We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking facilities, Outstanding services!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a resort in the middle of moutain where is approximately 1 hour away from Chiang Mai town. Entire proprty is Breathtaking and service is Outstanding! Every single staff could not be more polite and accommodating! All rooms and villas, loby area, pools, restaurants, spa and even nature surround the place... I barely can find what not to love. I was awake by birds singing and asleep by frogs singing... It is exreamely exotic and peaceful place to be relaxed and healed. However there's also shuttle service 2 times in a day to Night Bazaar area that you can arrange at very decent charge. As being a Front office Manager at luxury boutiqe hotle in USA, I proudly say this place absolutely beyond 5 star property!

Room Tip: No matter what kind of type you choose, it is beyond worth however it would be a wonderful to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semmy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Sittichai, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Greetings from all of us at Panviman Chiang Mai. It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort. from the view, facilities and services. Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your experience to all. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 617 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great property and great people, fantastic spa. Was a bit skeptical at the time of booking because of the mixed reviews on this place but we had a a perfect break at Panviman. The people are extremely helpful and the property by itself is beautiful. The resort is approx 45 min from Chiang mai so it would be best that you have your own transport cos getting around would be a problem otherwise. There are a whole lot of activities that one can do in and around mae rim ( tiger park being the best for me ). Stop by the many small restaurants along the way which happen to be by the side of the river and you will be very pleasantly surprised. They also have some very good deals if you book online via some of the booking engines. Only complaint was they do not clean up the rooms when you leave and most times you have to specifically ask for it to be done. In our case we had dishes from the previous night still lying in our room the next afternoon.

Room Tip: pick the jacuzzi villas / rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Sittichai, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Greetings from all of us at Panviman Chiang Mai. It was indeed a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. We are delighted that you had a great stay at our resort. Thank you for sharing your experience to everyone. Your valuable comments will be shared with our team for improvement. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. The views from the hotel are breath taking especially from the reception balcony and the resturant.

The rooms are very nice, and are clean. We tried room service one night, and the food was very nice, my only comment would be that the portions were not that big.

The pool area at the hotel is nice, we spent one of our afternoons there, a dip in the pool was a good break from the heat.

The hotel is on top of of a big hill, although there are resturants and things to do close by, you can also go to central Chaing Mai (which is about a 30 min drive).

I would recommend this hotel, and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChangNoi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Khun ChangNoi,

Thank you for spending time share your experiences while staying in Panviman Chiangmai, I'm happy to know that you're enjoy stayed with us. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again.

All the best,

Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed there three nights. The hotel is surrounded by the forest and the hills and you have a very nice view on the valley. The hotel itself is nice and looks luxurious. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the restaurant is very good, the rooms are big and tastefully decorated.

Unfortunately, not everything is perfect. There is some kind of lounge where you can use the computers. One was not working and the room itself was not well maintained. Also, the hotel can be quite cold at night. This means that you will be freezing while you eat supper, and that the swimming pools will be to cold to swim (a real shame because they are beautiful).

I recommend this hotel, but strongly advise anybody to take a pull-over and some long pants with them as the nights can be quite cold.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lord_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear lord_barton,

We are very happy to read your feedback, especially you like food and room in your recent stayed with us. Thank you very much for taking your time share your experience in TripAdvisor, we will improve our service to meet the customers need as much as we can and hoped to welcome you back to Panviman Chiangmai again.

Sincerely yours,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I first must say that "Ravenna2006" review was exactly spot on! I had a very similar experience. I truly like this resort, but nowhere near as much as their sister property in Koh Phangan. This hotel is very quiet and has excellent views. When booking your room, make sure not to make the mistake I made. If taking the "good deal" on Agoda, which is one of their non-Villa rooms, make sure not to get the lower floor which will be in the 2100's. There is nothing wrong with the room, but there is zero view! We are staring at a clump of bamboo trees. Go for at least the 2200's or even better the corner 2300 rooms which are best view. When trying to upgrade at the front desk, they were hesitant and less than courteous as compared to their sister property and I agree English is at a bare minimum here. There is one exception to this rule, Khun Bird is their top customer service person, we wound up going to him for everything as his service was top notch. Even though the resort appeared to totally empty, we were unable to upgrade for a remotely reasonable price. Triple the price of the original room is not reasonable and that is on top of the price all ready paid. I agree that the restaraunt has good food and drinks and prices are reasonable. This is a very good thing as getting anywhere else from here is impossible by foot and you can't rent a motor bike like most places in Thailand. Transportation is very unreasonable and taxi's will not come this far out from the city. It is a good one hour drive from airport. Spa prices are way too high! If this is your first time to Thailand and you are a Farrang then it might not be such a shock. We live in Bangkok and I can get five treatments for the price of one here. Hiking is quite good in and around the hotel if you are into steep climbs. I should mention that this hotel is not a good idea for the physically impaired or elderly. There is a considerable amount of walking up steep inclines. The breakfast buffet is quite nice with outstanding views, but not out of this world. Again sister property is much better executed. As others have mentioned, the beds are rock hard and very thin mattress, my back is killing me. You would think it would help, but trust me these don't. All said and done, there nothing horrible about this resort, but we will most likely not be returning here.

Room Tip: Don't take any room in the 2100's, shoot for 2300's and a corner room. Alternatively, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RUG8RB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear RUG8RB8,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your valuable feedback, I've brought this to my team for improvement. Hopefully to welcome you back to Panviman again.

Kindest regards,

Chairat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

So - I'll start with the positives

+ Amazing location: nestled in the mountains with the gentle sound of the breeze and calm of the valley below
+ Restaurant is excellent; prices are extremely reasonable and service is very kind
+ Decor of the resort is wonderful in old Thai style. Swimming pool area is
excellent

Now for the negatives

- Front desk staff are rather inflexible and their English is poor
- Spa facilities are way too expensive (minimum $100 for a treatment)
- Water pressure in upper rooms is poor.
- Lack of on resort entertainment - in the evening, the place is too quiet if you are looking for more than piece and quiet
- The location means that all excursions are expensive. For example a one-day excursion costs $150 per person.

Overall, an excellent get away for a week. Beats the pollution and over-development of Phuket and seedy Pattaya. The owners need to work on soft skills of their staff and have more flexibility. I probably won't return here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Ravenna2006,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us and comments that you have provided for us. I am sorry that you got this impression of our resort. We keep this feedback to improving our property and services.

Best regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a splendid hotel/spa/resort for a truly relaxing get-away and some good food.

The resort is located less than one hour's drive from the Chiangmai Airport, depending on the city traffic. It may seem far away, but once you are there it is a delightful experience. The staff is young and friendly. The rooms are immaculate. The facilities are plentiful --- two pools, game rooms, spa/sauna, massage, library --- and easily accessible.

Just a small warning for those who do not like to climb ----- climb hills or stairs ---- this hotel has plenty of both and is not equipped to handle physically challenged people. It is all good exercise. For those less inclined to climb steep inclines, there are small modified tuk-tuks that run you anywhere on the property you would like to go. Call the front desk and one of them is at your door within minutes. Too bad they are not electric.

The air is clear and clean. The hills are beautiful. The rustic rural atmosphere is quaint and pure Southeast Asia.

The food: The food was very good. A good selection at the breakfast buffet; very good Thai food; and high quality European food at dinner. All served promptly and hot and elegantly. The management is working hard with the young staff who already are knowledgeable people.

The hotel has several independent bungalows and several buildings with rooms on three floors.

A truly delightful hill resort.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: There are no lifts / elevators on the property. In addition, the hotel and bungalows are built on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zolaamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Mr. Zolaamt,

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your delighted experience. I tried to use electric car for transporting into the resort, unfortunately the power is not strong enough for climbing some area. Hopefully you will be back for relaxing with us again.

All the best,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
14.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
7.0 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
91 reviews
8.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
122 reviews
9.9 mi away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
6.2 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort

Address: 197/2 Moo 1 Tambol Pongyeang, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range: $110 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort is a secluded mountain resort set on 70 rai of pristine terrain in the Mae Rim valley, 30 km. from downtown Chiang Mai. While at the resort, guests will feel as though they have entered into a higher place of existence, The Thai word "Panviman" means, in fact," as if you are in heaven" The environs at Panviman are utterlly natural and you will find yourself surrounded by evergreen and teak trees, flower and vegetables grown in the area, a farming community, and hill tribe villagers. What's more, the resort is endowed with cool weather, a remote location and a relaxing atmosphere. Panviman s devided into two distinct areas- a Lanna style spa and an Ayudhaya-style resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing