We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay as room is big and units are nicely spread around the resort, which also provides much privacy as well. If you need to go around the resort, the buggy will come to pick you up quite quickly.

Breakfast setting looks over the rice field which gives each day a good start. Love the noodle in longan soup. The lunch at that restaurant serves nice Thai food too.

Pool is nice and good size. Also many nice flowers and floral decor in the resort which makes the stay even more enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Urorayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Urorayk,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Chiang Mai in January! I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your time and the resort. I do hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again and wishing you all the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was expecting perfection from a Four Seasons, as I have stayed at many. But Chiang Mai exceeded every possible expectation. The given, the beauty of the property. The surprise was the staff. From the bell men, to the front desk, to the upper management.
We were lucky enough to have a private traditional Lanna Wedding and Buddhist ceremony during our stay. Why I had planned this all via email I had no idea the elaborate event that I would have. This was a private ceremony for 2ppl (my husband and I). But our ceremony might as well been for 100. No details were left out, the convention and public relation staff of the hotel (Ing and Chutima) never left our side. The photographs on my personal camera, taken by another staff member were professional and one of the staff members even videoed the entire ceremony. I can go on forever, but this hotel knows how to do customer service!! Do not hesitate to book this hotel while in Chiang Mai. The food, the service, the beautiful rooms are all 5* and worth every cent. The Resort Manager is hands on and you can tell.

Room Tip: All rooms (except private pool villas) are surrounded by beautiful grounds and rice paddies. All ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goaskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Goaskali,

It was such a pleasure have your and your husbands wedding here with us. I am so happy to see how much you both enjoyed the resort and your time with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to all of our staff memebers and especially to our Catering Team.

I hope that we get to see you back here very soon for one of your Anniversary's!!

All the best and wishing you well,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a beautiful resort located outside Chiang Mai, overlooking a rice field and pond. It consists mostly of villas that contain four units each - two on the ground floor and two above them. We stayed on a ground floor unit not far from the swimming pool. This was fine. Overall the resort is nicely appointed and of course aims for a high standard. The views over the rice field are beautiful, especially when sitting by the pool. This was enhanced by the beautiful Christmas tree and lights that were there during our visit. The rooms are spacious and have all the expected comforts. The service is generally very good. And the activities offered, whether in the resort (eg rice planting - don't miss it if there with kids; the chef's table - an excellent experience, again especially with kids; the spa - offers very good treatments) or in the surrounding area (eg elephant camp - take the ride through the jungle to the tribal villages) are unique experiences to be treasured for a lifetime. Unfortunately, however, the resort does not live up to expectations on a number of fronts. For example:
- There was no hot water at times - this was not just at our unit as we heard other guests complaining (fortunately it did not happen in the middle of a shower)
- The plumbing was generally antiquated and toilet got easily blocked a couple of times (they fixed it relatively quickly)
- The sound insulation of the room was very poor and the guests upstairs regularly disturbed our sleep (admittedly, they were rather noisy)
- We arranged for a guided tour on one day through the concierge, but the guide never showed up and the hotel could not explain what had happened, only giving us the alternative to visit sites with just the driver (we were later told that the guide had an accident and got a reduced charge for the tour - but there was a mistake there as well and we had to ask for the charge to be corrected - it was)
- Having lunch at the restaurant, we were left waiting for our food for about an hour and only got it after threatening to leave (they apologised that there had been a mistake and waived the charge)
- The breakfast buffer was rather basic (albeit with a beautiful view)
- When making our reservation, we were originally told that we could not go to an elephant farm, as they were all fully booked. This was a major blow, as it was a key reason for going to Chiang Mai with our kids. Yet, when we pushed back, it transpired that there was availability after all (and the experience turned out to be excellent, with a very good guide accompanying us along the way).
Overall, I would bet the place will either lose its Four Seasons branding or close down for upgrading soon. We still had a great time, however, and would recommend this resort for its setting and the activities it offers.

Room Tip: Ask to be upstairs - to minimise noise disruption and have a better view. Avoid the units at the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Constantine P,

Thank you very much for staying with us on your trip during the Holiday Seasons. We really appreciate that you stayed with us. I am glad to see that you did enjoy parts of your stay with us but I am very sad to see that a number of points were not up to expectation. Please know that all of your comments and concerns are being looked into and delat with in the most appropriate manner. I truely thank you for your feedback as this is one way that we improve our service for all of our guest.

Wishing you a happy 2014 and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This Place Is so beautiful, the staff Is so nice that you feel like in heaven. We decided not to do to much Sightseeing so that we had enough time in the resort.
Some minor problems: Turn down service didn't close the curtains, cheap orange juice from the box for breakfast, long ride to the Touristic sights. Ridiculous prices for cooking school (but a great
experience) and for Transport. But hey, the rest Is perfect

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 1000placestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear 1000placestraveller,

Thank you for your recent stay while you wee in Chiang Mai. I am happy to see that you did enjoy your time with us. I also wanted to thank you for the feedback on a few areas of the resort that youe experienced during your stay. This feedback is very important to us and allows us to make improvements for all of our guest.

I hope that we will get to see you back in Chiang Mai on a future stay.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was only there for one weekend, but felt perfectly relaxed afterwards. The Hotel is not brand new, but kept very well in shape. The rooms are very spacious, and the Hotel is spread in a park like areal, beautifully shaped. They offer buggy transport. The pool area is just amazing, and at some time they let their buffalos with their "sitters" take a walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear ALHongKong,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to the North of Thailand. I am very happy to see that we were able to reduce your stress levels and help you relax. I do hope that when you need a little rest and relaxation you will come and see us again.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just finished a 6 night stay there. This place is simply outstanding. We had a Pool Villa which was superb in every respect. Very private, beautifully appointed and equipped. The main hotel areas are well laid out and the landscaping and environment are beautiful - the flower displays are the best I've ever seen. The pool areas and restaurants are set over looking the hotels own lake and paddy fields. Perhaps the best thing though was the quality of the service, which was impeccable throughout. Friendly staff, attentive and always remembered your name. One in particular, Joy, who worked in the Thai restaurant, was charming and really added to the experience. It's a 40 minute drive from the middle of Chiang Mai, but the hotel runs a shuttle bus to and from and the distance from the centre has the benefit of making the location far more peaceful. If I had one tiny complaint, it's that the choice of TV channels was a little limited - a channel showing English football, albeit at 3 in the morning, would have been nice..! Not cheap, but great value for money. Probably the best hotel I've stayed in and I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear David L,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai! I am so happy to see that the resort and staff were so enjoyable for you. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Khun Joy in Sala Mae Rim. We are very lucky to have her.

Thank you as well for your other feedback during your stay. This is very importnat to us so we can improve all areas of service for our guest.

Hope to see you again soon and all the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Four Seasons hotels are renowned for their fantastic locations and great service and the resort in Chiang Mai does not disappoint. The hotel is located about 45 minutes from the city center and is surrounded by rice fields and beautifully landscaped. My wife and I decided to visit to try the afternoon tea which was fantastic and a very memorable experience. A long walk around the resort is a must to fully appreciate and enjoy the location and environment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RonBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear RonBeijing,

Thank you so much for coming up and visiting us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our afternoon tea and were able to look around the resort. I hope that on your next stay in Chiang Mai you will decided to come visit us for a little longer.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,437 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,049 reviews
8.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 389 in Chiang Mai
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
90 reviews
10.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range: $484 - $1,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing