We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable meal”
Review of El Olivo - CLOSED

El Olivo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Spanish, International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The service has sometimes been mediocre here but last night the service, food and wine was excellent. A very good team who worked very well collectively.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    18
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Tucked away in a corner but worth finding”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

my wife and I have been to this restaurant several times as we visit this area on a regular basis. We have never been disappointed with the food which is consistently of a high standard. This week we went with friends and because it was out of season, I didn't feel so positive. It was quiet but strangely the service was a little slower than the usual high standard.

We shared a T-bone steak which was well cooked and more than enough for two. Our friends had the grilled salmon and the suckling pig, and the latter was expensive and not overwhelming.

The house white wine was OK and priced at the average for the area.

We will go again but probably after we have revisited some of the neighbouring restaurants. First timers will enjoy their first visit and I recommend them to give it a try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food here is really fabulous, well presented and interesting. It's a little hard to find tucked away in the El Zoco complex but you need to make the effort to find it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been to this restaurant a few times now and it never disappoints. The chef is clearly well trained and has some great ideas. Julio as always is a fantastic host.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

First visit I had a 500g fillet steak. Too big to finish and since it was soooo good I was disappointed in myself for not finishing it. the rest of family ( wife, 2 boys 11 & 14, Mother in law) all enjoyed their meal. They had fish (Sole and Sea Bass) both meals excellent. My boys had chicken and pork. They both finished it. The wine, house red was again a good Spanish wine and value was superb.
Overall the meal of starters and main course, wine and soft drinks came to about £100 for 5 of us. very good value.
Went back again another night. suckling Pig. mmmmm

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Olivo also viewed

 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing