We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
46
75
25
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
75
25
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dance show one night unexpected gem rice fields traditional life lobby area close to nature stayed longer chiang mai air conditioning breakfast buffet culture wifi accommodation mountains insight grounds
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 153 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a great overnight stay. The buildings are very much in the local style with bamboo walls and hardwood floors. Although the interiors are a little tired and there is no aircon, this didn't detract from the stay. There is also a great pool with fab views. We had a buffet of BBQ kebabs and local Thai dishes for dinner followed by a local cultural performance of Hmong ceremonies, music and dance. The following day we took a guided walk through the forest, farmland and village which was very interesting.

Stay here if you would like a unique experience relating to Hmong culture. This place is not for those who need all modcons.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AZ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived late in the afternoon and had a swim in the pool which although cold was very refreshing! The rooms were quite basic but that's what I was expecting. There is wifi available in the reception area. The evening buffet meal by candlelight was good but I wished I had warmer clothes to wear that evening! The local entertainment gave us a good insight in to some of the local customs. It was so peaceful we heard nothing when we went to bed. Breakfast was western which was a surprise as all the other places we stayed offered Thai food. Would have been good to have stayed a bit longer to really benefit from the peace and quiet.

Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 11JAN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It seems that this place is located far away from everything and everyone. It is high up the mountain, about 45 min drive from Chiang Mai and not all taxi drivers even know where it is (or willing to take you there). But once you do get there, it is breathtaking and so incredibly quiet. Best night sleep in a very long time. This is the place you want to be to relax and forget about everything. Very basic simple accommodation and food, but everything is done with love and soul. Staff is very friendly, rooms are comfortable and clean, it even has a nice size pool, and beautiful nature all around you.
To get anywhere from the lodge you need to rent a car or arrange a driver. This was the only drawback for us as we thought it was closer to the city when we booked it. But in no way did this ruin our experience.
If you want to stay in a simple yet beautiful and peaceful place away from the tourist track, this is the place.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risha_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hmong Lodge was a very quiet resort in North Chiang Mai. I was there for a night before we took a car to other Mountain. The surrounding was great. There was so peaceful in night time and the weather was perfect. When I woke up in the morning, I could see very beautiful rice field around this area. I was in love with Strawberry Jam in breakfast time, heard that it was homemade strawberry by village people. Very attractive resort and was willing to come back here again.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

These bamboo bungalos are wonderful. My wife and I stayed here two days along a 10 day tour of Northern Thailand. Across the road from this lodge is one of the most curious locales I've ever seen. Go walk across the street and ask to buy a coke and then see if he will allow you to look inside his home. Every wall, floor to ceiling is covered with anthropologica, ephemera and brick-a-brack from all over the world. Travelers visit him then send him curiosities to hand on his wall. His collection of elephant bells and water buffalo bells is impressive. Hopefully he still has his monkey, Cop Dam, Great Monkey, we really enjoyed our stay there and hiking back into the valley's behind the lodge. The rice paddy setting is quaint and quiet. The waterfall to the left of the lodge empties into a still pool and is surrounded by some amazing specimen trees. Go Visit. You'll enjoy it.

Room tip: No spa, no room service, communal firepit between rooms though and true as you can get lodgings as they were back in the day.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadG282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews