We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, Very Disappointing ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very, Very Disappointing ...”
Reviewed May 12, 2006

This was supposed to be really good fun. We had stayed at the D2 the last time, but as a hotel reviewer, I had to try the Four Seasons as well. And it was horrible, for a hotel of such high standards, and enough money to make it good, it was appalling.

The rooms were old, they were in need of renovation, if you had guest above you, and they were moving, you could hear them. The pathways were very dark at night, and the buggies are dangerous. The TV set is old compared to the D2 which has plasma TVs.

The location is way too far from the city, and the only thing you can do is go Elephant trekking, which you can arrange from downtown as well, so it doesn't matter.

Next time you go to Chiang Mai, and want to spend little money, it's be much better to go to the D2 ...

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    104
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
216
503
36
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2006

I have stayed in almost all the four seasons in the world and this tops them all! So romantic and wonderful. It is a must!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank KEFSEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2006

This is the best place I have ever stayed in! We were welcomed with jasmine garlands. I'm not sure what peoples issues are with the rooms; we stayed in a mountain view room (although we couldn't see the mountains for the trees) and I loved the room - really felt like I was in Thailand.

Really enjoyed the cookery school and the morning food market is worth getting up for. We had the romantic dinner in the rice barn which can be hired privately for 1 couple per night - it's very special.
Tennis courts were impressive and very good quality rackets.

We're normally quite an active couple but we couldn't bring ourselves to leave the resort, except for one night to check out the night market. There's a really good buzz in Chiang Mai city itself.

I hope someday, I'll be able to go back to this resort. The only downside for me would be that the prices are extortionate - although that does mean you won't see any chavs here! I also agree with the review from Germany that it could do with another restaurant. It was quite nice just to sit on your porch (sala) and have room service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vixtix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

Exceeded all expectations - quality always the best, prices high. Excellent tour desk, with luxury transport (Mercedes, 4WD and Elephants). Cleanest water buffalos ever seen. You will not be disappointed, but the credit card bill will be a shock!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights during April 2005 and were very impressed.

We had high hopes after some of the reports on Tripadvisor, and as we have been fortunate to holiday in some other top hotels over the last couple of years (One & Only Reethi Rah, One & Only Kanuhura, One & Only Royal Mirage, The Datai in Langkawi for example) we were a little hesitant in case the Four Seasons didn't live up to our expectations!

In fact we thought the resort was breathtaking. The scenery and gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. The room was spacious and not at all tired or needing a refit as some other people have said. I think that when the FS took the hotel over from the Regent they updated the rooms and changed some of the soft furnishings. We were brought complimentary chocolates and spring rolls to our room on more than one occasion which were well received!

There were only 2 restaurants and in many ways it would have been nice to have a 3rd just for variety, but the menus were very nice and we found something different every night. I am a vegetarian and found the staff very accommodating to my needs.

Which brings me on to the staff....they were superb. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much bother. When sitting round the pool we had drinks, cold towels, milkshakes, coke floats and ice creams brought round complimentary. The pools were both nice, although we found the shrieking children a bit irritating at the larger pool.

We used the gym every day which was faultless. I also had a Thai massage at the spa which was wonderful, although very expensive if you compare it to what you can pay outside of the resort (I paid about USD 115 for 90 mins). We also hired bikes to explore the area around the hotel. There are complimentary shuttle buses to Chiang Mai which we used once. We weren't too keen on the Night Market (lots of knock-off designer handbags and watches) but really enjoyed the Sunday Market which had more craft items.

We would highly recommend this hotel, but watch out for the noisy insects (in particular cicadas) and their dawn chorus!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
8.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
11.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing