We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, tranquility and great food”
Review of Three Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Three Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Howey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, tranquility and great food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Recently stayed for a long weekend on a biking holiday in mid Wales. The location is fantastic! Very peaceful and quite with lovely grounds around the hotel. A nice place for an even walk before dinner. The food was wonderful with all produce sourced from within 10 miles. The staff were attentive and helpful. I stayed in a large twin room with good views across the country side. It was clean and everything worked (television, hairdryer, wifi). I would love to stay again and would imagine its just as beautiful in all seasons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylST3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    53
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
72
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We selected this hotel because of the good reviews. It wasn't the cheapest but we thought we would treat ourselves. We were so disappointed with the hotel that it spoilt our weekend.
The first room we were allocated was unacceptable. The bathroom radiator was leaking brown gunge, the toilet roll holder was fixed so that it was behind your shoulder. It meant it was impossible to reach and made sitting on the toilet uncomfortable. The room was badly set out, there was no socket near the mirror so you wouldn't be able to see to dry your hair. We complained about the room and we were moved to another. The bathroom was much better designed. but there was no mirror in the bedroom at all. There was only one pair of sockets, one for the TV and one for and an extension lead for the kettle. The kettle was directly above the extension socket - any drips/spills from the kettle would have fallen on the live socket. The only window in the bedroom was a full length patio door which could not be opened. The owners knew that the lock was broken but hadn't had it repaired. The only way to get ait into the room was to open the bathroom window and leave the bathroom door open. The room was not very clean. There were cobwebs round the curtains which weren't attached properly. The bedside lamps were dusty and when we moved the sofa to be near the window it was filthy behind it. The mirror in the bathroom was dirty and there were dirty splashes on the inside of the bathroom door. The bathroom floor wasn't very clean. The bed linen and some of the towels were stained.
When the room was serviced the shower wasn't cleaned and the dirt in the corner were the sofa had been wasn't hovered. We had to go and ask for more loo paper. The food was overpriced and only of average quality. The only good thing about the place was the location.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgeplayer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at The Three Bells and it was exactly what we needed in terms of peaceful location, comfort and excellent food. The room (15) was more like a suite on the top floor with lovely views and adjoining sitting room. Evening meal delicious and breakfast the next morning. The staff were very polite and helpful. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

first time we have been here for a meal , we had been given as a present two meal vouchers so we thought we would use , when we spoke to the young lady what a welcome , yes you can use the two vouchers ,yes you can use them for the bar menu ,nothing was a probelm whichade the start of are meal stress less , excellant food and very good service will come again thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RONALD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longcot
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

As usual when I booked this hotel for a weekend break with some friends I really didn't know what to expect,(its always a bit of a lottery!) but this time I unearthed a real gem in the heart of Wales. Location was peaceful without being too remote. Rooms were spacious, clean and our room (rm2) had lovely views over the small lake at the front of the hotel. Food ranged from simple bar food to more haute cuisine and along with drinks was all reasonably priced. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Not a budget hotel but those happy to pay a bit more this is definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a large double with nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I can sympathise with the recent reviewer ''Onlyliveonce'' who rated the value for money as poor. Our first stay was very good in every department really, the only downsides were those consistent with an old building which new owners are slowly getting to grips with.
But our second visit cost us £95 a night also, which was very poor value and the food had gone up in price also, making our visit expensive, as that reviewer had discovered.
It seems we had the same room, a large anonymous room, costing even out of peak season £190 for 2 nights, not good value at all. NO way!
I would take issue with the owner's reponse that the reviewer was being unrealistic in the 21st century as regards prices. I say the owner is being unrealistic in a RECESSION, when people are being forced to either stay at home, or seek good value for money. £95 a night for what we got was appalling value for money, quite frankly. At a time when everyone is drawing in the belts, these places need to offer top value not top prices, especially as the hotel is somewhat in need of updating.
No, maybe we got a good deal last time, because this time the value was very poor indeed.

Room Tip: Get one at discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location is very tranquil over looking a small lake with swallows swooping to catch their supper, horses grazing, bird feeders busy providing points of interest. Really quiet, no neighbours or traffic as it's a short way from the A483 but very easy to find.
I booked a single room (Room 5)which had a double bed and toilet-shower room. TV with free-view, toiletries and surprisingly bottled water, chocolate and handmade crisps which were very tempting. There is a hair drier and even a hot water bottle so they have thought of everything! I had a view over the fields at the back of the premises but I was over the kitchem area. I love people to be happy at work but I could hear ALL their conversations as they prepared evening meals and breakfast. I'd stayed to avoid an early start for a meeting in Llandod. however I was`aware of staff chatting and clearing up late after the restaurant closed and then was woken at 6.33 a.m. by staff laughing, chatting and generally banging around while they prepared for the 7.00 breakfast. A lot of the conversations shouldn't be heard by guests...!!
The bar and restaurant area was lovely and the menu was excellent My breakfast was really good and I overheard other residents checking out thanking the staff for the quality of service and the splendid rooms so there must be rooms which were better than the one I was allocated. The numerous steps and uneven flooring may make it difficult for people with mobility issues. Room 3 is on the ground floor with patio doors onto the pathway to the car park but is adjacent to the bar area. In fairness it was very good value for money and in comparison with the big Hotels in town it's a million times better in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues I'd ask when you book as there a lot of uneven surfaces, steps and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey
1.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Highland Moors Guest House
Highland Moors Guest House
#5 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Wells Hotel

Property: Three Wells Hotel
Address: Chapel Road, Howey, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5PB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Howey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Howey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a unique, small hotel nestled in the heart of Wales. Whether you're visiting the Royal Welsh Showground, doing business in Llandrindod Wells, or getting active walking, cycling, mountain biking or kayaking through some of Wales' finest countryside, Three Wells is your perfect base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Wells Hotel Howey, Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing