We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have picked a better venue for my wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
runningwiththepugs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Couldn't have picked a better venue for my wedding!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spend 5 days in this lovely resort with roughly a dozen close family and friends in January 2014. A few months later, everyone... EVERYONE still mentions how much they enjoyed the trip and how delightful and helpful the hotel staff were.

Overall, the grounds are absolutely immaculate and serene, great for photos. The private pools in the private pool villa and the 4 bedroom villa are heated which is a real treat in the winter. On a map the villa look quite far away from the main dining and lobby areas; however, in reality it is only a 5-7 minute walk. Hotel golf carts can also be dispatched quickly to villas 24 hours a day to shuttle guests to and from the main dining and lobby areas.

The hotel staff and event managers are experienced and professional event planners. All aspects of our wedding went smoothly and exceeded our expectations.

The only slight drawback is the location of the resort. The resort is located roughly 20-25 minutes by car from the city center. Making a trip out to the city center requires advanced planning, either booking a hotel shuttle or calling a taxi. The beautiful surroundings at the resort more than makes up for this tiny shortcoming though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningwiththepugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitiyaChooto, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear runningwith the pugs,

First of all, once again warmest congratulations on your wedding and I would like to thank you very much for having chosen Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai as the venue for this very special occasion in your lives.

Please allow me to share your kind comments to the team who will be delighted to know not only how much you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time but also the event went beyond your expectations.

With very best wishes from all of us, and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again before too long, perhaps for your first wedding anniversary!

Kind regards,

Titiya Chooto (Ms)
General Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    105
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
221
514
36
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here after the (superb) Tented Camp and it was the perfect relaxing end to the northern Thailand part of our larger trip. They pool area at our villa would rival the beauty of most of the main resort pools we have seen. The pool is heated, so the mist added to the magic (and necessary as it was chilly over Christmas). The cooking class was absolutely outstanding - beforehand they take you to an amazing market. The staff literally cannot do enough for you (they were running in with little treats for us almost constantly). We had a private dinner on Christmas and they had a framed picture of us waiting the next day. That is service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitiyaChooto, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear kannm,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your visit to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai last Christmas. I am glad that you enjoyed yourselves very much, especially the cooking class and the private dinner. I shall certainly share your kind comments with the team who will be delighted to know that you had a great time at the resort.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again before too long.

With best wishes,

Titiya Chooto (Ms)
General Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

After leaving Bangkok, this resort was lovely and quiet. The pavillions are two story, and room ours was on the second floor which I thought was nicer. You felt like you were in a deluxe tree house. The room is nice, not awe inspiring , but the deck and outdoor area were superb. The food was excellent, we ate the tHai food throughout the stay, the Western options were unappealing, but we weren't here for western food anyway! The staff and service were excellent, had recipes written down for me, etc... The spa was lovely and had some VERY unique treatments. The only disappointing thing I would say is although the setting is gorgeous it is quite small. So if you enjoy going for walks around a resort, it will be a very quick walk. We went to the tiger preserve nearby as an activity and it was fabulous. Very busy and touristy, but the upclose experience you get to have with the tigers of all different ages is unforgettable. This resort was a nice contrast to the hustle and bustle of Bangkok.

Room Tip: I felt that the rooms on the second level were superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spOiled12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TitiyaChooto, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear spOiled12014,

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay with us last December. I have noted your comment regarding the western food which I shall pass on to our Director of Food & Beverage for his attention. I am glad that you enjoyed our spa treatments. You may be interested to know that we are in the process of room renovation for all our pavilions in 2014 so hopefully by the end of this year our pavilions will have a new fresh look!

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

With best wishes,
Titiya Chooto (Ms)
General Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay as room is big and units are nicely spread around the resort, which also provides much privacy as well. If you need to go around the resort, the buggy will come to pick you up quite quickly.

Breakfast setting looks over the rice field which gives each day a good start. Love the noodle in longan soup. The lunch at that restaurant serves nice Thai food too.

Pool is nice and good size. Also many nice flowers and floral decor in the resort which makes the stay even more enjoyable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Urorayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Urorayk,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Chiang Mai in January! I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your time and the resort. I do hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again and wishing you all the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was expecting perfection from a Four Seasons, as I have stayed at many. But Chiang Mai exceeded every possible expectation. The given, the beauty of the property. The surprise was the staff. From the bell men, to the front desk, to the upper management.
We were lucky enough to have a private traditional Lanna Wedding and Buddhist ceremony during our stay. Why I had planned this all via email I had no idea the elaborate event that I would have. This was a private ceremony for 2ppl (my husband and I). But our ceremony might as well been for 100. No details were left out, the convention and public relation staff of the hotel (Ing and Chutima) never left our side. The photographs on my personal camera, taken by another staff member were professional and one of the staff members even videoed the entire ceremony. I can go on forever, but this hotel knows how to do customer service!! Do not hesitate to book this hotel while in Chiang Mai. The food, the service, the beautiful rooms are all 5* and worth every cent. The Resort Manager is hands on and you can tell.

Room Tip: All rooms (except private pool villas) are surrounded by beautiful grounds and rice paddies. All ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goaskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Goaskali,

It was such a pleasure have your and your husbands wedding here with us. I am so happy to see how much you both enjoyed the resort and your time with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to all of our staff memebers and especially to our Catering Team.

I hope that we get to see you back here very soon for one of your Anniversary's!!

All the best and wishing you well,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a beautiful resort located outside Chiang Mai, overlooking a rice field and pond. It consists mostly of villas that contain four units each - two on the ground floor and two above them. We stayed on a ground floor unit not far from the swimming pool. This was fine. Overall the resort is nicely appointed and of course aims for a high standard. The views over the rice field are beautiful, especially when sitting by the pool. This was enhanced by the beautiful Christmas tree and lights that were there during our visit. The rooms are spacious and have all the expected comforts. The service is generally very good. And the activities offered, whether in the resort (eg rice planting - don't miss it if there with kids; the chef's table - an excellent experience, again especially with kids; the spa - offers very good treatments) or in the surrounding area (eg elephant camp - take the ride through the jungle to the tribal villages) are unique experiences to be treasured for a lifetime. Unfortunately, however, the resort does not live up to expectations on a number of fronts. For example:
- There was no hot water at times - this was not just at our unit as we heard other guests complaining (fortunately it did not happen in the middle of a shower)
- The plumbing was generally antiquated and toilet got easily blocked a couple of times (they fixed it relatively quickly)
- The sound insulation of the room was very poor and the guests upstairs regularly disturbed our sleep (admittedly, they were rather noisy)
- We arranged for a guided tour on one day through the concierge, but the guide never showed up and the hotel could not explain what had happened, only giving us the alternative to visit sites with just the driver (we were later told that the guide had an accident and got a reduced charge for the tour - but there was a mistake there as well and we had to ask for the charge to be corrected - it was)
- Having lunch at the restaurant, we were left waiting for our food for about an hour and only got it after threatening to leave (they apologised that there had been a mistake and waived the charge)
- The breakfast buffer was rather basic (albeit with a beautiful view)
- When making our reservation, we were originally told that we could not go to an elephant farm, as they were all fully booked. This was a major blow, as it was a key reason for going to Chiang Mai with our kids. Yet, when we pushed back, it transpired that there was availability after all (and the experience turned out to be excellent, with a very good guide accompanying us along the way).
Overall, I would bet the place will either lose its Four Seasons branding or close down for upgrading soon. We still had a great time, however, and would recommend this resort for its setting and the activities it offers.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs - to minimise noise disruption and have a better view. Avoid the units at the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Constantine P,

Thank you very much for staying with us on your trip during the Holiday Seasons. We really appreciate that you stayed with us. I am glad to see that you did enjoy parts of your stay with us but I am very sad to see that a number of points were not up to expectation. Please know that all of your comments and concerns are being looked into and delat with in the most appropriate manner. I truely thank you for your feedback as this is one way that we improve our service for all of our guest.

Wishing you a happy 2014 and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This Place Is so beautiful, the staff Is so nice that you feel like in heaven. We decided not to do to much Sightseeing so that we had enough time in the resort.
Some minor problems: Turn down service didn't close the curtains, cheap orange juice from the box for breakfast, long ride to the Touristic sights. Ridiculous prices for cooking school (but a great
experience) and for Transport. But hey, the rest Is perfect

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000placestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear 1000placestraveller,

Thank you for your recent stay while you wee in Chiang Mai. I am happy to see that you did enjoy your time with us. I also wanted to thank you for the feedback on a few areas of the resort that youe experienced during your stay. This feedback is very important to us and allows us to make improvements for all of our guest.

I hope that we will get to see you back in Chiang Mai on a future stay.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,357 reviews
8.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 381 in Chiang Mai
440 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,949 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
11.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing