We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come foe the view, stay for the shortcake.”

Sea Gull Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Pemaquid
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Next to the Pemaquid Point lighthouse. GREAT food, good service. Make reservations at night. WONDERFUL views of ocean front. Great shopping attached while waiting for food. $$$
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Come foe the view, stay for the shortcake.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

First stop at the Pemaquid point lighthouse and park. Enjoy the view and all the park has to offer.
Tour the gallery, climb to the top of the lighthouse, climb on the rocks. When you get tired and
hungry, walk or drive next door to the Sea Gull Restaurant. You can get full meals, ice cream or
the best shortcake made. We always get the three fruit shortcake, strawberry, blueberry and
raspberry. Top it off with iced tea or coffee. Great!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rap3_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ANDOVER
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service, great view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a party of 7 and everyone said their food was good or really good. Prices were quite reasonable, especially for seaside ocean view seating. Service was friendly and prompt. Not fancy or upscale at all. I'd eat here again and recommend it to friends. Note: we ate here in late May and it wasn't real busy, no wait for a table, but it must get very busy during the summer months and there isn't a ton of seating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“We had the same nasty waitress as the Sept. 2 reviewer!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I had been to the Sea Gull in 2004 and loved the fish chowder from the take-out window. Last August (2013), I travelled from the Boothbays with family members for lunch there.

We were insulted for almost the whole meal. One server told us to seat ourselves and she was insulted to see a party at one of her tables. She loudly commented to other waitstaff about how lousy the tips were that day. When I complimented the chowder, she rolled her eyes and walked away.

We won't be back. I am planning a visit to the area this summer, and saw that prior review and just wanted to agree. This was truly the rudest waitress I have ever encountered. Our food wasn't bad, but the experience was quite creepy.

Pemaquid Fisherman's Coop is so outstanding that not visiting the Sea Gull is no loss when visiting the peninsula, at least for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Eggs Pemaquid!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a wonderful wedding anniversary breakfast in this excellently located cafe. We walked in and were seated immediately on a table for seven, without us having made a reservation. The eating area was atmospheric Maine-style, with lobster buoys and sea faring pictures adorning every wall. The lady who served us was very friendly and charming, and helped us order the specialities for breakfast. While most of our party went for a stack of Maine blueberry pancakes, I chose the Eggs Pemaquid, a local variation of the more famous Eggs Benedict, made with Maine crabmeat. Delicious! And at a reasonable cost. Our coffee cups were refilled in an instance, and after enjoying the banter with our waitress and the beautiful views of the ocean by Pemaquid Point and its Lighthouse, we then wandered into the shop adjoining the restaurant and spent some good money on huge china mugs, decorated with Pemaquid and lobster scenes, which will serve us well during our early morning pot of tea before we face the world.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great view, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been visiting Pemaquid Point most of my life, and the Sea Gull has always been there, mostly remembered as a gift shop with a snack bar where you could buy an overpriced hot dog or soda. On this trip we stayed at the Hotel Pemaquid and were steered to the Sea Gull for breakfast, which worked out quite well. After Labor Day, the crowds have thinned, and I suspect breakfast is what the Sea Gull's kitchen can do best. The blueberry pancake was excellent - our server warned us against ordering the stack of 3, as these pancakes are plate size, and one is plenty by itself.
Our simple breakfast was good, the service was good, the price reasonable, and the location and view are truly wonderful, When you get to a beautiful place like Pemaquid Point, you want to linger and enjoy, and the Sea Gull allows just that. There's hardly anywhere else I know that has such a completely unique local character and sense of place. If you think of the Sea Gull as an integral part of this extraordinary place, if you keep your expectations reasonable, (and if it's not a peak time when everybody and their brother has the same idea), this place can serve you well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaggedClaws49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Gull Restaurant also viewed

New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Pemaquid, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
New Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sea Gull Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing