We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
103
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food home stay our honeymoon chiang mai vacation experience private oasis thai silk smallest details every corner a special place four seasons star resort special experience total privacy checking in noodles howies
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 106 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017

This stunning property offers the best of a five-star experience without any of the downsides (primarily, other guests!). The superb hospitality of both Howie and Jerri was akin to nothing you could find at any other resort or villa. Warm, kind, attentive, interesting and thoughtful, our hosts thought of everything and accommodated anything we needed (from doing a small load of laundry, to curating an amazing elephant adventure day with the best tour guide in Chiang Mai). Jerri cooks the most delicious Thai food, which was unsurpassed at any other place we stayed in Thailand (prior to Howie's, we were in Bangkok and afterwards went to Koh Samui)...seriously she is a master and the assortment, quality, and amount of food was absolutely above and beyond! For our honeymoon, we could not have dreamed of a better experience or location. We would absolutely come back and would highly recommend to anyone who expects the best when they travel. The value makes it worth every penny spent, and the experience of our private oasis in the Mai Rim will never be forgotten!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We were looking for the ultimate in a luxury Chiang Mai boutique resort experience, and Howie's was phenomenal! The resort is totally over-the-top aesthetically, and our villa was luxury itself, from the hand-planed teak floors to the incredible indoor-outdoor bathroom. Having a top resort like Howie's completely to ourselves (they apparently take only 1 set of guests at a time) is the ultimate extravagance. Jeri's food was the most sumptuous we've ever had in Chiang Mai. Staff anticipated every need, yet were discreet. The name's a bit corny (and doesn't begin to convey the level of indulgence there), but Howie hosted and arranged all our activities to perfection. It was absolutely the best, and we've seen a lot...

Room tip: Guest villa is the ultimate.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtwhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016

For those who struggle with the contradiction of paying ever higher rates for luxury hotels but still failing to find the privacy that they seek, Howie's is the answer. It is an expansive and remarkable property whose buildings and gardens are maintained to the highest level. Howie and his wife find a perfect balance of giving their guests a great deal of space and privacy, whilst also being around for engaging conversations, particularly over dinner. Jerry's philosophy for meals is to provide a very wide selection so that folks can experience many Thai dishes, whilst also being sure to find something to suit their taste.....and the food is delicious.
Finally, cyclists will enjoy the location at the bottom of the epic Samoeng climb!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BigBud2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

For those who enjoy made-for-yourself customized luxury in nature surrounded by every amenity you would want. Exclusive Thai-style architecturally brilliant villas, private space and pool, exquisite meals of your choice by private cook, the enigmatic host's wife. The magical pond-plant-flower and stone garden environment is a spacious heaven on earth. The generous, knowledgeable host, Howard Feldman will not disappoint, and you will likely depart knowing his gracious, intelligent presence was a huge part of your memorable stay. Truly, the place, the food, the experience is in a class of it's own.

Room tip: Two choices: one room villa and 3 bedroom villa. Both beyond compare with the best.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mettadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Howie has created an extraordinary experience for anyone who has a desire for beautiful surroundings, privacy, over-the-top food and gracious living.

Whether you simply want to rest poolside and glory in the exquisite villa or use it as a base for exploring the area, it would be had to find anything more luxurious.

Howie himself is a sort of mad genius of hospitality and design - and every corner of the property has some sort of aesthetic delight for the eyes to feast on.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MAlexandraHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews