We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
47
75
25
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
75
25
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dance show one night unexpected gem rice fields traditional life close to nature stayed longer chiang mai air conditioning breakfast buffet culture wifi accommodation mountains insight grounds thailand
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 154 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

These bamboo bungalos are wonderful. My wife and I stayed here two days along a 10 day tour of Northern Thailand. Across the road from this lodge is one of the most curious locales I've ever seen. Go walk across the street and ask to buy a coke and then see if he will allow you to look inside his home. Every wall, floor to ceiling is covered with anthropologica, ephemera and brick-a-brack from all over the world. Travelers visit him then send him curiosities to hand on his wall. His collection of elephant bells and water buffalo bells is impressive. Hopefully he still has his monkey, Cop Dam, Great Monkey, we really enjoyed our stay there and hiking back into the valley's behind the lodge. The rice paddy setting is quaint and quiet. The waterfall to the left of the lodge empties into a still pool and is surrounded by some amazing specimen trees. Go Visit. You'll enjoy it.

Room tip: No spa, no room service, communal firepit between rooms though and true as you can get lodgings as they were back in the day.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadG282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

North of Chiang Mai, but far away from the activities of mass tourism. The lodge is in the middle of the paddy field, the forest and nature.

This means that as in all similar places you will hear the nature, forest and the animals in the night. We liked it but if you need total silence to sleep you need ear plugs.

I think we were upgraded to a higher category room as the lodge was very calm during our stay. This also means that there were not a lot of guests and so it was very quite and no noise. So we may have a an even nicer feeling about the place than what you may have when all rooms are booked.

Having said that, the lodge is very peaceful and calm (provided other guests are calm). It is clean and the room decoration/furniture is simple and very comfortable.

It has a pool by the rice fields and you can order massages.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The manager is very helpful to explain the place, things to do and arrange visits and transfer.

Most of the other guests stayed 1 or 2 night as part of a tour. We stayed 4 nights and we dont regret it. There is no close by restaurant/village/touristic activity you can reach walking. But you can always arrange a transfer. After all Chiang Mai itself is at only 50 minutes driving.

I noticed the tai price list is some times lower than the English one. I was surprised to see this in a hotel/lodge, but i saw this in other places in Thailand as well.

If you a hyper active tourism and want to visit many things in one day, you may not stay here more than 2 nights. But if you like to take your time and and like to do things slower, you can walk to the near by villages and have a street food, or if you are lucky work in the rice field when they work there.

I would have found a wifi access in the lobby area practical.

Room tip: I am not sure how calm the place is when all rooms are booked as this depends on the politeness of the other guests. SO you may want to check where is your room, how many neighbors you may have and eventually upgrade to be sure to be in calm. The place can be too peaceful to be spoiled by noisy neighbors.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zatash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, with children. Very tranquil pace. Staff good but no English spoken. We didn't have a car but organised day trips before leaving Chiang Mai - this is essential, I don't think you can organise anything once here. No wifi, no cell phone coverage.
We did day trip to Flying Squirrels Zip line and Pattara Elephant Farm - it's not that far from Chiang Mai but you may have to pay to get them to collect you. The pool is excellent. The hotel seems to mainly have tour groups staying one night - they do a BBQ and local Hmong Dance group when the groups are in. Had the place to ourselves most of the time. The BBQ night is 400b, you're better to just order off the restaurant menu at 100b per main. A good place to get away from the noise of Chiang Mai.

Room tip: All rooms look equally good.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located on the top of the hill 850 m above the sea level and about 30 km from the city, the hotel is surrounded by nature. It is great for people looking for a break from the busy city life. Do not expect anything but nature. The staff do not speak English, there is no spa, no internet, no TV or music, no phone, no kids facilities. It is nice if silence and mountain views are all you expect from the stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hmong Hilltribe Lodge is far, far away from the bustle of the tourist spots. It is not a good base location from which to explore the city of Chiang Mai or the usual landmarks. However, after you have visited those attractions and stayed elsewhere during the first days of your trip, come to Hmong Hilltribe Lodge for some quality downtime before you move on to the next city or your return trip home.

Please see my enclosed pics to get a feel of the compound. No description is really necessary. This is a sound choice for anyone looking to recharge after days of fast-paced sightseeing or months of endless work behind the desk. There is not much to do there except to lounge around so please consider yourself informed. The resort does offer tour options but we had a plan and vehicles of our own.

The room is nice, clean but not luxurious. The designers have obviously tried to give guests the rustic, country experience. Let's say they have succeeded in that regard and not at the expense of comfort at all.

What surprised me most was the relatively cheap food prices. With their isolated location and absence of dining options nearby, I expected exorbitant surcharge on food. This, however, was not the case. The a la carte menu lists mostly basic items and at typical Chiang Mai restaurant prices. I must say they are a very fair operator.

This resort was chosen for the second night of our five-day, four-night tour of northern Thailand in December 2012. As some other reviewers have said, we wish we had more time there. We will go back again for a more extended stay when winter comes again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruckdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews