We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True treasure for the righ people.”
Review of Mae Rim Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mae Rim Lagoon
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True treasure for the righ people.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I have taken my elderly parents for a holliday and stayed here for a couple of nights. It was our best experience of the trip. For start the price was very atractive and we did not expect much. However, we were overwhelmed. The surroundings are fantastic, the atmosphere unbelievable and the luck of english was rather not a problem due to very genuine and friendly staff. My parents are even harder to please then myself, but we simply could not fault the place. ... Do not tell them, :-) but now, knowing the place I would pay even more to stay there. Very pleasent and enjoyable experiance. The only downside for some may be the 15 km from the centre of Chiang Mai, but there is a lot of to see near by anyway. If you after peace, nature and pleasent environment this is your place. But if you city junkie it may not be your cup of tea. however Perfectly suitable for honeymooners as well as families or elderly couple... hope this review helps

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Karel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The resort is very handy for Chiang Mai [about 30 minutes to airport etc] but amazingly peaceful with mountains on the horizon and over-looking a lagoon. The rooms are comfy and clean with real baths, TV [ I could only find Thai channels though] and private balconies with lovely views. Grandma's kitchen offered excellent Thai food, a European or Thai breakfast choice and great cakes and coffee during the day plus, best of all, a reasonably priced Aussie wine selection, quite rare in Thailand. Dinner stops at 8pm but this is an early place - get up with the birds, go walking or to one of the many places of interest nearby - orchid farm, monkey school, beautiful wats, relax on your balcony and get an early night. There is a nice little pool with loungers and a bar though January is quite cool for swimming - hot sun at noon but cold water! Take a little boat out onto the lagoon, or borrow a cycle free of charge. This demonstrates how lovely Boat and her family are - one afternoon we borrowed four bikes but found that they were in poor condition and had to bring them back. Boat and her father apologised profusely and said they would buy new bicycles for our use the next day. Cynically I thought this unlikely but by that afternoon 4 brand new bikes with paniers were unloaded from a van. We were out on the bikes next morning and spent a fabulous day cycling round the local villages and joining in a ceremony at the Dalai wat a kilometre away. [ the roads are quiet and flat] The Dalai wat is one of the prettiest wats I'd ever seen and empty of tourists except us. This is a nice place to relax with lovely people - not for bar-hoppers or night clubbers! We left early for the train station and Boat ensured we had a delicious picnic of chicken, noodles, sticky rice and strawberries to eat on the way which was just as welll as food on the train is minimal.

Room Tip: We loved the lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonSunlounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had an amazing 5 night stay with our 2 children at Mae Rim Lagoon. The hotel has been family run for many years and Boat (our host) couldn't have done any more for us. Most of our meals were at the hotel and the food was amazing, home cooked and based on family recipies that would be hard to find elsewhere in the region. We held our son's 9th birthday at Mae Riim Lagoon and it was totally organised and catered for by the hotel ... it was a very personalised experience and my son and all his friends loved it. Thank you Boat for everything. I would highly recommend the Hotel and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Take the newly renovated rooms, they are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My family enjoyed two nights at this beautiful resort and hated to leave. We booked the Triple minisuite and had plenty of room for the four of us. The setting is gorgeous, the food wonderful and the hostess and staff could not be more helpful and friendly. This was the first place we stayed on our two week trip in Thailand and certainly set a high bar fo the remainder of the accomodations at which we stayed. i would certainly return to Mae Rim Lagoon if I ever have the chance to return to Thailand.

Room Tip: For families the triple minisuite was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4peasSteamboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We just had an amazing 3 night stay at Mae Rim Lagoon. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful or peaceful place to vacation in northern Thailand. My husband and I were so, so pleased with the service, amenities, and atmosphere. This family run establishment really seems to make your comfort their first priority and were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Definitely 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

If you ever find yourself in northern Thailand, this hotel is a MUST. The atmosphere is so peaceful it is easy to relax. Very nice pool, and the scenery can't be beat. A gorgeous garden and lagoon is a great place to have couple beers.

Now...the service. The family that runs Mae Rim were some of the nicest, most accommodating people I have ever met while traveling. They would sit and talk with us, and we quickly felt as if we had been friends for years. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Excellent, amazing people. A big Thank You to Boat and her family for the wonderful time.

I can definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation. Oh, great food also.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmagg926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Personalised service, really friendly from the begining, in the midle of great montains and a Lotus Lagoon, perfect for 3-4 days relax and really close from many Orchid farms, National Parks, cascades...
Highly recomend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
2.5 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 19 in Mae Rim
25 reviews
10.4 mi away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 19 in Mae Rim
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
7.1 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
117 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mae Rim Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mae Rim Lagoon

Property: Mae Rim Lagoon
Address: 65/7 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Sameong (Old Road) | Rim Tai, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mae Rim Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remoteness is definitely part of the charm for travelers who choose Mae Rim Lagoon as a destination for their leisurely getaway. Situated amid the lush green surrounding of the Chiangmai countryside, this family owned resort is marked as the perfect homely escape. ...intimate, pure and warming... waiting to be discovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mae Rim Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mae Rim Lagoon Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing