We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$189
View deal
Hotels.com
$189
View deal
Trip.com
$169
View deal
eDreams$191
Booking.com$191
Hurb$217
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
56
60
22
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
60
22
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boiled rice private villa days nights peaceful place stream nature resort backache jungle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

the only drawback is that it gets cold in the mountains once the sun sets and the restaurant is in the open - so take a set of warm clothes. We were there for New Years Eve which was very merry with stalls of food and handicrafts provided by people from the nearby village, a great 3 piece band with a good vocalist, dancing, games and at midnight the release of fifty or so sky lanterns which floated up over the forest and the hills and slowly disappeared, along with 2011. We spent 5 days there and loved it. The staff were endlessly helpful, there are lots of things to do in the neighbourhood: elephant camp, trip wire through the forest canopy, snake and monkey farms, botanical gardens, and delightful Chiang Mai half an hour away. We hired a minivan and driver, reasonably priced.

Room tip: my room had a deck overhanging a bubbling brook, perfect for that mid-morning coffee
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamalyrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A cute boutique hotel with nine individual rooms/buildings (and another 10 rooms under construction) on a gurgling stream in the hills of the Mae Sa Valley north of Chiang Mai. About a 45-minute ride/drive from the airport/city. If you're renting a car, navigating the city is a tad tricky, but once you get out of town, it's straightforward.

It's a nicely designed place that's a little rough on the edges. Our bathroom was outdoors, and there wasn't a lot of hot water, so don't expect a steaming hot shower. But enough to bathe in quickly. There were a few bugs in the room, but nothing that seemed interested in biting us, so that was fine. You can sit outdoors on your private back deck and listen to the stream that winds around the property. Very peaceful.

Nice saltwater pool, but it's cold, kind of like jumping in a mountain stream. Decent meals served outdoors, kitchen closes at 8 pm. It was chilly overnight in late November, low of 12 Celsius according to the blackboard outside the office. But warm during the day. Good place to go if you want a break from the heat.

Nearby, I would recommend the Queen Sirikit Botanical Garden and, a little bit further back toward the road to Chiang Mai, the Mae Sa Waterfall if you want some uphill but easy (concrete path) hiking.

I got a special rate of 4,299 baht (instead of regular 5,500 baht) by selecting special rate online. The hotel called me the next day to offer me the rate. It may have to do with the ongoing construction, which was noticeable but not enough to be bothersome to me.

Room tip: You can view each room online and pick which one you want.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laidback84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice hip resort located high in the mountain, and next to a creed, so you get free soundtrack of river flow + insects buzzing. Nice deck from the villa for you to have a morning sitting 2 meters away from th fast flowing creed.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crismomo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our last stay with Proud Phu Fah was in July 2007 and when we decided to go back to Chiangmai in late Feb to relax and enjoy the cool mountain air, Proud Phu Fah was the top choice. Although the room rate for the Honeymoon Villa 9 costs slightly more than in 2007, it was still reasonable @ 11,300 THB for 2 nights inclusive of breakfasts and a free airport-hotel transfer.

Driver fetched us promptly upon arrival and we requested him to bring us to our favourite restaurant (Huen Phen) in downtown Chiangmai for dinner before the 45 mins ride to Proud Phu Fah in Mae Rim.

I felt a sense of 'homecoming' delight upon reaching Proud Phu Fah to see its still beautifully landscaped garden of exotic plants and flowers. Everything we remember about the resort is still the same, with the exception that its friendly dog has gone to its heavenly rest. In its place, are 3 cats roaming the grounds and one of them was found enjoying its siesta at our Villa 9 veranda patio. Nothing has changed in Villa 9 although it would be great if they could have a small table to place the water jug. Currently, it is placed in a shelf which is much too high on the wall and is impractical to boil the water and to make a drink.

The quality of the meal and breakfast remains good. We love especially the Thai breakfast of congee served with a piece of nicely fried fish, preserved mustard vegetable and Sayote (a kind of jungle edible ferns). Their freshly blended juice of carrots, lime and mint leaves (they called it "vegetable juice" is heavenly and yummilicious). The breakfast with the fresh vegetable juice gave our morning so much oomph for the day! When in Chiangmai or Mae Rim, do order Sayote or Morning Glory vegetable.

If you are seeking a nice small resort in the mountain for a rest and enjoy the cool mountain air, look no further than Proud Phu Fah! Of course, being in the midst of nature, do expect to see a few ants in the bathroom or even in the room. They cause no harm and we accept them in their own environment. That's the charm of staying there..

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The only complaint that I have about this place is that it is a little far out from Chaing Mai. The cab ride was about 45mins from the airport and cost us 700TBT. Other then that it was spectacular. We were so impressed and enjoyed our stay there. They even organised massages for us. We were 3 girls traveling together, it would be even better as a romantic holiday.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews