We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - Relaxing Hotel - Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Location - Relaxing Hotel - Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here with my wife end of October for 4-5 nights and generally its pretty good, nice, remote and far from anywhere.

ROOMS
We stayed in one of the cute bungalows as your driving into the hotel, it was tidy and smart though for some reason on the last two nights there was a matress outside our window?? Also with the bathroom press that toilet lever ever so gently or it will break it broke twice during our stay.

The rooms are sparse but adequate and to be honest the amount of time spent in the rooms wasn't much so it more than did its job.

FOOD
The restaurant where we ate most mornings was really good, I ordered curry of some sort for breakfast and can say that the Masaman curry here was easily the best I have had. The service is a bit slack and you can be kept waiting around especially in the evening when there are more than 5 tables occupied. A young lady called Pim is really helpful and speaks the best English which is very useful when trying to negotiate the poorly written menu i.e. vegetarian dishes etc.

GROUNDS
The grounds around the hotel are nice, there is a warning however to be aware of the long grass and snakes.

ACTIVITIES
There are loads of activities and things to do close nearby, which is the main factor in choosing this hotel, so you have the following :-

1. Tiger Kingdom (Where all the tigers look drugged - except the small to small-medium ones)
2. Three famous temples (it will be in front desk book on excursions)
3. Maesa Elephant Camp (Tip. Go on an elephant ride first then go and watch the show as the
queue afterwards in the early afternoon sun will melt you)
4. Night time Safari (Tip. Go for the last show of the evening when the little kids are all gone)
5. Night Market (Tip. Buy your souvenirs here they are 20-30% cheaper than Bangkok and the
bargaining is better here - Bangkok is too busy and bustling)

TIPS
Do NOT use the driver called Chai, he has a small brownish/burgundy car, short guy mole on
his right cheek late 50s. The man is rude and tried to get me and my wife to commit to going on elephant treks which were far far away (half-day) instead of the local one. He also tried to badger us into eating at this rubbish restaurant at the Night Safari. His number is +66 8 1387 1209 and +66 8 2761 8468 with his email being 'Chairroadmaerim@gmail.com'. If you get him by chance be firm and rude with simple YES and NO.

Always ask Ton as your driver, he is helpful, friendly and will go the distance. For instance
when we went to the night market he came along with us, ensured we didn't have any
problems. Bought us some rotis from the vendor outside Seven Eleven who appears
in the evenings (they taste good and you wont get any tummy issues as they are cooked
fresh and piping hot)

Avoid the local Monkey place, we met quite a few people and they said it was really bad and that they didn't treat the animals right.

Ask your driver to stop off at the Seven Eleven convenience shop which is 2 mins drive outside the hotel for top-up on water (you will need more than the complementary amount)

Take a mini-torch with you as some areas are poorly lit.

Room Tip: Closer to the restaurant in the evenings is best, less of a trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeNyOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am sorry that our Standard Garden room was not everything that you would have wished. I cannot understand the mattress outside your room that is certainly unacceptable. I will look at the toilets to see which room requires a replacement handle. To clear up any confusion over drivers we do not have a driver called Chai I presume he was from outside the hotel. Ton however is our employee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
58
70
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Although this hotel is a 30 minute drive from the city centre, it is situated in a beautiful part of Chiang Mai in the luscious green hills on Mae Rim. There are still many attractions in the district though (Orchid & butterfly farms, series of animal shows, ziplining, waterfall, ATV etc,). We stayed in a standard garden room and it was quiet well equiped for a basic room. The bed was hard, however you will find that most beds are in Thailand. You get complimentary coffee, tea and water and a good variety of things to purchase in the mini bar. One annoying thing was that every time you took the room key card out all power would go out, including the fridge! The premises has a lot of cool activities for guests such as; riding the swan boat in the lake, fishing, fish feeding (donations go to local orphanage), sauna, 2 pools, free bicycle hire and scooter hire. Every single staff member there was extremely lovely (however I honestly believe this is a trait of people from Chiang Mai). Taxi to the airport/city is 600bht. The restaurant food was perfect and reasonably priced. I really enjoyed my time at Away and will most definetly be recommending it to others.

Room Tip: If your planing on doing a lot of exploring just go with a standard room, they are sufficient enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koota90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The refrigerators in all rooms should still function with the energy saver removed so I will have the room type that you stayed in checked. Many of our upgraded rooms have softer mattresses but in Thailand it is always a compromise catering for both local and Western guest preferences. Thank you for choosing our resort and thank you of the review. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Generally the hotel is nice.. Clean overall.. But the housekeeping doesn't clean up the room hotel standard.. Entire stay my room sink and floor wasn't swept.. We never tried the hotel food! Please set your alarm even after asking for wake up call or else you will miss the flight.. Staffs are nice but can be a little trouble when speaking in English..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jini1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I apologise that you found our housekeeping did not meet your expectations. I was surprised because we have put a lot of effort into improvements and both internal and external audits have found a improvement in quality. I therefore interviewed the staff who looked after your room. They said that in order not to disturb you unduly on a day you were using the room they kept the sweeping to a minimum. We have retrained them on the need to keep the standard high at all times unless there is a direct request from the guest. I am sorry that this error spoiled your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week and we did enjoy the tranquility and quietness, having the pools basically to ourselves was lovely as there was only one or two other guests at the time we were there. Our room was gorgeous, the huge jacuzzi was a very nice touch except it took a long time to fill and got cold too quick. The bed was lovely and the overall rating of the room was a ten.
The negative was the restaurant, buffet breakfast was included but was limited and not consistent. The menu was too limited and overpriced. A new chef may be the go.

We did meet the owners and their children and spent some time chatting to them.

I would propose that Peter add a small convenience store and re look at the menu. If you had three or four villas occupied yet no one at at the resorts restaurant I would find out why. Maybe a special menu slipped under the door at an affordable cost and and excitement to it. Make the guests feel as though you know what that special touch is that will ensure repeat business.

Unfortunately there is no excuse for a green pool , the upstairs pool. And upon informing the owner that it needed salt , there seemed to be no urgency to add this immediately.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves but the ongoing drama of trying to find food to eat was tiresome and frustrating.

Tan and Ric
World travellers

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a spa suite ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. i note your comments regarding the restaurant. The swimming pool problem was actually actioned within an hour, it just took time to have an effect, but the problem should not have occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely resort hotel, clean comfortable and best of all the small things, like slippers, gown and something you seldom see a DvD player in the room, then all the stuff you would expect, kettle, umbrella's pools towels really fantastic value for money. We never ate here so cant comment on that.
We made use of the large swimming pool and the well stocked library, which was another little extra that is seldom see theses days - Well done guy's!
We visited Mae Rim to see the attractions, really worth wile were The Queen Sirikit Botanical Gardens - you actually drive through it in your car, its huge, and there are several must stop places like the 12 green houses - absolutely fantastic! The Siam Orchid Gardens and the Insect zoo was also worth while, even though most of the displays were static.
Places to avoid are the snake shows where the poor creatures are kept in the most shocking conditions, and if you are anything of a conservationist ot naturalist Tiger kingdom is just a petting zoo, zero conservation in keeping Tigers in tiny cages so thousands of tourists can touch you every day - shocking especially if you have been to places like Jukani in South Africa www.jukani.co.za.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magweba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is very gratifying to receive such reviews, they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are leaving this morning, have stayed one week in the resort near the national park, for family activities good locations, we have been busy everyday. We have booked 2 deluxe rooms. 600 bht one way to go in taxi to city center. Restaurant is ok but never serves the same way from a day to another. Breakfast more then convenient. Unfortunatly as said before by others, quality of rooms and infrastructure doesn't match the price requested, compare to other resort in Thailande. We had barely hot water during our entire stay, some days we have none....not to have asked for several times...only 2 good shower in 1 week. Housekeeping never give same service, doesn't clean bathroom sink, sometimes they replace shampoo and soap, but most time forgot ! Pool conditions not optimal, should be cleaned every day. We recommend you do not prepaid, this way you have flexibility to leave if service and infrastructure is not at your convenience.....we did that mistake ! They need to check the room before you pay the check out and take taxi, even if you said you took nothing from minibar.....

A special thanks to the hotel driver...Tom.....we should be able to use him more. I don't understand why he pick you up at the airport and not able to bring you back day of departure, even if reserved.

Personal comments: we never see owner or management around, which will bring a lot to guests !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am sorry that you had problems with your hot water. I know that an engineer went to repair it twice, but we did not know that the problem had continued. We will re-look at or procedures to prevent recurrence. I can assure you that the swimming pool is cleaned every day at 7am. It is wet season and windfall from the trees will sometimes enter the pool during the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

was the one of very nice trip of mine, the place so peace and calm , was there on November and we did Yee Peng for Loy kratong Festival, such very great night I really love it, had so much fun with the groups and my kid there ... even just stayed only 1 night but hope someday will get a chance to visit there again. miss you..Away Saunsawan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watinee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
2.6 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.5 mi away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 18 in Mae Rim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#8 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 18 in Mae Rim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.0 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing