months ago was old and in disrepair. I had to ask 3 times to repair the heat. Very cold. They told us that we were on the beach however this was not correct we could only see the beach from where we were located. The hotel was also under construction and noisy in the only restaurarant that was open. The suite did have laundry in the room which was handy. I would not return to the hotel however would return to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wgarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is our first experience of Spain and as it was winter we were not there to swim and lie on the beach but wanted to see a little bit of Spain. We found this resort to be ideal. It is well located on the main road with easy access. Our apartment was extremely well equipped though the sofa bed suffered from the same complaint that they all have. Doesn't work very well as either sofa nor bed. The glassware was superb and the rest of the kitchen inventory not far behind, though we did wonder who would need a rolling pin on holiday. The staff were all polite and helpful and the daily activities organised by Curro were interesting. Our apartment had only a glimpse of the sea but that was not a priority for us. As it was off season some refurbishment works were underway and the main outdoor pool was closed. We were informed of this well before our visit but due to the weather no one was swimming anyway. There is a big choice of restaurants and bars within 5 minutes walk and free wifi is readily available for those not wanting to pay the resort's fee. We booked 2 excursions with an independent company associated with the resort and both were cancelled. One to Tangier due to poor weather (and it was blowing a gale that morning) and one to Gibraltar presumably due to insufficient numbers. But Francisco rang around and arranged an alternative for us which was appreciated. The charge for power, although pre advised, is somewhat unusual but I guess is the fairest way of doing it. We were charged 32 Euro for a week so factor that into your budget. In short we really enjoyed our stay at Dona Lola, and have no significant complaints. Cant comment on the beach or water sports due to being there in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

No need for car hire catch the local bus which is on the road outside to Marbella and Malaga. Supermarket in walking distance, nice adult only heated outside pool lovely eating places in walking distance, a great break. Very helpful staff well done Macdonald hotel group! Trips out available daily. We use this hotel group a lot in the UK and find the staff are well trained.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view villa
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Squits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Dona Lola from January 10 - 18th
We originally booked at the McDonald Leila with Expedia but somehow accommodated at the Dona Lola instead. We were not given much in regards to explanation by Expedia as to why however, after quite a bit of thought, decided to go for it. We certainly do not regret our decision to stay at the Dona Lola. The staff that we interacted with were kind and courteous. Our apartment was impeccably clean and comfortable. We had an excellent view of the sea. We always had access to parking near our room. It was a delightful experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chantal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Spain and staying at this resort made it a wonderful experience. We enjoyed the wonderful spa every day, the outdoor spaces were beautiful and the staff was always helpful. One of the staff members, Curro, made you feel like family. He played a soccer game everyday with dads and sons and also hosted an excellent wine tasting hour. The Vista Mar restaurant on site was fantastic and had amazing views. Our rooms looked onto the Mediterranean Sea and was clean and well equipped. We loved it here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews