We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ZEN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was truly an experience. From the open air lobby to the first view of the rice fields it was just incredible.
We had an upper rice paddy room with a view of the fields and every morning we opened the drapes to a calm and serene scene of people working in the fields with the sun rising.
We had a lot of activities planned while in Chiang Mai so our only regret is that we did not get to spend more time at the hotel.
While the physical location makes the hotel what it is , you should be aware that you are far from everything. It is a minimum of 30 minutes to the town and an hour or so to the temple and to Patara Elephant Farm which we highly recommend. What that all means is that you are gone most of the day.
We were only there three nights, i think we would have benefited from an extra night or two to fully enjoy the experience.
All in all, it is the people of Thailand that make this experience so wonderful. There is a calmness and politeness to them that the whole world can benefit from.

Room Tip: Definitely worth it to stay in an upper rice paddy room. the views are so peaceful and it adds to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear travplaces,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai! I am very happy to see that you enjoyed yourselef at our resort and the surrounding areas. I hope that next time you are able to spend more time relaxing by the pool with us!

Looking forward to seeing you back with us soon!

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our group was 4 adults and 3 kids (4, 10, 12) and we stayed 4 nights in Dec. 2011. We booked the 2BR Residence through Amex FH&R and were upgraded to a 3BR which was spacious and luxurious. The entire properly is breathtakingly beautiful with rice paddies, tropical foliage, flowers, artwork. Hightlights of our stay:
1) Sitting in the heated plunge pool early in the morning with view of misty landscape - magical!
2) Hearing the 5pm daily rhythmic sound of metal gong signaling the end of a working day for the rice field laborers and watching them march "home".
3) Using the hotel complimentary bikes to ride around the neighborhood outside of the hotel property. Fun to look into backyards seeing kids sharing space with the chickens. We stopped at a coconut stand to enjoy fresh juice. On the way back we ran into two men walking two water buffalo so great photo opportunity.
4) Breakfast at Sala Mae Rim restaurant was very good and plentiful. The buffet spread offered the usual continental breakfast items and you can order hot food from the menu ranging from eggs to gingery chicken rice porridge. We also had dinner there and the Thai dishes were super delicious and spicy as we requested. You must order the Shrimp Pomelo Salad because I haven't been able to find it here in California. After 2 days of Thai food the kids wanted pepperoni pizza and spaghetti so the server ordered from the other restaurant and everyone was happy.
5) Spa was a serene oasis to escape the kids. Yummy hot tea was offered with cold towels upon check-in.
6) Jim Thompson Silk shop is onsite so one doesn't need to travel to Bangkok for seriously beautiful silk scarves and pillow cases. The gift shop has wonderful arts and crafts product, expensive but comparable to quality.

Service was exemplary! Everyone we met or run into was respectful, friendly, and helpful. During check-in my daughter (due to an ear infection of which we were not aware) got sick and threw up in the lobby. They promptly called for a golf cart and whisked us to our villa so we can clean her up. The front desk called 5 minutes later to inquire about her health and they ended up calling a doctor for us. The doctor arrived 20 minutes later equipped with antibiotics and pain relief med. My daughter was running around playing 15 minutes later and our vacation was saved.

Concierge booked a van with a guide to take us to an elephant camp and we all had such a blast but that's another review. The guide, hearing us talk about how we love eating tropical fruit, suggested stopping by a local market and that was so much fun. We tried sweet coconut sticky rice cooked in a bamboo stick, sweet tapioca pastry in banana leaf, rambutan, jackfruit, mangosteen and my favorite, fried banana. Brave members of our group tried deep fried bamboo worms and crickets and reaction was mixed, to say the least.

I have stayed at this property about 16 years ago (when it wasn't a FS property) and I loved the Upper Rice Terrace Pavilion. Perfectly romantic for a couple. So book a trip to Chiang Mai soon and if your pocket book allows, stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beautifulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Beautifulworld,

Thank you so much for your and your families recent trip to the Four Seasons Chaing Mai! I am so happy to see all the activities that you were able to do while on your stay here. I truly appreciate all of your kinds words and feedback for the resort. I will pass along your message to our team members.

I do hope that we will get to see you back here before another 16 years passes again!

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The service, views, landscape and rooms were just perfect. The added benefits of a wonderful pool overlooking the rice paddies was breathtaking. Food was wonderful with a truly expansive breakfast buffet. Our room was large with a very comfortable and generous patio area where we had a great room service lunch.

There were 30 in our group and not one person wanted to leave . We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyoung22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear wyoung22,

I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your visit with us in Chiang Mai. I hope that you were able to see as much of this wonderful land as possible. Please do come back and see us again and thank you so much for staying with us.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a wonderful resort with fantastic grounds--they have a functioning rice paddy and the harvested rice is donated to the people of the hill tribes. The food is fabulous. You must try the room service--have a lovely dinner by candlelight in your own "sala." The landscaping is beautiful and fresh flowers play an important part in the decor. Near a number of local attractions.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the second level so that your sala has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swrtzmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear swrtzmk,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Thailand! I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you were able to make as much time as possible for the Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice drama as you arrive, with an open air lobby looking out over the hills. Charming winding roads with villas scattered about. Rice paddies in the vista. The service you expect from Four Seasons, with just a few missteps (unusual for 4S). A little long in the tooth here and there, but overall a memorable and very pleasant resort.

Pros:
1.We had an enormous room. It was a 3BR residence with a plunge pool. It had one of the larget LR-DR i have ever seen --- not just in a hotel, but anywhere. 3br, 3.5ba, plus live in maid's quarters and a large full kitchen (for the maid). The live in maid thing is very nice (her room seems to be a few city blocks away from the MBR, so no privacy issues). Especially with three kids, it was so nice to sit down to breakfast in your own dining room in your PJs. Poolside, she would just arrive with a fruit plate and water, etc.
2.One morning, we all signed up to learn how to plant rice, and actually planted some in one of the paddies.
3. The kids liked petting the resident water buffalo.
4. The concierge was very helpful arranging tours and drivers for us.
5. The food was quite good, and included lots of Western choices
6. Lovely spa, unusual and romantic spaces.

Cons:
1. Driver was 30 minutes late to pick us up at the airport, and was wearing jeans and a Tshirt. That sounds so spoiled, but it is not to 4S usual standards.
2. The room decor was very dated. It was a little over the top, with lots of rosewood (I think) and jewel tones, and huge scale to everything. It reminded me of the palaces of deposed Arab rulers. That said, it was ridiculously large.
3. I found the location odd. I tend to assume that if the 4S puts a resort someplace, then that place is worth going to. I thought Chiang Mai would be a charming hill town. It is a large busy modern town with highways and traffic. This may be our fault --- maybe we didn't check out enough attractions in the area. But I wasn't sure what was so great about Chiang Mai, and moreover this resort is about 30 minutes from Chiang Mai itself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear 6 ContinentsNCou...,

I wanted to thank you and your family so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Chaing Mai. I am happy to see that overall you did enjoy the time you spent with us. I also wanted to thank you for the feedback that you have given on other areas of the resort and we will use this to improve our product. If your travels do bring you back to Thailand in the future I hope that we can welcome you back here again!

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I have visited this resort hotel six times before, and recommended it to many friends as paradise on earth. We have returned after six years and still find it lovely, but we did not find it quite as unique or outstanding as it was. The setting in paddy fields is exquisite, and the service towards the top end of what Thailand can offer, which is a damned high standard to start with.

But over the past sixteen years since we first visited the world has moved on, and I suppose to some extent so have we. The pavilions that accommodate guests are now a little jaded, and the bathrooms that seemed palatial a little small. It's like revisiting your primary school and feeling everything is smaller than you remembered it to be. There is now a customer experience manager but the customer experience ironically is not quite as perfect as it used to be. Despite being regular Four Seasons visitors and repeat guests at this resort, the manager did not introduce herself to us and was nowhere to be seen, which is perhaps symptomatic of the problem.

All in all, this hotel is still a lovely place to visit, but has slipped off its pedestal in our view as one of the best resort hotels in the world.

Room Tip: We love 801 as it has a beautiful view and is convenient to the pool. All the pavilions are identica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Brad_Lizzie,

I wanted to first off thank you for your years of loyalty to the Four Seasons as a brand and also to Chaing Mai. It was a pleasure meeting you on your recent trip here. I appreciate all of your feedback on your stay as I want to insure this resort remains one of the best in Thailand. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Phuket and that we get to have you here again soon.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were moved from house to house, with the amenities of the next exceeding the previous. Beautiful grounds. Delicious meals. One of the best hotel experiences in the world. We were treated like royalty.Spa is not to be missed. Overall an excellent experience.

Room Tip: The private houses were the best locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear cooncat123,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the resort. The Spa is one of my favorite as well! I do hope we get to have you back with us very soon.

All the best,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
91 reviews
8.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
10.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
8.1 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range: $487 - $1,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing