We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful and Peaceful Oasis, Paradise on Earth when the weather is nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
UK -yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Peaceful Oasis, Paradise on Earth when the weather is nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is our second trip to Four Seasons Chang Mai. The staff are second to none, they go out of their way to make you welcome and offer the highest standard of service. Those extra touches make all the difference and justify the price tag ($500 - $1000 a night).

We stayed for one week (6 nights) 3 adults and 1 child in 2 rooms and March is a great time to visit since its the beginning of the quiet season. We decided to come to the four seasons as it was our wedding Anniversary and its such a romantic place to stay, this time however we doubled it up with a family holiday and brought along two more so that they could also experience a great holiday in Thailand.

I have been to some really great resorts around the world including Al Maha in Dubai and Shangrila in Cebu, Philippines, the one and only Royal Mirage etc etc, however we come back to Changmai because it is so special.

Where else do you get Water Buffalo greeting you on arrival, Fresh Jasmine Necklaces, Drinks and Canapes reception on an evening to sample the great food and mix with other guests and management? In our room was a bottle of Champagne, a fresh bunch of Lotus flowers for my wife and all sorts of fresh fruit.

On day 4 of our trip we were transferred and upgraded to a Pool Villa because there was some problems with our room as there were some rather noisy guests having parties below our room. The hotel were really quick to take consideration and took great care of us. The last 2 nights in the pool villa were wonderful.

On the last night unfortunately the resort was hit by a freak hail storm and a very heavy typhoon like wind for approx 25 minutes, it was the worst event in the past 15 years of the resort, sadly many trees were broken down and the resort looked a mess, however very quickly the staff got together and worked really hard to make the place absolutely perfect within about 12 hours, you would never have known.

To top it all off, I was then admitted to hospital on the last night due to terrible pains in my stomach, it was due to Gall stone attack, i stayed in for approximately 10 hours for some tests and pain killers. The resort again took superb care and called the hospital to see how we were, as well as to taxi us to and from the resort. They were so kind, Mr Lubosh the resort manager went out of his way to make us feel settled, there were white roses in the room after I arrived back from the hospital, the hotel arranged a late check out of 6pm and also sent us back to the airport in a beautiful 4 seater VIP transfer coach.

Ok yes we paid a lot of money, but this place is really personalized and with staff such as Mr Lubosh and the rest of the team this place will always draw us back.

On April 1st the resort celebrated 15 years and again put on a reception for guests and other local regulars to celebrate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    97
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
203
490
34
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

You are so secluded from the world in this beautiful environment surrounded by nature, trees, birds, rice fields, etc. In the morning, the air is so fresh, and the cicadas chirp so loud, you cannot miss the sunrise. The staff all recognise you by name, as you do recognise them too like a resident family. The food is amazingly good, that you don't regret not leaving the resort to try food anywhere else. Totally recommend the cooking school and the rice planting. Spa looks heavenly too. Pool area is perfect - not overcrowded at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

the maintenance of the rooms was rather disappointing for such a high standard hotel , the TV was not properly working and the bathtub stoper was broken . The room was decent but tasteless and rather expensive

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed here twice in the last ten years. It really is a great property although it's not really in Chiang Mai. It's in the Mae Rim Valley, a good 35 minutes by car into Central Chiang Mai. They do however have a free shuttle taking guests to and from Chiang Mai twice a day.
The rooms are very nicely appointed with a veranda overlooking the grounds which include a small rice field with several working water buffalo. Their crops are donated to local buddist groups.
The rooms are in small two story buildings so request an upper level room where you'll get a bit more of a view.
The onsite tennis court is a great plus and we did play every day.
It's a great place to stay if you can afford it and go to Chiang Mai for a short stay. We stayed a week and loved the relaxing pace of the place.
For longer stays and better convienience, stay in and around central Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stayed at this hotel about 8 years ago, and it is if anything, even better than it was then. The spacious and luxurious rooms, the wonderful outdoor salas (living porches with dining tables and relaxing day beds) with tranquil views, the beautiful grounds and especially the exquisite, thoughtful and informed service were all as good as I remembered. Things that have improved include the spa, which is now in a gorgeous facility, and offers some of the best massages I've had anywhere in the world, and importantly, the food. While the Thai food on my previous visit was totally insipid, this time everything we sampled was delicious -- crisp flavors and appropriately spicy.

The concierges and front desk staff is especially to be complimented -- they are extremely nice and helpful, and all speak wonderful English, which is not the case everywhere, even at luxury properties, in Thailand.

It is a half hour ride into Chiang Mai, so if you are looking to spend a lot of time in town, this may not be the best location. Shuttles run through the afternoon and evening, and if you want to go at another time, a cab is about $15.

My only complaints about the stay were that -- as some one else has noted -- there is construction going on near the entrance (I think they are trying to mimic the shopping village that the CM Mandarin Oriental has) and this was audible from my room during the day. (They offered to switch my room to one with a lesser view, but I opted to stay where I was). You should ask about the construction, and insist on a room further away rom the entrance until that is over. Also, the hotel charges for wireless in the room, which is a common but tacky practice that I wish all hotels would get rid of. When you are paying these kinds of prices, wireless should be complementary.

In sum, I will definitely be back. The prices are high (this was somewhat amelioriated by a 3 nights for 2 offer that we took advantage of), and the location could be awkward for some (I find the peacefulness of the surroundings makes up for the distance to town), but the simple beauty of the rooms and quality of the services is unmatched, in my experience, by any other property I have stayed at in Southeast Asia.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineGNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

I was looking forward to this property after seeing reviews and photos. It was not what I expected. The location is somewhat isolated, there is nothing really to do adjacent to the property, except walk around the very limited shops, and bike ride, and we did both. The city of Chiang Mai is an inconvenient 40 min bus ride away, and the Four Seasons shuttle runs infrequently, and only in the evening. The grounds were pretty, but there were lots of bugs and mosquitos both inside and out of our room. I had been traveling all around Southeast Asia, and got more bug bites inside of my room here, than anywhere outside I had been. We were also not pre-warned of ongoing construction for their new retail center, and a movie was being filmed during our entire stay, with ongoing disturbances, heavy equipment, noise, and the film crew which seemed to take over the resort. It was very expensive, and I hate being nickeled and dimed for internet service, and other things that really should be included. The food was also very expensive and not worth it. The staff was also inattentive, snobby, and often unavailable and unhelpful. We could never seem to locate the concierge, but he was pretty worthless anyway.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

The Four Seasons Chiang Mai is by far the best resort I have ever stayed at. Its worth every dime. The staff was amazing, attentive and very friendly. They will go out of their way to help you with anything you need. One morning we had a day-trip planned and just wanted some fruit and pastries for the road. Instead of charging us for a full buffet breakfast, they gave us a “to go” container and let us pick out some food for the trip. I expected to be charged for at least one breakfast, but to my surprise, there was no charge. While it wouldn’t have been a ton of money compared to the hotel charge, it was nice to not be nickel and dimed at every chance.

The room was spacious and the sala (outdoor sitting area) was very enjoyable. We ate dinner in the sala the first evening, I highly recommend this for couples. The cooking class was well worth it, make sure to go on the market tour before the class starts and buy some of the food that you will cook for the day. We were on our honeymoon, and they did a great job of making it special for us, with extra flowers and a bottle of wine. The private dinner by the pond was probably the most memorable experience of our honeymoon. Absolutely stunning. The view from the pool looking out over the rice field and the mountains in the distance is unforgettable. We stayed at a lot of hotels during our trip, and the FS was by far the best and the only hotel in which the pictures on the website actually match what we found when we arrived.

The only two negative things I can think of are: 1) the price, even compared to other luxury hotels in the area; and 2) its not in Chiang Mai, its about ten minutes outside of the city. But otherwise, this is the perfect resort, I can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D-ro24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
8.6 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
11.8 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road | Chiang Mai, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing