We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home.”
Review of Sunset Lodge

Sunset Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Lodge
Ranked #10 of 14 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
“My home away from home.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was my third time to Sunset Beach. I have enjoyed being in this comfortable, clean home
very much. The owner, Bill, is always willing to help and give good advice as to places to
visit while in this beautiful town. I enjoyed his wonderful breakfasts and he was always ready
to offer coffee or tea after an afternoon away. Bill is like family now, and I would stay only
here while in Cape Town. He has become quite a gardener, and his beautiful flowers are
an added treat. Bill is thoughtful and it shows. There are a couple of birds that return
daily, knowing his bird feeder will also accommodate their needs. This is a safe place, and close
to the bus. Hope to see you next year!!!

Room Tip: Loved my ground floor room, but awesome view from upstairs balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyBoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a very last minute holiday, for a first time visit to South Africa, literally only days before travelling! Bill answered many questions by email and Skype. With so little time to plan, Bills reassurances and trip advisers comments, decided for us Sunset Lodge here we come!!
As everyone has already said, Bill is a ray of sunshine, wanting you to make his home, your home during your stay. Nothing is too much trouble . He too, arranged transport to pick us up at the airport, sat over a cup of tea arranging car hire to be dropped off at the B&B. looked online to help book tickets for table mountain etc, and phoned to book afternoon tea at The mount Nelson.
Clean comfortable rooms, mega breakfasts, whatever you want, convenient safe location.

Room Tip: Huge room on balcony with view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendycw660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our 2nd visit and it was better than the first. All credit to Bill and the great breakfasts. A great place to unwind for a couple of days before going off touring. Bill is always willing to help and put you right.

Again thanks Bill

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redzed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Congo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The family and I have only stayed at 4 or 5 places in SA, this place is by far the best. The owner of the property makes this place even better. Great/sizable rooms, large pool area and only 300 meters from one of Cape Town's nicest beaches. Can't thank Bill/owner enough for making our 2 weeks in Cape Town the best holiday ever. My family and I will only be staying here for future visits. Only 15 minutes from the Waterfront too, so you get the best of both worlds (shopping/attractions and quiet beach time).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were a group of 5 adults (myself, my husband, our 2 daughters and the boyfriend of one of them) staying for 5 nights. We were warmly welcomed throughout, from the first 'come in, I've just got the kettle on, would you like a cup of tea?' onwards. We had the 3 rooms by the pool and were urged to treat the place like home. We braaied (barbecued) several evenings by the pool, and Bill (our host) even did a load of washing for us, returning everything beautifully ironed the next day at no extra charge. The rooms were comfortable and spotless, there was always hot water when we wanted it, and a beautiful cooked breakfast was served at whatever time we wanted by the pool. I would highly recommend this guest house and it's lovely owner Bill to anyone wanting peaceful, relaxing, comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricshabarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORKING
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just enjoyed two relaxing weeks at this beautiful location with a kind and helpful host. Bill made us welcome from the start and we did feel as if we were guests in his home and not just a guest house.

The rooms downstairs, of which we had one, fronted onto a lo vely garden and swimming pool with lots of bird life. Bill helped enormously with transport and arranging bookings for the trips which we took.

We would both thoroughly recommend Sunset Lodge, it is within easy reach of Cape Town itself and a good spot to venture out further afield.

Try it and you won't be disappointed!


Matt and Jackie Martin

Room Tip: Upper deck with views of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MATT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our family group took all five of Bill's rooms for ten days. We had a superb time. Bill provided lots of help before (Skype calls) and during the holiday. The lodge itself is well-suited to a family group, not least because of Bill's encouragement right from the start to treat the place like home. We had BBQs on the patio and cooked meals in the kitchen on a couple of evenings, using the facilities of the lodge.
The rooms were all excellent and the pool was used every day. Very pleasant, secluded garden and views of table mountain from the balcony. Bill helped arrange various trips and taxis as well as recommending local restaurants, all of which were great value.
There is a small shopping centre a few minutes walk away with a great fresh food shop and an off-licence! Bill provides some booze in the refrigerator in each room and we bought this stock because it was excellent value.
Bill's relaxed and laid-back style suited our party and his breakfasts were superb.This is the best B&B we have stayed at - would recommend it to anyone looking for a friendly and inviting home-from-home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_MacLeod393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
6.6 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Lodge & Spa
Sunset Beach Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sunset Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Decks Guesthouse
Sunset Decks Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Sunset Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 12 Guesthouse
Ocean 12 Guesthouse
#5 of 14 in Sunset Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Villa
Atlantic Beach Villa
#1 of 14 in Sunset Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge

Property: Sunset Lodge
Address: 6 Ornata Street, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the owner of Sunset Lodge I pride myself on the quality of service and hospitality provided during your stay. Sunset Beach offers a safe and quiet location and an excellent base for visiting all of Cape Town's major tourist attractions. Sunset Lodge offers the choice of five beautifully appointed en-suite guest rooms, each with large patio windows leading onto their own patio, solar heated pool and beautiful gardens. My breakfasts are hearty and healthy and will give your day the perfect start. I also have an English style bar where you are invited during your stay to join me for complimentary sun-downers and to meet your fellow guests. Bill Takher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing