We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day retreat With a lady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The resort is pleasant and it is out of the way but very nice it's impressive . The pool area is amazing but it's October and it rains 75% of the time we Took an offer 700 worth 2200 Aussie dollars for 2 for 4 nights with breakfast and free wifi everywhere plus one dinner and one cooking class you can eat lunch it was fun plus one massage each the mini bar is cheap also food at the restaurant is to compared to Bangkok . We paid 800 to get here for airport and the same taxi driver who dropped us off here who spoke ok english 1200 bath a day average to takes every where all day . Did the Zip line while it poured rain way fun rain does not stop the fun .
I would not pay top dollar for the place . they been giving the place a face lift looks great but the room we had the floor boards creaked middle the night for toilet use loud and neighbours you can hear stomping .The bathroom looks great but the taps all turn different ways , The bed was way firm and both of us waking up stiff no massage could get rid of the stiffness .
The people working here all great smile and happy .the place is very hilly and there is golf cart to take you anywhere in the resort , it's a chill out time place .

Room Tip: No floor board for a quieter night . It's a lot cooler up on the mountain so we turned the air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockenmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Rockenmojo,

Thank you very much for taking your time review Panviman Chiangmai, I'm happy to hear that you've fun in cooking class and happy with our services. In the meantime, I've noted on your comments about your room while staying in.
Thanks again and we hoped you choose Panviman again on your next trip to Chiangmai.

Best regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 628 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 using a Getaway Lounge voucher for a pool villa. Looking at the website we were very excited to stay in what seemed to be a very luxurious hotel and were a little disappointed that the experience didn't quite live up to what they advertise.

The first problem we encountered was at check in - we arrived at 2:30pm and were told our room wouldn't be ready for an hour - no apology for the inconvenience, just stated as fact. Check in is supposed to be at 2:00pm and we had spent the morning out on a tour so were in much need of a cool shower and some air con! We were shown a map of the resort and advised that our room would be in the main hotel building. I said that our booking was for a pool villa and there was a bit of back and forth and checking etc until they acknowledged that yes, we had booked and paid for a pool villa. This room was ready so that was good for us.

The villa itself was very spacious and nicely decorated, however as other reviewers have mentioned it was quite dated and in need of refurbishment to live up to the standard that they advertise. There were also a few little niggles such as dead ants on the bed when we arrived, no pool towels in the pool villa, spa bath was broken, bed was very hard (I bruise easily and had bruises from lying on my side), the pool was icy cold and very uncomfortable to be in there for more than a few minutes at a time.

The views from the villa and indeed the whole hotel are spectacular. The swimming pools are also great to look at but very very cold and more for jumping in quickly to cool down rather than relaxing or swimming in. The grounds are expansive and could be very beautiful, but everything looks a bit run down and neglected. The pool bar was unattended and consisted of a phone that you could use to call for food/drinks.

The "activities" area is really sad. Archery was a target, a bow and broken arrows. Thai Boxing was a punching bag hanging up. Mini Golf was a hole in some grass. The pool table, ping pong table and foosball tables were functioning.

We went for a massage at the spa and it was lovely. The spa area is absolutely beautiful and probably the best part of the hotel. Treatments are quite expensive but no more so than other major hotels in Thailand.

Breakfast was ok - each day they had congee, noodles, fried rice and different kinds of bread, as well as continental (fruit, salad, juice, etc). Western hot dishes alternated but it was a bit puzzling as to the combination of dishes - for example one day they had 3 different types of sausages and baked beans but no bacon / potatoes / anything else. The highlight of the breakfast was a lovely lady who cooked eggs (scrambled, fried, poached, omelette, etc) to order, as well as pancakes and waffles - delicious!

Dinner at the restaurant was good. We stuck to Thai dishes and they were all very delicious. Service was very slow, even with hardly any customers in the restaurant but we weren't in a hurry so didn't mind so much. Prices again quite expensive but similar to other hotels.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the resort is built on a hill and is very steep in parts, however this did not bother us at all and there were plenty of carts around to take you wherever you needed to go. The location is quite far out of Chiang Mai so if you want to go into town or do tours etc be prepared to pay extra for transfers. Also try to organise your transfer to/from the hotel with a different provider/operator than the hotel itself as the fee for transfer to the airport we were charged by the hotel was an absolute rip off.

Overall we had a nice stay, however I think this hotel is very overpriced for what it is. Even with a discount voucher I feel we paid much too much. Our stay in another hotel in Chiang Mai for literally half the price was a lot better. This hotel could be the luxury hotel it makes itself out to be but it needs a lot of tidying up and renovating first, as well as some 5 star training for the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsFitzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear MrsFitzy2013,

Thank you so much for taking your time review Panviman Chiangmai Spa Resort, my sincere apology for inconvenience caused during your stay, your valued comments will bring up to my team for improvement soonest for sure.

Best regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved the resort - the location is stunning. It's isolated so not necessarily a great spot if you're planning on doing a lot of exploring and are not fond of long-ish trips and a bit of expense for transfers, although a lot of the attractions are found on the way from the city to the resort so if you're planning on visiting the elephant rides etc. it probably works out okay.

We ended up getting sick so getting stuck in a beautiful location with nice food and a nice spa worked out about perfectly for us, and the staff treated us very well.

We also did the cooking course, which is short but fun; the chef is a great guy and you get to enjoy the results of your efforts at the end, so it made for a nice thing to do for lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rig_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear rig_uh,
Thank you very much for your review Panviman Chiangmai in TripAdvisor. I'm very happy to hear that you have fun in cooking course and satisfied with our services, my chef and team also happy too. We hoped to welcome you back again.
Kindest regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It's hard to find the proper words to describe how fabulous this hotel is! It's amazing from the moment you enter the reception and the more you indulge into its lush Eden tropical gardens, waterfalls, ponds and caves the more impressed you are by the beauty of the place. The views, caves and gardens are so amazing that it's hard to believe it's true. The resort rooms are beautiful and very spacious with lovely outdoor terraces to breathe the cool Northern Thai air. The restaurant is very good with magnificent mountain views and delicious and reasonably priced food. The spa area is very peaceful and highly recommended to use (if only it was not so expensive, they would have had much more clients). The furnishings there are incredible and unique and hard to imagine what time and how many talented persons it took to create these masterpieces. There are plenty of game facilities like archery, huge outdoor chess board, boxing, mini-golf etc. This is the resort which you don't have to leave to enjoy the beauty of the area because wherever you look there is spectacular and peaceful. Perfect for honeymooners!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Irine N

Thank you very much for spending your time review Panviman Chiangmai Spa Resort in TripAdvisor, I'm very happy to hear that you're enjoy stayed and love our resort. Now it's raining season until mid of October, from November to February the season bill be changing to winter, the weather, fresh and cooler air average 18 C. In the resort and surrounding area will be changing to colorful from flowers, I really whish you come back to see the difference of seasons.

Kindest regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Its literally up on a mountain side and the views are amazing. The restaurant where we had our dinner was simply amazing and the view is unparalleled. The swimming pools are very well laid out and the spa looked really appealing.Wish i had known about this property earlier so that i could have better planned my trip to accommodate the luxury ambiance, excellent food and nice service

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepBalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear SandeepBalaji,

Thank you very much for writing your review Panvman Chiangmai on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that your're like our resort. We hoped to serve you at Panviman Chiangmai again.

Sincerely your,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights this August 2013, the view is nice but the service is very bad.
We left our helmet on the motorcycle which parked in their parking place the day we arrived, but the next day it was missing,we told the hotel about it, but there was no reply. The staff kept us waiting for about 20 mintues the third day when we checking, and later telling us that it wasn't their parking place and they shouldn't be responsible for it. Anyone who has been there will 100% for sure it was the hotel's parking place.The helmet is cheap, but seems the hotel service is as cheap as the helmet!
We asked the maid to clean up the room, they just clean up the broken glass our daughter broke it by accident and didn't supply a new one, they didn't even put things in order or supply us new tooth brush.
The floor on the bedroom is no good, making big noise. You will that annoying voice at night.
We won't recommend our friends to stay in that hotel, it is too long way for this hotel to catch up the 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: there is many good view hotels in that area,you just need more time to select a better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninaliong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Ninaliong,

It was very sad to hear that you lost a helmet while parking your motorcycle at car park beside the resort's wall which it is one of the hotel public area. I would like to express my sincere sorry to the incident that it's never been happened before. Now, I've strictly ordered the security guard to inform customers keep the helmet at the security boot and improved customer services. Thank you for your stay at Panviman Chiangmai and spend your time review in Trip Advisor.

Best regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved our stay at Panviman. Its set high up on a mountain side and the views are amazing - we had a lightning and thunder storm one night and it was breathtaking!

The rooms are large and furnished stylishly - I loved the romantic roll top double ended bath we had!

Hotel staff incredibly helpful. We travelled to get here from chiang mai by tuktuk as we were on a budget and it cost around £9 even though it was a 1hour journey! Great fun! Also on the way back our tuktuk driver picked us up and we visited the tiger kingdom and snake farm

Only downside to the hotel was there was practically nothing to do in the evening in the hotel and was very quiet after dinner, although they have dvd selections you can watch in your room. We ended up going back to chiang mai for one of the evenings for the night market instead!

We booked for 2nights with an offer that included a free massage for both all for around 6000 bhat which I think is around 60per night - bargain for the luxury treat it was!

Food in the restaurant was fab too and not that expensive considering the more inventive menu! I had squid stuffed with chillied pork mince which was divine!

A nice short break close to chiang mai to change the scenery and very romantic! Sooo many great pictures to take around the hotel grounds too!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uma4235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Uma4235,

Thank you very much for your great review about your stay at Panviman Chiangmai Spa Resort. We are glad to hear that you're like the room and satisfied to our service. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
14.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
7 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
93 reviews
8.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
123 reviews
9.9 mi away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
6.2 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort

Address: 197/2 Moo 1 Tambol Pongyeang, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range: $123 - $1,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort is a secluded mountain resort set on 70 rai of pristine terrain in the Mae Rim valley, 30 km. from downtown Chiang Mai. While at the resort, guests will feel as though they have entered into a higher place of existence, The Thai word "Panviman" means, in fact," as if you are in heaven" The environs at Panviman are utterlly natural and you will find yourself surrounded by evergreen and teak trees, flower and vegetables grown in the area, a farming community, and hill tribe villagers. What's more, the resort is endowed with cool weather, a remote location and a relaxing atmosphere. Panviman s devided into two distinct areas- a Lanna style spa and an Ayudhaya-style resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing