We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for Two”
Review of El Chancho

El Chancho
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We were recommended this restaurant by a Spanish local. The wine was good the starters were delicious and the mains were tasty too, grills from their BBQ. What really spoiled it was once we were sat down and our orders taken it was a rush rush situation. We weren't asked if we would like another drink and we had been sat without one for a good while. We finally just asked for the bill and left. This was a shame as the atmosphere seemed pleasant but became a bit hectic .

Thank Lauraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco H, Propietario at El Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

First of all we apologize for not being all that attentive as a customer deserves, sorry, there are moments that to serve our customers the service is a little faster than normal because there are many reservations at the same time and We want to attend to the best possible and that causes us to have some faults in the service we apologize and hope that does not happen again ... thank you very much for your visit and your comment, that makes us better, thank you very much and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Been to this restaurant many times over the past 25 years. Never had a bad meal in all this time. BBQ food and restaurant service, run by the same guy over all these years and never fails.to deliver great place to enjoy some good food.

Thank Phil_Langdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco H, Propietario at El Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Makes us great comments like these and many thanks for your visits and we hope that we are always at your disposal .... thank you very much and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

We are regulars to calahonda and tried this restaurant after a recommendation.
We were met by an overly stressed out waiter. The food was average unless you opted for the more expensive option of a steak. The neighbouring tables were obviously regulars which reflected in the amount of attention they got. Would i visit again? I think there are far better options in calahonda.

1  Thank fahreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco H, Propietario at El Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thanks for your visit and your comment, I feel that it has not been to your taste our service and our menu ..... we have several dishes and several prices .... as all the restautante, the customer only has to choose to his taste .... I feel that your experience has not been to your liking .... thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with my wife, daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandchildren. The restaurant was quite busy but we were accommodated by the helpful if somewhat frazzled staff. The food was very good and excellent value for money. Will go again.

Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco H, Propietario at El Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

thank you very much for your visit and your comment some times by the source of work we can be a little more Stressed but we always want to give the best service for our client many thanks for your visit and we hope to see you again thank you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed my meal here, I had the steak with the Roquefort sauce which was amazing BUT next time I would ask for the sauce on the side as it became a bit too much. The flavour though was fabulous, the jacket potato it came with was gorgeous, really fluffy inside. My husbands steak did come a little over done but he still enjoyed it. We would return.

Thank KatrinaAndSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco H, Propietario at El Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your valuable commentary for us, we separate you to visit us in more occasions and always be of your liking .... thank you very much and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chancho also viewed

 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to El Chancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing