We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top jungle retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top jungle retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've no idea why there are any negative reviews of this place. We arrived during dry season yet the waterfalls were plenty, the location simply stunning and the food wonderful. The only complaint was that some of the timber is in need of a bit of attention but on the whole the resort is first class and highly recommended to other travellers looking for a respite in nature from the daily Chiang Mai bustle.

Room Tip: Pay for a waterfall cabin - the views are great and theres nothing better than waking to the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobleglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
33
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I decided to venture off the beaten path and try staying at this hotel. Sure it is a 45 minute drive outside of Chiang Mai...and that can get pricy if you take too many trips...but wow it is worth it. First of all, the staff: They sort of became like family during our stay. Our driver even joined us for a day of zip lining! The staff is very accommodating, kind, generous, and above all just easy to be around. And then there's the view.... When they say "you have a view of the cascades" they are not joking. You literally look out your door and you are surrounded by cascades. We stayed in the rooms to the right of the restaurant which were these fantastic teak buildings with semi-outdoor (roofless) showers which really add to the ambience. The view and grounds and surroundings alone are worth it. Then to top it all off, the food was really really good! I was worried that being stuck so far outside of any town would really limit our dining options but the hotel food is so good, I hardly even noticed. I would highly recommend this as a honeymoon/romantic destination. One word of advice...bring mosquito repellent! Also, there is no fitness center...but take a hike if you want a workout, you're in the woods! Otherwise, enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SofiG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is a hotel that you may not like it at first sight, but the longer you stay there, the more charm you can experience. The food was great, and the best among all restaurants we've been to in Chiang Mai. It is also near all major outdoor activities in Chiang Mai. What I love most about the hotel is that lying on the rock in the sun or the shade by the small water fall was the best memory of the trip. If you do meditation, doing it by the waterfall is absolutely terrific! Hiking in the mountain behind towards a bigger water fall is also very nice. What is also nice of the hotel is that it is good for family with kids: be in close contact with the peacock, lovely chicken, goose, birds... Too many positive aspects of the hotel, just go! The only demerit in my opinion about the hotel is that the rooms need to be refurnished. The sheets are not very clean, room dark. It would be great to have a comfortable sofa by the waterfall :-). We did not do the spa there, because it is pricy comparing with others and it did not look clean as compared to others.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 & 14 are two of the best among all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiang-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are currently staying at the Sukantara resort for a short stay of two nights during a 12 day holiday in the Chiang Mai region. It took us approximately 40 minutes to get to the resort from Chiang Mai central. The drive is very pleasant - especially the winding road up to the resort which is tucked away in the middle of the rainforest.

Check-in was efficient and we were offered a small drink on arrival. The staff were very welcoming and friendly at the offset and this warm friendliness has continued throughout our stay.

The surrounding area is just gorgeous. Full of wildlife, greenery and the wonderful sound of the cascade waterfalls. Peacocks and farm animals wander around freely and happily. It really is like a little slice of heaven here with no noise apart from nature.

We booked a special deal - buy one night, get the second night free - in one of their 'tent/bamboo' cabins. The cabin overlooks the waterfalls and has a lovely view of the resort area as well. It also feels very private with only one other cabin close by. Access is via a charming wooden cable bridge hanging across the waterfalls and then a short meandering walk through the forest!

The cabin itself is small yet nice - we wanted to stay somewhere unique and not the usual sterile hotel room. There are some small issues with attention to detail and perhaps the cabins could use a little maintenance but all-in-all, so far we have really enjoyed it. The sunken bath tub and shower area is very unique. I am not sure we would have been happy to pay the full price of this particular cabin but the two nights for the price of one, made it a good and fair deal. The location is worth the price.

We had dinner at the restaurant and ordered local foods such as fried chicken curry and the local thai sausage. The service was great and the food really tasted excellent! Our only suggestion is for a broader drinks menu in terms of wine and beers (only two options of each and no option for cocktails). Also, the restaurant only accepts orders until 8pm which is a little early for some people (we usually only arrive at a restaurant at around 8pm!). For breakfast we had the thai breakfast and a continental breakfast. The Thai breakfast was very good. The continental breakfast was very simple but this was mentioned in the menu in any case. It was lovely to dine on a deck sitting right on top of the waterfall with peacocks and geese sitting beside you.

Some elements of the resort do need some maintenance but we can see that this is being done and they are not issues that impact on the stay in any way.

We have not visited the spa but we did have a peek inside and it looks beautiful.

The pool area is very pretty. The water feels cold but it will be nice to take a dip since it is very warm. It has a view over the waterfalls and nice areas to sit and read a book.

We strongly recommend this place if you are seeking a quiet getaway (away from noisy tourists and night clubs) in the middle of nature and with no distractions. We brought our own car as we live in Bangkok but you may wish to consider hiring a car if you want easy access around the region otherwise we believe the resort also offers transportation suggestions and has a driver. I doubt that local tuktuks or even taxi's, would be willing to venture up here but that is an assumption - we may be wrong.

We would definately come back again when we need to escape from Bangkok. The atmosphere, staff, and the location are very special indeed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, the staff were very friendly and the backdrop of the resort was beautiful in a rainforesty kind of way. But a warning - this place isn't for everyone. Sukantara feels more like a Buddhist retreat than a holiday resort. Embedded within a patch of rainforesty stuff about 30 to 40 minutes drive from the airport, my experience at Sukantara was defined by the sound of rushing water cascading over rocks and the characteristically cool humid atmosphere of a rainforest environment. Whilst there is a small pool at the resort, it isn't heated and so I imagine it would be rarely used. The restaurant overlooks the waterfall and is definitely the centerpiece of the resort. The Thai food here was amazing, and the Hunglay curry was without doubt the best curry I've ever tasted. Period.

Would I come back? Probably not, its just not my kind place. But i still enjoyed my time there and thought it was pretty good value for money with nice tidy rooms, and a friendly albeit quiet atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived after staying in a 5 star brand new hotel and it's refreshing to stay at a traditional style thai furnished resort and spa.
We were first greeted at the airport from a friendly driver who after an expected drive arrived at Sukantara where the receptionist and staff were very welcoming! (we received our welcome drink!!!)
The rooms are furnished in traditional thai style and are very comfortable. We were welcomed to the room full of arranged roses and a complimentary bottle of wine. Was absolutely stunning!
Our day trip driver was fantastic who showed us the best activities for the day! (highly recommend the ZipLine and tiger kingdom)
We came back to the hotel to a very relaxing thai massage in their on-site spa.
The restaurant meals were great and set against a stunning waterfall backdrop. The local traditional dinner (kan-tokee) was delicious but be ready for a big meal!
To end off the stay the staff issued us with the traditional fire lantern for good luck and a good future. A very special and memorable stay!
Our biggest thanks to the owner and the friendly staff who made our stay here a perfect beginning for our trip in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GsellandBrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is far too expensive for what you get. We payed 7200 tbath for two nights, but left after one night. I think in the past this might have been a beautiful hotel, and the location near the fall is still special. But the place is in decline, and although the staff were friendly, they 'forgot' our welcome-drink, tried to make us pay 80 tbath extra for the rice at dinner, and tried to charge 10 % service and 7% vat on top of it. Dinner was poor, the charge round 175 tbath for a very simple dish, (apparently without the rice) is ridiculous!

Don' t go here!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stepanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mae Rim hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
8.0 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.7 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
9.8 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
9.2 mi away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 18 in Mae Rim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa

Property: Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Address: 12/2 Moo 8 Mae Rim | T.Maeram, A.Mae Rim, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Luxury boutique resort which is the perfect for private romantic honeymoon. The Resort lies on the sloping bank of a mountain stream in the verdant Chiangmai highland. Mountain water cascades over boulders in the stream, creating tiered waterfalls right below the Lanna-Balinese-style guest cottages and offers the blissful experiences of close-to-nature living, that will remain a cherished memory for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukantara Cascade Resort And Spa
Sukantara Cascade Hotel Mae Rim
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing