We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Beautiful Facility, Lacking in Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I first must say that "Ravenna2006" review was exactly spot on! I had a very similar experience. I truly like this resort, but nowhere near as much as their sister property in Koh Phangan. This hotel is very quiet and has excellent views. When booking your room, make sure not to make the mistake I made. If taking the "good deal" on Agoda, which is one of their non-Villa rooms, make sure not to get the lower floor which will be in the 2100's. There is nothing wrong with the room, but there is zero view! We are staring at a clump of bamboo trees. Go for at least the 2200's or even better the corner 2300 rooms which are best view. When trying to upgrade at the front desk, they were hesitant and less than courteous as compared to their sister property and I agree English is at a bare minimum here. There is one exception to this rule, Khun Bird is their top customer service person, we wound up going to him for everything as his service was top notch. Even though the resort appeared to totally empty, we were unable to upgrade for a remotely reasonable price. Triple the price of the original room is not reasonable and that is on top of the price all ready paid. I agree that the restaraunt has good food and drinks and prices are reasonable. This is a very good thing as getting anywhere else from here is impossible by foot and you can't rent a motor bike like most places in Thailand. Transportation is very unreasonable and taxi's will not come this far out from the city. It is a good one hour drive from airport. Spa prices are way too high! If this is your first time to Thailand and you are a Farrang then it might not be such a shock. We live in Bangkok and I can get five treatments for the price of one here. Hiking is quite good in and around the hotel if you are into steep climbs. I should mention that this hotel is not a good idea for the physically impaired or elderly. There is a considerable amount of walking up steep inclines. The breakfast buffet is quite nice with outstanding views, but not out of this world. Again sister property is much better executed. As others have mentioned, the beds are rock hard and very thin mattress, my back is killing me. You would think it would help, but trust me these don't. All said and done, there nothing horrible about this resort, but we will most likely not be returning here.

Room Tip: Don't take any room in the 2100's, shoot for 2300's and a corner room. Alternatively, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RUG8RB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear RUG8RB8,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your valuable feedback, I've brought this to my team for improvement. Hopefully to welcome you back to Panviman again.

Kindest regards,

Chairat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 658 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

So - I'll start with the positives

+ Amazing location: nestled in the mountains with the gentle sound of the breeze and calm of the valley below
+ Restaurant is excellent; prices are extremely reasonable and service is very kind
+ Decor of the resort is wonderful in old Thai style. Swimming pool area is
excellent

Now for the negatives

- Front desk staff are rather inflexible and their English is poor
- Spa facilities are way too expensive (minimum $100 for a treatment)
- Water pressure in upper rooms is poor.
- Lack of on resort entertainment - in the evening, the place is too quiet if you are looking for more than piece and quiet
- The location means that all excursions are expensive. For example a one-day excursion costs $150 per person.

Overall, an excellent get away for a week. Beats the pollution and over-development of Phuket and seedy Pattaya. The owners need to work on soft skills of their staff and have more flexibility. I probably won't return here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Ravenna2006,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us and comments that you have provided for us. I am sorry that you got this impression of our resort. We keep this feedback to improving our property and services.

Best regards,
Chairat Panyawat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a splendid hotel/spa/resort for a truly relaxing get-away and some good food.

The resort is located less than one hour's drive from the Chiangmai Airport, depending on the city traffic. It may seem far away, but once you are there it is a delightful experience. The staff is young and friendly. The rooms are immaculate. The facilities are plentiful --- two pools, game rooms, spa/sauna, massage, library --- and easily accessible.

Just a small warning for those who do not like to climb ----- climb hills or stairs ---- this hotel has plenty of both and is not equipped to handle physically challenged people. It is all good exercise. For those less inclined to climb steep inclines, there are small modified tuk-tuks that run you anywhere on the property you would like to go. Call the front desk and one of them is at your door within minutes. Too bad they are not electric.

The air is clear and clean. The hills are beautiful. The rustic rural atmosphere is quaint and pure Southeast Asia.

The food: The food was very good. A good selection at the breakfast buffet; very good Thai food; and high quality European food at dinner. All served promptly and hot and elegantly. The management is working hard with the young staff who already are knowledgeable people.

The hotel has several independent bungalows and several buildings with rooms on three floors.

A truly delightful hill resort.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: There are no lifts / elevators on the property. In addition, the hotel and bungalows are built on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zolaamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Mr. Zolaamt,

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your delighted experience. I tried to use electric car for transporting into the resort, unfortunately the power is not strong enough for climbing some area. Hopefully you will be back for relaxing with us again.

All the best,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

In 2012 me and my girlfriend have been backpacking in Thailand. Only the hotel Bangkok was booked in advance. And from there we just looked where to go next..

Through various comparison site we looked what hotel the most least offer. Because momemt Panviman had an offer for room and breakfast. Given that the pictures were very fine, we had our doubts whether this actually will be.

The hotel offers shuttle service to and from the airport, this must be reported in advance otherwise you will have to wait for anything. (As in our case:-P)

Once arrived at the resort we were in a van to the reception continued upstairs (very steep). We were immediately welcomed by the hostess with a refreshment at the coffee table in the lobby space. While enjoying them lay more on the resort. I had some doubts whether we would get a nasty drawing since I was so impressed that I thought sometimes when something sounds too good to be true ...... But nothing is less true. We had just the right time a very luxurious chalet booked.

The hotel is nicely located in the mountains with great views wherever you look. It is a kind of biological health spa relaxation yoga friendly resort where everything revolves around relaxation and healthy living. The food is delicious, as is typically the case in Thailand is. If you spot a good deal here ... Booken just because it will satisfy your expectations.

Here we go again for sure once to return, only longer.

Important: This resort uses only natural anti-insect agent. And seen in the middle of green mountains in the evening you will sit the strangest insects encounter. This is harmless only some are large than I'm used to anyway.

Are you just a love them then you will surely appreciate.!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chairat P, Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Harry S,

Thank you for taking the time provide valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed stay, Our chefs source only the freshest ingredients available especially vegetables from our organic garden. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

GM
gm_chiangmai@panviman.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Panviman 3 nights,and the location is really quite and is the best thing if you're looking fo relaxing time. The matress in the room need to be changed ASAP they are very hard !The breakfast is worth of 2 star hotels :very little choice(especially in the bakery side) and to get a coffee/cappuccino takes too long,we ordered when we arrive at the restaurant and we get it when breakfast was over.very slow!The swimming pool are unattended ; no life guards or towel service staff and the water was cold and dirty(no chlorum whatsoever).The best thing of the hotel is the photo on the website and the view from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joao73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Sittichai, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Greetings from all of us at Panviman Chiang Mai. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. Please accept our sincere thanks for your review. We will definitely share your valuable comments with our service team for improvement. With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have stayed twice at Panviman Chiang Mai during end of May and 2 weeks ago. Both time we enjoyed every minute.First we stayed at Valley deluxe room and lately at the Jacuzzi Vila.
This is an outstanding resort. The view of the mountains surrounding Panviman is amazing. The air is so clean & fresh. The rooms are large and well equipped - you need nothing more. The food for breakfast and other meals is very good and fairly priced.The staff is very willing to service. This resort is great for relax but don't expect any night life activities. There is very WIFI in every room. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Israthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Sittichai, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Greetings from all of us at Panviman Chiang Mai. It was indeed a great pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort for 2nd time. We are delighted to hear that you had another comfortable and memorable stay. Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your experience to everyone. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I truly do not see why there are any bad reviews of this hotel at all. The view is stunning, the pool is fine and the breakfast is delicious. For the price, there is really nothing to complain about. I love this place so much and I really wish I could return. The staff are accommodating and the premises are good for a jog. The recreational centre in the resort compound is fun and would make for a nice activity with family or friends. Please go to this resort, it is breathtaking and you will not regret it.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
10  Thank kristiec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles_Sittichai, General Manager at Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Greetings from all of us at Panviman Chiang Mai. It was a pleasure reading your valuable comments. Please accept our sincere thanks for sharing your experience to everyone. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
7 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
98 reviews
15 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,253 reviews
8.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
124 reviews
9.9 mi away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
6.3 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort

Address: 197/2 Moo 1 Tambol Pongyeang, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#2 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range: $106 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort is a secluded mountain resort set on 70 rai of pristine terrain in the Mae Rim valley, 30 km. from downtown Chiang Mai. While at the resort, guests will feel as though they have entered into a higher place of existence, The Thai word "Panviman" means, in fact," as if you are in heaven" The environs at Panviman are utterlly natural and you will find yourself surrounded by evergreen and teak trees, flower and vegetables grown in the area, a farming community, and hill tribe villagers. What's more, the resort is endowed with cool weather, a remote location and a relaxing atmosphere. Panviman s devided into two distinct areas- a Lanna style spa and an Ayudhaya-style resort area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panviman Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing