We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantabulous stay”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Sawadee!! Away Suansawan is away from city but it is only take about 30min from city,we love the resort very much as it is very convenience caused it was surrounding by the famous places such as Maesa Elephants Camp, Tiger Kingdom & Orchid Farm. When we checked in our Family Suite Room, "WOW"! It was really impress us! Our room are very close to the 2 swimming pools, add on, the cleanliness are tip top, 2beautiful bedrooms with perfect amenities. We enjoy our private Jacuzzi very much ^.^
Only little bad feedback is there are water clogging in our 2bathrooms, however, the problems has been rectified very quickly after reported to an operator =D
The staffs there are very friendly, especially "DON"-the resort's driver/bell boy who fetch/send us from/to airport, also, we appointed him as our private driver during the leisure, he is a very polite guy that never fail us, big thanks to DON, well done & keep it up ^.^
Last but not least, if we will to visit Chiang Mai again, Away Suansawan definitely will be our 1st choice ever ^.^ stay there ! you would never regret!

Room Tip: Rooms that close to swimming pool is the best, also very close to lobby. Walk distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniehoo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    80
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
71
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Myself and my wife found this place to be a true gem. Set in wonderful surroundings, close enough to various attractions. The staff most welcome, and always happy to help. Beautiful location, and wonderful food in the restaurant. Including the head chef welcomming us for dinner, and cooking a amazing set meal?? Garden rooms were stunning, with big indoor bath!!! This is a must..

Room Tip: Garden room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in this resort for almost a week. We were impressed by the beautiful surroundings in tropical nature. It was in low season, so there were not very much guests, but it was a pleasant stay. Everybody, inclusive the gardeners were very kind to us en helped us were they could. The two swimmingpools were well maintained during our stay. The food was good, and the fruitshakes were the best we had during our stay in Thailand.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henk227906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were initially upset to discover that we weren't staying in Chiang Mai, but when we arrived at the hotel we were more than delighted. It was better than anywhere we could have stayed in the town and the scenery was gorgeous. We even got a free massage when we made our online booking. Our bungalow was quiet and comfortable and the surroundings were lush and green. We loved the food in the restaurant and it was priced very reasonably. We did a few trips from the hotel and they managed them very well. The pools were well maintained and thankfully very quiet during our stay. We ended up extending our stay and even then we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubaipenguinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The resort is set in beautiful surroundings around a lake dressed with amazing plants and flowers. It includes 2 beautiful swimming pools a gym and many other facilities . All of the accomodation is quite new individual in design and spaced out among the landscape to provide peace tranquility and privacy. The staff are exceptionally friendly and the management very keen to ensure your stay is an exceptional experience. All in all a jewel for travelers to find and put on their list of places to stay. There are many sights to see and visit from the resort and if you dont have the means , resort staff will arrange all of the experiences for you. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: there are a number of types of rooms available depending on your needs from double rooms twin rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gareth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsGandy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

For families who want to explore the elephant parks, monkey shows etc that are a bit far out of town, this is wonderfully located - it's quite a distance out of the city. Trips are laid on for anywhere you might want to go and the staff are wonderfully helpful - it's five star service.
The food is a little disappointing - especially the very small, overpriced pizza which is quite possibly the worst pizza I've ever eaten. However, the family-friendly atmosphere and nice touches such as free DVD rental (great on a rainy Chinag Mai evening) , free sauna, free pool table and free peddalo rides on the boating lake make up for it. The scenery is spectacular, too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsGandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluweyze, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
I am sorry your pizza was not up to standard. If you ever revisit my resort please accept a complimentary meal.Meanwhile I will either ensure we can make acceptable pizzas or remove them from the menu until we can. I am pleased the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Peter Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This is a gem if you want a beautiful environment, relaxation but with plenty of nearby attractions. The staff could not have been more helpful. Our room was delightful with a great view of the lake, a lakeside terrace and a canopy bed...very romantic. There is free wi-fi which I love. The spa is really good, not too expensive.We really recommend the 'Mahout For A day' learn to look after an elephant, bathe an elephant and ride bareback and on its neck. Great day. great value for money organised by the resort.We have no criticism of this resort, walking to breakfast with the mountains, trees, gardens and birds is a great way to start the day

Room Tip: The Lakeside rooms are worth an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfismysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
2.6 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 19 in Mae Rim
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#8 of 19 in Mae Rim
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 19 in Mae Rim
26 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing