We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Villa Motel(Nelson Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Aqua(Nelson Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
123
60
17
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
60
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach houseacross the roadholiday parksports clubbeautiful beachgreat locationcourtesy busgarden villaholiday activitiesensuite sitesbike pathschool holidayskids activitiesgames roomport stephenseasy access to the beachthe east coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 207 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our second stay at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, we stayed for five nights recently in one of the beach houses (pleasantly upgraded from a garden villa on check in as there was an issue with the garden villa). The difference was a spa bath, washer/dryer, and a larger living space. For a family of 4 with two young kids, the beach house was perfect with 2 bedrooms (bunk beds in the kids room was very exciting for the kids!), big bathroom area, full kitchen, dining and living room areas. The washer/dryer is a luxury we usually decide we don't need to pay extra for, but it was very handy this time as one of our kids got sick during the stay. We find having a full kitchen great for stays with the kids so we can cook dinner in some nights and go out when we feel like it. The beach house itself wasn't brand new, but it felt like it had probably been refreshed in the last few years and we certainly felt very comfortable in it. My wife was impressed by the flat screen tvs (Sharp Aquos) in both the living area and main bedroom, giving it a nice modern feel. The slight downside was that the beach houses are at the front of the park, so there is more road noise than compared to some of the garden villas situated further inside the park.

The holiday park itself is one of the best ones we've stayed at and we like it slightly more than the Shoal Bay holiday park because it has a pool (although we only used it once on this trip) and we like the Fingal Bay beach a bit more for the little surf waves for the kids. The slight downside is the Park doesn't have the same convenient walking access to shops and restaurants that the Shoal Bay holiday park does, but to be honest you're only a very short drive from the same shops.

While the price hike during the key holiday periods can be a bit hard to swallow, for the same price bracket in a resort you're getting a lot less for your money. While staying at a holiday park is not as glamorous as staying at one of the beach side resorts, when you have a couple of kids in tow it is by far a better option for an enjoyable holiday in our view!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Front Office Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. Yes kids do seem to love it here lots of things to do and explore, we are very fortunate to be located in such a naturally beautiful location. We do try to keep out cabins up to date with all the mods cons and comforts of home and would love to see you and your family again for another visit at some stage.
Best regards Kathryn Customer Service coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great site on a beautiful beach. Very friendly managers. Australia day so we were very lucky to get one of the last two pitches available. Apparently alot of the Aussies stay for a six week period before xmas and over this period. Facilities were fine and the site very clean. We booked another night as we liked it so much. Nothing else there at all, the beach is just metres away and is great for walking and swimming. There is another beach down from a carpark up on a hill near a lighthouse, I seem to remember it is called dreamtime or something like that. No good for swimming when the surf is up tho'. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at There is also an estuary not too far away, very popular with the locals..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. I will pass on your praise to Management. They will be very pleased. Yes we are very fortunate to be located in such a naturally beautiful location. We hope you will drop by again for another visit at some stage.
Best Regards Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I am extremely disappointed with the lack of cleaning and provision of toilet paper in the three female amenities blocks within this caravan park! I had to walk around the park to find a decent cubicle and even that amenities block had only one cubicle with half a roll of paper even though each cubicle is provided with 3 toilet roll dispensers. I know it is New Year's Day ! - but you would think that they would make sure the toilets and showers were clean, check that all soap dispensers are full and resupply paper. It is the busiest time at the park!

It is obvious, from previous comments in this regard on tripadvisor,that Park Management should take notice that there is a real need to increase cleaning services provided especially during peak tourist times. This is definitely not the first time this has happened.

This could be a beautiful park but its upkeep leaves a lot to be desired! If you have young children I would definitely be supervising their visits to these amenities blocks! The lack of hygiene could lead to health problems!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JMS698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

As Fingal Bay Holiday Park Manager, I am concerned to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our facilities on New Year’s Day. As the park operates to capacity over this period we have put in place provisions for amenity block cleaning to take into account the increased usage of these facilities. The facilities were fully stocked at 6pm on New Year’s Eve and the next cleaning shift started at 5am on New Year’s Day. Should you have visited the amenities blocks before the morning clean, it may have been possible the supply of toilet paper had run out due to the sheer volume of use overnight.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you and assure you that the upkeep of our park facilities are a top priority throughout the entire year. We are always more than happy to attend to any issue immediately when reported by guests via the after hours phone number provided on the welcome letter so please do not hesitate to let us straight away in future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed 5 nights just recently. Staff very helpful, even when I accidently set up on the wrong site. Amenities were fine. Cleaned and maintained. Pool looked great. Good family park. Surf club nearby has a good cafe for breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thanks John,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Fingal Bay Holiday Park. We hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We camped here for four nights. The tent sites are away from the main road and are pretty quiet. The camp kitchen and the barbque's are excellent. The pool is large and nicely done, though the little kiddies wading pool is a couple of degrees cooler than the main pool. Also the playground could do with some shade.

Fingal Bay is absolutely stunning and just across the road from the campsite. The surf club has probably the best view of any surf club I've ever seen. The long board cafe underneath the surf club has a good menu and great food.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank RADHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Year RADHD,

Thanks for your review. We love hearing from our customers,

Best Regards

Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews