We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever! Do not go here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This resort is THE WORST I have ever been to, and I have traveled the world, so have seen and experienced a lot of different resorts and hotels.
OVERPRICED AND UNPLEASANT VIBE.

The SERVICE IS VERY BAD, staff doesnt speak English, are very inpolite.
The owner is the most unpleasant person I ever spoke to and very full of himself.

They charge you for all kinds of extras, that sometimes you didnt even have!
And during my stay they suddenly introduced taxes of 17% that weren t added when I booked in November!

The resort itself is very bad maintained, not a pleasant environment to be in.
The Spa has very bad service. They have 2 saunas, one infrared which doenst work and one steamroom that has a high price/charge for 30minutes use.
I had a massage and it was very bad, I felt harrassed by the masseur... so very unpleasant experience.

If you want to enjoy a nice relaxing holiday, DONT GO HERE!
It will ruin your holiday! Just as it did mine!

There are lots of nice resorts and hotels in and around the centre of Chiang Mai. This resort is 1hour by car from the centre of Chiang Mai and the hotel charges a big fee for bringing you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leentjiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

I stayed on the yoga holiday package for 10 nights in November.

The resort itself is quite a way out of chiang Mai (about 45 mins in a car) but that suited me perfectly!

The service was great, with the exception of the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious - You have to try the ' just like cheesecake'!! The service though was really slow, despite there only being 3-4 people in the restaurant normally (as most people fast) and 2-4 waiters at any time. On quite a few occasions we'd order as a table and 1 person would have finished before the next persons food arrived.

The massages were fantastic, as were all of the facilities. The location and resort is so chilled and relaxed!

The yoga was kundalini which wasn't my cup of tea. On the website it mentioned hatha and invenjar, so it's worth checking it out if you are going there for yoga.

All in all a fantastic resort for a break and chilling out in a lovely location, and with amazing food!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I just returned from a five nights stay at Spa Chiang Mai. I signed in for the Juice Detox but when I headed to the restaurant on my first day for my pre-fast dinner the staff had no idea what I could/could not eat on my program and gave me the wrong menu. The same problem occurred the next day, when one of the waitresses insisted that I could only have one certain juice for my "meals" though I had a variety of juices to choose for. When I complained someone explained to me that the staff at the restaurant "comes and goes" and are not knowledgeable about the various cleansing programs that the spa offers. Unfortunately this lack of knowledge was not exclusive to the restaurant but also created problems when trying to reschedule a yoga class that was included in the package. In general, the staff's English was poor and it was hard to communicate, especially on an empty stomach… I expected better service.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
4  Thank GwaipoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I`ve stayed in the SPA for 14 days in March 2010 and will be there up from now on at least once a year: it was a total blast!
I`ve booked a detox package called "you`ve changed my life" and I guess that`s what happened there, somehow I have changed for the better!

The Resort is very new so you`ll get the comfort of a newly opened place plus the tropical garden and really nice views from the Yoga Sala down the valley. You are surrounded by nature and it is very peaceful.

I went there as they are famous for their detox programs which include massages, detox drinks, colemas, steam sauna, excellent Yoga and meditation healthy drinks and much more. More important: silence and a peaceful surrounding. A place where you can just be with yourself and reboot your system.
You can unwind and their two fabulous pools or work out with a personal trainer or at a little gym or the excercise trail, tennis court or get in shape with Pilates or Yoga.

Even if you are not up for detoxing it is a wonderful place to spent great days with absolutely delicious healthy food in their "Radiance" restaurant. Very large vegetarian and raw food cuisine menue but all the great thai and non thai/ non vegetarian food as well.

I LOVE the place, will go back regularly!

The SPA is far away from the tourist trouble but not too far away to cater to the once in a while upcoming need to go shopping in loevly Chiang Mai and several excellent sightseeing spot are just around the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank na_ka_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpaResort, Director of Sales at The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

We are looking forward to your return to the Spa Resort Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The Spa Resort Chiang Mai is located a fair way from the airport carefully hidden away from the hustle of Chiang Mai. At the resort, the detox treatments are great and I definitely feel refreshed after the trip wishing that I had stayed on for more. It was my first trip to a detox retreat. The staff were very friendly and I instantly feel like I was part of the family when I stepped onto the property. I'll recommend the 10 day fasting program, daily yoga at the yoga retreat on the hilltop and a soothing massage to end the day. If you are not going to fast, the raw food (i only tried it on my last day) was surprisingly delightful, leaving me wanting for more. I hope you'll have an equally wonderful time as I did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enlegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

The beauty of Chiang Mai city is the easy access to foothills, mountains, waterfalls, and rice farms that are only minutes from the old city. This new resort is 25 minutes into the hill country and lays above the lovely Thai village, fruit orchards, and rice farms below it. The rural mountain views are spectacular and reminscent of upcountry Bali.

The resort must be on more than 50 acres and you feel like you have it all to your self as it is so new; they had an opening party while we were there and the rooms were discounted. There were 2 swimming pools, a realy nice steam room, massage salas, an excersize walking trail and numerous other buildings. The "Radiance Restaurant" is very good but the menu is limited compared to the fabulous restaurant they operate At Spa Samui on Lamai beach. I only had time for a 3 day cleanse fast which they discuss here under fasting programs:

[-]

It's a refreshing thing to do for your body and you feel better after a stay here.

The staff is sweet and usually smiling. The service was slow; I think the staff needs time to learn to operate; the scale of the place is so overwhelming. This resort is very close to the Mae Sae Valley loop road which has waterfalls, the Queen Sirikit Botanical Gardens, Mae Sae Valley Elephant camp, and lots of other sites to see. A trip up to Doi Suthep mountain top is also a must.

The rooms are lovely; we stayed around the larger pool by the hotel. They also have 2 story bungalow houses and full size homes for rent but these were out of our budget. The pool rooms were good size and fine for our small family of 3. There was wireless internet available everywhere; many beautifull open buildings to lie around in and enjoy the peace, views, birds, and sounds around you.

This is a nice one!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Muriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
3.5 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
90 reviews
14.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
15.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
2.3 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 196 Huaysai, | Huaysai, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly The Spa Resort Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Mae Rim
Price Range: $114 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread over 80,000 sqm of spectacular ently sloped hillside property. The majestic architecture is inspired by the northern Thai Lanna style rooflines. Villas are available for short-term and long term stay. The Spa Resort Chiang Mai provides insights and tools for optimal health, encourage the guests to feel better and healthier by using a simple system of healthy habits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavana Chiang Mai Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing