We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mae Nai Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mae Nai Gardens
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had a great time at Mae Nai Gardens. My room was perfect-we were in the villa by the rice barn, and I really appreciated the pool after staying in small hotels in Chiang Mai and Bangkok. After traveling for 3+ days it was great to get to Mae Nai and just chill. Ian and Pop were a lot of fun too! We are already planning our return and we just got back to the states about 15 hours ago. Ask Ian and Pop for the good Khao Soi lady, directions to the dumpling place, and about the dam trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotthai, Guest Relations Manager at Mae Nai Gardens, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review, Lara. We really enjoyed having you and Shawn stay and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the visit to Mae Ngat Dam was memorable. So much fun. Look forward to having you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The 3 nights we stayed at Mae Nai was the highlight of a 2 week trip to Thailand for my mother and I. We just loved everything about this place. The accommodation was so stylish and comfortable, the company of Ian and Pop our hosts made us feel special and we left feeling like they are now our special friends in Thailand, the pool and gardens are exotic and beautiful, the main house and art is interesting and inspiring and the highlights just go on and on. Not to mention the cooking class provided on our last night which I managed to successfully repeat for friends back in Australia! We absolutey loved this place and loved Ian and Pop and hope to one day be lucky enough to return. I cannot recommend this place more highly if you are after something a little different with style, luxury, a bit of culture and new friends. Thank you Ian and Pop for such a wonderful, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotthai, Guest Relations Manager at Mae Nai Gardens, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review, Leigh. We really enjoyed having you and your mother stay with us. I' m so pleased that you both enjoyed the cooking class. The food was excellent and I'm delighted that you have tried it out back in Oz. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been at Mae Nai 5 times now and stayed in 4 different villas in the compound. WOW! I love this place. I like that it is out of the city [yet not too far away] and the peaceful countryside is really what I want in a relaxing break. My favourite of the villas was Hibiscus [as I like to cook and there is a full kitchen] - also it is the closest to the swimming pool!

Room Tip: hibiscus is closest to the pool and is the biggest - but they are all lovely in quite different ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sakorn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotthai, Guest Relations Manager at Mae Nai Gardens, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your great review, Sakorn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Hibiscus is a lovely villa, and many guests do appreciate having their own kitchen. We do hope you will come back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 5 days at Mae Nai Gardens when I was in Chiang Mai to attend the Absolute Bootcamp session. I have to say the photos don't do the place justice! It's beautifully landscaped with lush greenery, the relaxing sound of a bubbling stream, and quirky sculptures that pop up throughout as an unexpected, pleasant surprise. The salt water pool is an unusual treat and the water is incredibly soft to the skin. And if you fancy a massage, a call-in service can also be arranged.

Pop and Ian are very warm, welcoming and hospitable hosts who make this a home away from home. My only 'gripe' is that the resort is a wee bit out from town but then again, if your aim is to engage in some true R&R and to dedicate time to yourself and nothing else, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank layyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaeNaiGardens, Owner at Mae Nai Gardens, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We do make clear on our website that we are a 30 minute drive from the centre of Chiang Mai. As you suggest, most of our guests choose us because they want to get away from city life and spend some time relaxing in the countryside, or visiting the many activities which exist in this area. Our slogan is 'your home in the countryside'. However, it's easy to get to the city delights from here, so you can have the best of both worlds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've just returned from attending the 1st Absolute Boot Camp held at Mae Nai Gardens. I was considering where to spend a few days off when I came across this fantastic opportunity:- A fitness program held at a beautiful resort. Well, definitely needed a fitness boost and really needed a few days away to relax and recharge after a hectic 3 months! It couldn't have been better, intense exercise made fun with visits to a Muay Thai Boxing Training Center, as well as Pilates, water aerobics and of course circuit training led by Michelle, a local ex-pat who runs amazing courses to help those of us who need to improve our fitness levels, lose weight and get back on track!
Then afterwards pure bliss, with the best oil massage I've ever had, followed by delicious, home cooked food, with plenty of locally sourced vegetables and fruit. Next day, after a great breakfast, followed by a swim in the salt pool I was ready for day 2 and it didn't disappoint. The surroundings are glorious, natural and enable you to float away from all your cares. Ian and Pop are gracious hosts who make the stay comfortable and interesting, as they share their knowledge and obvious love of the area! Highly recommend this venue and the Boot Camps! A perfect blend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyCmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotthai, Owner at Mae Nai Gardens, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sally, we are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us. Thank you for the terrific review. The boot camps are a new co-venture, and we're delighted that everyone had a great time.
However, we're not just about fitness, so if anyone just wants to chill out by the pool, you'll be very happy here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for six nights and it was just wonderful. Ian and Pop, our hosts and now friends, ensured that our stay was packed full of fun as well as relaxation. The bungalow was immaculately clean; the decor was stylish and comfortable, the sheets and towels changed regularly, and we were kept hydrated with daily bottled water and a good stock of excellent tea and coffee. The gorgeous salt water pool sits perfectly in the beautiful tropical gardens that Pop himself landscaped from scratch. Breakfast was included and this was delicious and fresh. This stay in Thailand will be hard to beat as it is without doubt the most memorable accommodation on our six month travel around the world. Thank you so much, Pop and Ian.

Room Tip: The location is a 30 minute taxi ride from town, but do not let this put you off as there is plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty_G80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotthai, Owner at Mae Nai Gardens, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We loved having you here. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for several days and loved it. Beautiful, restful location, lovely accommodation and Pop and Iain went above and beyond to make our stay just right.

Room Tip: All individual chalets and very unique so study the website and choose one that suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
2.4 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 18 in Mae Rim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.3 mi away
Smile Resort Chiangmai
Smile Resort Chiangmai
#11 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
6.5 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mae Nai Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mae Nai Gardens

Property: Mae Nai Gardens
Address: 104/10 Moo 12, Baan Mae Nai Soi 1 | Tambon Mae Ram, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mae Nai Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who love the countryside - Mae Nai Gardens offers a selection of five unique guesthouses, designed and decorated in Thai style, all set within five acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with views of mountains and paddy fields beyond.The beautiful palm fringed swimming pool provides a focus for rest and relaxation. Massage available, and many outdoor activities - cycling, hiking, off-road vehicle driving easy to access.Historic Chiang Mai with its shopping, restaurants and nightlife is only a 30 minute drive away.Be assured of a warm welcome at Mae Nai Gardens.For those who are interested in getting fit and/or losing weight, we now offer a regular series of 'boot camp' programmes with our business partners, Absolute Bootcamp Fitness.Note: we usually close in the Thai hot season from mid-March to end of May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mae Nai Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mae Nai Gardens Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing