We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"away from the rat race”
Review of Ruen Ariya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"away from the rat race”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days on our honeymoon was a beautiful resort nice and quiet. Really close to the main attractions in Chiang Mai e.g. Tiger Kingdom , Long neck Tribe and Elephant sanctuary and the X centre and lots of waterfalls and bush trials. The staff here really look after you the rooms are cleaned everyday and left immaculate.

We hired a scooter which the reception organised for us made traveling around this area so much easier. they organise taxis its around 500baht to catch a taxi into night bazar which is a 40min ride

i would definitely recommend to people who are wanting to escape the city and book the Jacuzzi room. The TV doesn't have english channels so you can ask at reception for dvd player and pick up dvd's at markets for cheap

for the price you pay which is about $50AUD a night it definitely is a hidden Gem

Room Tip: the Jacuzzi Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My family of 4 rented a small villa and stayed for 3 nights. The room is very spacious and enough privacy for me and my wife with a private bedroom. Although it's a small resort, it gave us a family feeling, with personalized services. They serve authentic local fair for dinner and good quality breakfast (both in taste and presentation). The location is away from the main road but still central enough in Mae Rim to journey to the other places of interest. My family has such relaxing time; waking up in the morning to the sounds of rooster, birds and dripping condensation water from trees. High recommended for a family stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushroom262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were lucky to stay at the guest house with our familly of 8 persons.
A good quality of rooms and freindly staff helping us out great. We had a private swiming pool but also a nice central pool. The hotel provided us with a bus and chaufeur for transportation to the night market. May be one less positeve thing was that breakfast offered limited choice.
The road from the hotel into the mountains offered plenty of amusement with monkey, crocodile and elephant shows botanic garden ald buggy racing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and a couple of my friends came down from Bangkok and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The quietness and completely peaceful surroundings were just the change of pace that was required. Compared to the relative unfriendliness of the hotel staff in Bangkok, the staff over here was very very friendly. We wanted to go to 7-11 at 1 AM, and the staff was more than happy to drive us there.The rooms and grounds were spacious, beautiful and neat. Definitely staying over if I am back in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaveenSoman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We rented the three bedroom three bath villa with the private pool. The grounds that the hotel is on are beautiful. The gardener for the property does an amazing job. The staff doesn't speak much English but we were all able to communicate in other ways. There is a lot to do in Mae Rim, and the heart of Chiang Mai is only about 20-30 minutes away. The staff at Ruen Ariya will take you anywhere you would like to go and a tuk tuk ride back to the hotel is only about a $10 from Chiang Mai. I loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a little luxury at an affordable price. Even their in house massages are only about $15/ hour! I logged 3 hours worth in the 4 nights we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelleyjo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

As a single female, I was treated very nicely. They picked me up and delivered me to the airport (for a fee), transported me to local attractions for free, went to the market for Coke Light when they didn't carry it, and were very gracious. But there are only Thai channels on TV, the internet was very basic, and the food was adequate but hardly inspiring. The location is very central to the attractions and the grounds are very pretty. The pool was nice and clean but also, in my opinion, dangerous for young children in that it is tiled and slippery with severe slants to deeper depths. If your main intent is to visit Tiger Kingdom and the elephant camp, it's a good locale and deal.

Room Tip: If you don't speak Thai, bring some DVD's to watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's hard to know where to begin since basically everything was broken and the hotel staff were completely incompetent, so I'll start with the worst things first:

1. There was no hot water after running the shower or bath for 5 minutes or less. This means that the jacuzzi tub we paid for, which was also broken, could also only be filled with cold water. In essence, they charged us for a broken jacuzzi with no hot water.
2. The staff lied to us about how long fixing the hot water would take, saying that it would be back on "in 10 minutes" for 3 hours. We waited around and it was never fixed.
3. After waiting more than 3 hours, we took cold showers. To compensate us for the cold showers, they offered to give us a free ride to dinner at another resort (because their food was mediocre). Their hotel van BROKE DOWN ON THE ROAD because they DIDN'T FILL IT WITH GAS. They put us in a very dangerous (and preventable) situation because the van ran out of gas as we were driving in it on narrow, winding roads, and it took them over 40 minutes to send help. We had broken down on a winding turn, and someone could have hit us! By the time a new driver arrived, the restaurant we were going to was closed. Oh, and all of this happened on my 30th birthday.
4. The phone in our room was broken, so we had to go out of the room for anything we needed.
5. There was only one English-speaking person at the whole resort. This meant that any time there was a problem or we needed anything, we had to wait quite a while for him to appear.

To compensate us for all this shocking incompetence, they finally agreed (after I yelled at them) to return $1500 THB to us (less than the cost of one night's stay) and they gave us free rides into Chiang Mai the next day. However, they were 30 minutes late for one of the rides, resulting in my partner being late to his first day of class.

I would recommend staying anywhere else. I've been to hostels 1/6 of the price with better service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mae Rim hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
1.7 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 19 in Mae Rim
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
86 reviews
9.9 mi away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 19 in Mae Rim
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
7.8 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
4.5 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Ariya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Ariya Resort

Property: Ruen Ariya Resort
Address: 298 Moo 1 | Mae Ram Sub-district, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Ariya Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tranquil tropical greenery in Chiang Mai, Ruen Ariya Resort offers accommodation with a private balcony and free Wi-Fi access. It houses a restaurant, an outdoor pool and a spa.Ruen Ariya is 5 km from Queen Sirikit Botanical Garden and 10 km from Mon Cham, which offers picturesque views of mountains and valleys. Chiang Mai International Airport is 30 km away.Fitted with dark woo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ruen Ariya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruen Ariya Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing