We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$331
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/21/21
FindHotel
$298
View deal
Expedia.com$329
eDreams
travelup.com$367
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveler rating
1,282
143
44
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,282
143
44
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice chiang mai pool villa thai restaurant four seasons resort water buffalos paddy fields private dinner our honeymoon outdoor shower heaven on earth beautiful property northern thailand fs grounds spa barn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
978 - 983 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I do not know what to expect from Chiang Mai, it has been 10 yrs since I visited. To my surprise the serene, the modernism, the youth, the nature are great points. Four Seasons has these unique bungalows with modern amenities inside, outside seems to be living in wildlife nature. Do ask for the upper bungalows in the hills since the view is better, and easy walk to parking lot.

The main swimming pool seem small, yet the lower small one amongst the rice paddy is a winner ! We walked around the hotel's main water pond, takes 30 min yet it is really worth a nice nature and easy walk.

Four Seasons is hard to come in and out of the surrounding locations. I advise to rent a self car since it is quite easy to drive on the main roads, and driving out to the road entrance to visit " BBQ Special Ribs " restaurant is good food. And Sunday Market is a must to visit !!

Lastly the hotel food and restaurants are abit pricy and the buffet breakfast are not as good as expected. Yet there are a number of smaller restaurants outside nearby...

Room tip: As for the bungalow room at a higher hill like Room number 101 or 201. They have better views and more quieter ( away from the main pool ). The room comes with a private your own stretch out terrace. Try to light up the candles ( they are in the cabinet ) and try their complimentary fruits lounging at the terrace, it is a treat !
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear LannyH,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at the Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience and that we were able to surprise you. I have taken note of your comment regarding the breakfast quality and will take time to review our selection with our Director of Restaurants and Bars.
We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner than in 10 years time!
Best regards,
Charles

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Email: Charles.fisher@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms , which are in outlying cottages are exquisite. The service is incredible and caring. Here is a very small thing but an example of above and beyond service. I left a paperback on my night table with a page dog eared to keep my place. When I got back to the room, the dog ear was folded back and there was a Four Seasons bookmark in the book. Each room has a porch overlooking exquisite jungle or plain, which is larger than an ordinary hotel room. It is furnished with plush seating and a table and chairs.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the spa and pools are world class. There are always golf carts available to chauffeur you to your room or any place else in the establishment. The two restaurants are more than satisfactory considering it is a long trip from the hotel to find alternatives. The staff is helpful and courteous. We have traveled extensively all over the world and this by far number one.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear jreyer,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property here on Tripadvisor! I was delighted to read that with all of your world wide travels you rate us as the best yet! It is the small details that truly make a difference to a hospitality experience and our housekeeping certainly managed that with you.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Very best regards,
Charles

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Email: charles.fisher@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very beautfiul resort in amazing garden/jungle in Thailand style, with rice fields. Amazing sunrise view. Very nice rooms, we have had Rice Terrace Pavilon, with very nice view on rice fields. Everything was high class, very helpful staff and service, great food. Exceptionally very good SPA with skillfull personel. Not cheap place, but that's the Four Seasons standard. Exepct price I could recommend to stay.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Shandir,
Thank you for recommending us and for sharing such a wonderful review here on Tripadvisor! I am pleased that you were able to appreciate all of the natural beauty and surroundings as well as engage with the amazing team that we have. The spa is a wonderful centre for healing and regeneration and it certainly sounds as though it worked its magic on you.
I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Email: charles.fisher@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent 3 night at the four Seasons Chiang Mai with our 3 kids. great location, very nice and spacious rooms. great food and extreemely nice staff. I would recommend this hotel to everybody that like to explore the North of Thailand.

Room tip: they are all good.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThierryV580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Thierry V,
Thank you for your support of our Resort here on Tripadvisor! I was delighted to read that you and your family had a great experience with us. We have just recently renovated our kids club, built a new outdoor playground and are about to launch themed fun and interactive babysitting options for our guests. I hope you will be able to return in the near future to try it all out!
Very best rgerads,
Charles
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Email: Charles.Fisher@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Admittedly the hubby and I didn't actually stay here, we simply drank and dined here but that doesn't exclude my opinion of this truly stunning hotel. We started with gin and tonics on the daybeds in the scorching Thailand sun and nibbled away at the assortment of nuts and kaffir lime leaves that accompanied our (many) drinks. Beautiful views and grounds to look at but the best was yet to come for we had booked an evening at the four seasons cookery school that very evening! Now I can highly recommend this, it's a great evening starting with canapés and cocktails on arrival and you get to study the chefs as they whip up some amazing treats, all of which you get to freely sample. You are encouraged to ask questions and get involved and then everyone sits down to feast on a banquet of truly exquisite Thai food, all expertly cooked as you watch and with each course comes an abundance of wine, a truly magnificent evening that we didn't want to end!

Date of stay: December 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear helenmakin123,
Thank you for sharing such a fabulous review of your experience with us here on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to read that in addition to the guests who stay with us, there are also non-resident guests who have just a memorable time with us.
I could not agree more with your description of the Khantok Dinner, it is an amazing experience. We have recently added a new Instructor to the Cooking School Team (Chef Pirun) who spent time working in Huddersfield too! Perhaps one day you will return to see if you recognise him from one of your local Thai restaurants!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Email: Charles.Fisher@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews