We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn Court Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Howey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We have just enjoyed two nights in their ground-floor 'Meadow Room', it was actually a 'Suite' not, just a Bedroom. The Bedroom was very large with King-Size Bed, two comfortable Chairs, Kettle, Fridge, Hair-dryer & Trouser Press, good quality carpet & soft furnishings. The en-suite Bathroom had both a Shower cubical & Bath (with Shower over). There was a small Conservatory/Sitting room off the Bedroom. This level, quality & standard of amenities within a City Hotel could easily cost several hundred to even a thousand pounds a night! The excellent Breakfast was so generous that I had to request LESS PLEASE! for the second morning. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed, invited to view the available rooms then provided with Tea & Cake in their very large Lounge, with a log-burning stove! There is a place close by serving evening meals plus, another Pub & Restaurant in the Village or, lots of places to eat only one & half miles away in Llandrindod Wells. There are only three letting 'Suites' in this absolutely charming Bed & Breakfast Guest-House, so advance reservation is essential, especially once word spreads of this 'GEM'!
Heather & Chris (Somerset, England)

Room Tip: There is one Ground-Floor Room plus, a Stair-Lift to the First-Floor Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greynomad70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Having travelled abroad for years and travelled around the UK and stayed in many hotels and B & B's for work and pleasure it has to be said this is the nicest place I ever ever stayed! I would really reccomend this to ANYONE looking for a place to stay in Llandrindod wells, Powys. I work 3 days a week here at a local hospital and it is like home from home staying here.... run by an absolutely lovely family with clean spotless rooms, with everything you could need provided for you. Nothing is too much trouble! This gem is hidden well in Mid Wales!! Stayed in a few rooms, all same excellent standard. Couldn't rate it more highly to be honest and will be letting all my friends and family know! A must stay for a weekend or few days away!!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshGirl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Fantastic welcome, lovely stay here in this idyllic part of the world, Spotlessly clean ,wonderful food very large rooms and well equipped. The hosts were discrete yet friendly , we will definitely return. Mike and Marion

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikesvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Sarah, Margaret and the family made us most welcome during our stay last week. We found the Hotel purely by chance....... A really excellent find. Firstly, the location was idyllic. On arrival we were made to feel so welcome; we were given a pot of tea and home-made cake. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely - very pretty and so, so clean. There was nothing that had been forgotten. Breakfast was excellent. We only stayed for 2 nights but it was wonderful and you can be sure that we will be back next year.
What a lovely family!
Mike and Vicky Biggs

Room Tip: There was no lift, but there was a stair-lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

After many dismal stays in other venues around LLandrindod Wells which made me not want to go back to Powys I have now finally found a lovely homely B & B. I stay away on business as part of my job so I need a friendly clean and quiet place to stay and the Acorn provided everything I needed for my 3 night stay. Sarah is a delight and she really understands what customeres require I would definately recommend the Acorn whether staying for a holiday or on business.

Room Tip: I stayed in the larger suite lovely aspect with wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjb11315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed for two nights during the Welsh National Bowling Championships. Excellent accomodation. Excellent breakfasts. Excellent hosts. Excellent! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our third visit to Acorn Court. As usual, everything was excellent. Sarah and her family cannot do enough for you. They are so helpful, friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Forget "4 in a bed" if you need a place to stay in the Llandrindod area look no further. The rooms are large and airy with a sitting area, the beds large and comfy, the bathrooms spacious and everything very clean. You can fill up on an ample and delicious breakfasts with a great variety of choice. We were so full we had a job to eat any lunch!! We can't wait to stay at Acorn Court again. Thanks Sarah, Margaret and the family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ches5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey
0.2 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#3 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
23 reviews
0 mi away
Disserth Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Court Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Court Country House

Address: Acorn Court Farm Chapel Road, Howey, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5PB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Howey
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Howey
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Acorn Court Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this luxurious "Gold Award, 5 Star Country House". Nestling in the heart of the Welsh countryside just 1.5 miles from the Victorian spa town of Llandrindod Wells. All bedrooms are very comfortable and have full en suite bathrooms, hospitality trays, TV/DVD, fridge and trouser press. There is a spacious lounge and a beautiful balcony where guests can relax and enjoy the beautiful Welsh countryside in this haven for birds and wildlife. Room rates includes delicious Welsh breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acorn Court Country House Howey, Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing