We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely one of Caloundra's best views”

Caloundra Power Boat Club
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surely one of Caloundra's best views”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent fish and chips coupled with good service and fantastic views. This establishment serves typical club food that seems very fresh (on the two occasions we have visited).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    147
    48
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice views”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Nice club frendly staff large gaming area great night time entertainment great food large deck area right on waters edge with great views

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deconz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dont go there to eat”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have been a member of this club for some years and always enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and the relaxed atmosphere. I have found the meals to be only just OK - at the lower end of club food but the atmosphere ar always outweighed this shortcoming.
In November, we took some interstate guests to the club for lunch.
The "Fish of the day" was Bassa - overcooked and tasteless.
One of our guests had snapper - it was indistinguishable from the other fish!
Chips were soggy.
I had a burger - again fairly tasteless and underseasoned. There was a piece of metal in the meat of the burger. It was sharp and a piece of wire about 10mm long. It cut the inside of my mouth.
I took the dish to the kitchen and complained. They offered me a replacement but I opted for a refund. I did not cause a fuss but I asked that the matter be investigated because it could easily have caused significant damage.
I wrote to the club again voicing my concerns and asking that the matter be investigated to avoid a repeat. I have heard nothing back from them.
I am reasonably well travelled an have written several revues for TripAdvisor - I think always fairly.
I would not reccommend this venue for meals.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jayvee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
655 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Their deck is a perfect location to unwind”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

You need to be a member (or sign in as a "guest") to enter .. but don't let this hinder your visit, as visitors are welcomed. They have a small gaming section (about 30 pokies).

The deck area is a great place to sit, have a drink and unwind - it's located right on the beach and the northern tip of Bribie Island "protects" it (from waves & bad weather). Very peaceful - great view.

Food is satisfactory but you wouldn't really go there for a "night out" - it would be just for a casual meal. The eating area is mainly inside and you order at a counter and they deliver to your table. Most meals appear to be deep-fried (eg. schnitzels) rather than pan-fried. The salads and vegetables are fresh and the meals arrive quickly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view...”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Views divine, good drinks list, bar staff friendly, food ok except for fish from a box...don't get it! Surely in Caloundra fresh fish can be sourced...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegout111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caloundra Power Boat Club also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Kings Beach, Caloundra
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Caloundra Power Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing