We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Last minute getaway”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night over a weekend for a quick getaway. I tried t book a week beforehand, but was told to try the day before - as they like to save their cabins for people staying more than one night - fair enough I thought.

Fortunately, this paid off and we were able to obtain a garden villa cabin. Quite functional with a kitchenette, we were happily self contained. Beds weren't too uncomfortable, and we were in a good location within the park (up the front for easy access to the beach).

During our stay we noticed a plethora of cockroaches, spiders and mice within the cabin. For over $200 for one night, I wasn't expecting to stay in such a low maintained cabin. The bugs and vermin issues were a complete turn off.

I wasn't school holidays but there were also many many children on bikes and scooters riding around the park. Great if you have kids, not so great if you don't. They were everywhere, and are an issue if you are driving around the park.

Staff were friendly, but we were only here for one night - so there wasn't much of an interaction with them.

Overall I would contemplate staying again, but would definitely complain to the enth degree if the bug and vermin situation has not improved. For shame Fingal Bay Holiday Park, put mor effort in to making our visitors stays clean and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank droods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Fingal Bay Holiday Park on Trip Advisor. We use all reviews as a way to improve the park operations. Your feedback has been passed onto all staff involved although wanted to mention that Fingal Bay do go to extreme efforts to control pests on a regular basis. The recent heavy rains and humid weather conditions have also not assisted with additional pests coming inside.

I would like to apologise that we did not meet you expectations. For further information, don't hesitate to contact the park manager directly.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    53
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
118
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently visited this very pretty and quiet holiday park. We stayed ( for 2 weeks) in the tent section and enjoyed ourselves. The beach is just across the road and is very picturesque and safe. The park also has nice pools for both adults and children.
The cost was very reasonable and amenities satisfactory. However, during one wet period the amenities block did flood and the electrics became dangerous. It was then closed.
Unfortunately our friends stayed in the beachside cabins and their experience was quite underwhelming. The cabins while in a great spot were very tired and certainly could use some updating considering TOP DOLLAR was paid to stay. The cabins are advertised as serviced. I would take this to mean that they are fully cleaned at least weekly.
These cabins are very overvalued and do not represent value for money.
All the service was the replacement of towels mid-week and towels and sheets at the end of the week. This was only done after a number of requests were made. On a visit to their cabin, cockroach and mouse dropping were very visible. Extra toilet paper had to be requested from the office.

Room Tip: If you stay in the cabins, you would do better if you vacated daily. This would ensure fresh towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Fingal Bay Holiday Park. We do use the reviews from TripAdvisor as a way to improve our park and train our staff. We were delighted to read that you loved the location of the park along with the facilities such as the pool. We would like to apologise that we did not exceed your friends expectations with the accommodation they stayed in. Our newest product (3 bedroom Surf Villas) which are only around 3 years old may have been better suited as the interior and furnishings are very modern. We do hope to welcome you and your friends back in the near future, and hopefully Fingal Bay Holiday Park will be able to better accommodate your friends in the newer style villas.
Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

As usual, we were doing our last minute getaway for the last school holiday and could not get a booking everywhere as you would imagined. After googling around trying to find accommodation at Port Stephens, we finally found the website to Fingal Bay Holiday Park. I gave them a call, and luckily enough we were able to scored two villas for the long weekend/ school holiday. Pricewise it was also good than what we were expecting to pay as you all know the subcharge for the long weekend. This was our first time at this part of Port Stephen, and It was a gem. The beach was across the road from our Villa. ( Not Beach front). and it was the most beautiful beach I have been to in so long. When We got there, checking in was easy, we were happy with the security boom gate. The complex is not a five star resort but the villa , is good size 3 bedroom with good amenities, washing machine and all. Overall.. it was exceeds our expectation and we def would be back here.

Room Tip: get a surf villa. the two bedrooms is sooo small....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ummnabeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a fantastic stay for a week, amazing accommodation and helpfulness of staff. Felt like we were on holiday before we got there. Already booked in for next year. Closeness of beaches, shops made everything so easy. Beautiful grounds and pool. Cant wait for next November.

Room Tip: We were in a Garden Villa, nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Fingal Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Louise,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Fingal Bay Holiday Park. We appreciate your feedback and were delighted to read that you loved your stay and we can welcome you back next year. You are right the park is located in a fantastic spot right across the road from Fingal Bay beach but also has the resort style pool inside the park.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we have been to Fingal Bay many years. We usually stay in a beach house. Accommodation is clean and well organised. The park itself is lovely - beautiful gardens, big trees, green grass and the cabins are not on top of each other. The pool is really lovely, and heated. Kids just find other kids to play with and ride bikes everywhere. Beautiful beach just across the road and a great little cafe a few minutes walk away. A truly relaxing getaway. Our whole family love it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My family and I love this caravan park. We stayed in our caravan and were put near the pool, bbq area and toilets. We booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for 7! It was family friendly, kids could ride around and feel safe. Walk straight to the beautiful beach or swam in the fantastic pool. Toilet block very clean and grounds were well looked after. My only very small gripe would be there are no sun lounges around the pool and noticed when we were there everyone took their own chairs to sit on. It gets a little uncomfortable lying around on concrete. We can not wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie71W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of the month & had a fantastic time. The staff were extra helpful and helped with site choice. Being the quiet season we had alot of space & neighbours were a number of sites away. The park is clean & tidy, & even after a storm overnight the grounds looked great. The amenities are very clean & well serviced. There were a number of caravanners , who like us, were staying with their dogs, and the area around the park has a few good paths and park areas to take the dog for a walk. There is also a great bike path nearby for cyclists. Its definately a great spot for a night, a weekend or a week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fingal Bay
1.9 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 33 in Port Stephens
193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Nelson Bay
292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
#1 of 2 in Soldiers Point
377 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
508 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays One Mile Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingal Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingal Bay Holiday Park

Property: Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Address: 52 Marine Dr, Fingal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Fingal Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fingal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fingal Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fingal Bay Holiday Park is surrounded by National Park and across the road from a patrolled surfing beach. Fingal Bay Holiday Park is just 10 minutes from the heart of Nelson Bay and a stones throw away from Shoal Bay.Fingal Bay Holiday Park offers all the convenience of a first class holiday resort in a stunning natural bushland setting. Go troppo in our resort pool, cook up a storm in the camp kitchen or stay in self-contained luxury such as the brand new 3 bedroom Surf Villas. Facilities:* resort style swimming pool* recreation / games room* children's playground* picnic areas with free BBQs* guest laundry* camp kitchen* school holiday activities program* basic cabins to luxury 3 bedroom villas* disabled luxury 3 bedroom villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Fingal Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingal Bay Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing