We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"An unforgettable experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"An unforgettable experience"”
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Wow - its beautiful. We stayed for 2 nights with 3 children and it was a fantastic family experience. The kids were looked after by Bee in the Gecko club who is amazing and entertained the kids both inside and around the resort. They couldn't wait to go to the club in the morning and didn't want to leave! Even though the lanna pavillions are beautiful we upgraded to an amazing residence for more space which came with a wonderful housekeeper. Our only regret is that we didnt spend as much time in the residence as we were busy rice planting, mountain biking and walking around the stunning grounds. The spa was a great experience and early morning yoga looking across the rice fields was wonderful way to start the day. We found the restaurants expensive especially for the kids meals and the food nothing outstanding although the staff were amazing and looked after us and the kids throught the meal. Overall all the staff were so friendly and many of them took time to talk with us and ask us how our stay was.
We highly recommend visiting the elephant nature park which is is a beautiful valley and is dedicated to the welfare of abused and elderly elephants. No riding or shows here but the opportunity to learn about, feed and bathe the elephants with a team of committed people helping the plight of the asian elephants.
The four season is a truly magical setting which has left a lasting impression on all of us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    104
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
217
505
36
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

There is not a single thing to complain about this hotel. In my opinion better than Chedi or Oriental. Do not stay at The Chedi Chiang Mai even if you like it very stylish. It's at a completely wrong location and at the time we checked it out it was totally empty. And only stay at the Dera Davi Mandarin Oriental if you have a faible for Disney Land ;-),
In my opinion though Four Seasons is missing the "You're coming home feeling", like Aman, Oriental or Rocco Forte give you.
They did construction around the pool while we were there but it was off season and they have to do it sometimes. The noise did not really bother us. The hotel is very old but very well maintained. The rooms could need a little updating. They are a bit unsophisticated. Staff is super friendly. The entire grounds are just beautiful, beautiful, beautiful... You are in the middle of nature and at night you can hear frogs, criquets etc. We had breakfasts and dinners and they were all great but not outstanding.
Cleaning and turn down service were a bit on the negative side (but we were completely spoiled since we just arrived from the Oriental in Bangkok).
Pools stunning, Gym and Sauna in the basement and not really nice.
Spa House is outstanding with a very personal touch and very experienced staff.
We stayed in one of the "Rice Terrace" Rooms #1604 and this is really recommendable over the other rooms that don't have this magnificent view.
The management is nice but you hardly ever see them.
A MUST is the daytrip to Dao Chang Elephant camp. Book the Four Seasons lunch basket that you can enjoy while floating on the bamboo raft down the Ping River.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICSAESJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

By far the most amazing hotel we have ever visited. If you're looking for the splurge, this is it. My only criticism is its location: 30 minutes outside of Chiang Mai. While there were quite a few children there, it is much more of an adult hotel with few activities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelJaclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We spent five nights in residence of FS Chiang Mai. The house is large and beautifully decorated with everything a home need. Madam Noi, the housekeeper, is the best we have had. She does everything perfectly and with a beautiful smile. The hotel has the best landscaping we have seen in the world especially the rice field just fit in well. We attended the cooking school and spent two days at the spa, everything was very professionally conducted. We enjoy our stay here and have no complain about anything except that my daughter was bitten by the mosquitos a few tims. We will certainly return to this hotel if our travel took us to Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This resort has it all. Incredible location, fantastic service and great food. Upon check in we were upgraded to a even better room, and from there everything were perfect untill we left.
Next time we go to Chiang Mai there are no other option then to stay at Four Seasons.

If we have to point out something negativ, it would probably be the price of the food and the breakfast. Seen better and cheaper, but this doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I've stayed at some of the best hotels around the world. For me, this was THE BEST. Every time I turned around I found myself saying "This is magical - I could stay here forever." The service is unbelievable. Our room was large and beautiful. We had a terrace overlooking the rice paddies. Based on a five star rating, I would give this "6".

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brencara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We spent 5 days at the Four Seasons in Chiang Mai and we just loved every piece of it !

The location is great (if you don't mind to be far from the city center, 25-30 mn drive), the landscape is beautiful and it's so peaceful.

We were there with our 2 children, 6 years old and 3 years old. They had a good time too, even if I must admit that the resort is not so much child oriented. They have a kids club that is very basic but still, our kids loved it. I would not recommend the resort for people with younger children as the paths can be rocky and thus it must be a bit difficult to navigate with a stroller.

The service was always excellent.

The concierge team did an amazing job, they really know well all the activities you can do around the resort (and there are so many !) and their advices were excellent. They also organized a car + driver for us very easily. They are a very good team.

The spa is simply AMAZING. All the treatments we did were the best we've ever had anywhere !!! The therapists are top of the notch and it's so confortable and charming.

The thai restaurant is wonderful too, all the food is delicious, well presented and very tasty.
Breakfast is a la carte (no buffet) but the choice is huge and the food delicious again.

Well, we were really impressed with Four Seasons, again !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong_Kong_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
8.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
11.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing