We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet”
Review of Three Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Three Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Howey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Treoes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The young owners are working very hard to establish this hotel. We upgraded to a suite with an excellent bathroom. The view also over the lake was spectacular especially when it snowed overnight, magical.
The food couldn't be faulted. The food was cooked to perfection. I only wish they had a change in the menu on a two day cycle rather than monthly as I would have liked to have eaten there for the both evenings we stayed at the hotel.
We wish them all the best in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PleasedTreoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    51
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
69
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

On arrival, we were warmly greeted, informed of the restaurant and breakfast details and shown to our room. The room itself was so lovely, we had booked the family room, number 1, it was clean, well thought out and spacious.
The bathroom had the usual toiletries available, but there were masses of towels, four bottles of water, four packets of biscuits and plenty of tea coffee milk and sugars. We thought the room was great. The following morning after a very comfortable sleep, we had the choice of cereals, yogurts and fruit or the cooked breakfast, and yes allowing for freshly cooked food, it did take a little time for the full breakfast to come out, but locally sourced produce ensure quality, tasty food, well cooked.
The only one complaint I would state about our stay would be the noisy radiators clunking through the evening, but as we were very tired, after attending a local party, it only woke myself once, and the others slept through out.
On whole, we would recommend this hotel, and will return to use it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Our room was large, clean & had a lovely view over the lake. The food was very good & nothing was too much trouble, we were even asked what time we wanted breakfast served on check out day & it was cooked to perfection, freshly prepared & served at your table, unlike most hotels these days, who serve it buffet style. We would definitely like to come back & stay in the summer months. Many thanks Mike for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2, it's quite a large double & overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a beautiful, cosy and distinctive hotel with friendly staff, tasteful decor and delicious food. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and I felt at home as soon as I arrived. The setting is gorgeous, with pretty farmland all around and every room (I stayed with a group) seems to have great views. What's really impressive is the attention to detail - everything is spotless, and the little things like hairdryers, local guides, hot drinks and fresh clean towels have all been thought about and are there exactly when and where you need them. The food was fresh and delicious and the owners are helpful, thoughtful and have clearly worked hard on the place, with great results. It's a perfect antidote to chain hotels - comfortable, beautiful, family-run and charming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the last seven years and find that it is very convenient for visiting our family, The rooms are comfortable and the decor is being improved by Jonathan and his family. The meals are excellent and we enjoy the bar meals when the grandchildren join us. We have watched this hotel evolve from a B & B to a hotel and look forward to our next visit. We especially like the suites as we have a Guide Dog for the Blind who is also made most welcome.
John and Ros
Cheshire

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I needed a location close to Llandrindod and chose the Three Wells 'on spec' from the web. Must admit, I was tempted by the 'Mid-Week Madness' offer! I stayed here for the 4 nights with my wife and we have no complaints whatsoever. It is the perfect antidote to city-centre chain hotels. Located in the country, it is not hard to find although the junction of the lane with the main road features a somewhat unusual mini one-way system! However, there is a large brown tourist sign pointing the way! There is perfect tarmac along the lane from the main road and the mostly straight 1 km of road and drive is not in the least a dodgy, narrow track.

As with the other reviews, we found the owners very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a couple of bar snacks and found them excellent and certainly not over-priced. The bar stocks a range of local bottled beers which makes a change from the tasteless fizz served in some larger establishments! The breakfasts were also very good in quality and reflected the local produce that the restaurant uses where possible.

Our room was very clean and comfortable and was well-serviced during our stay. Bottled water and brew-making materials were also replenished daily without exception, again, evidence of attention to detail. OK, we could hear the staff preparing breakfast somewhere downstairs if we listened hard enough and the occasional door banged but then that sort of thing does not bother us.

Outside, there are a number of footpaths to walk and the hotel guide provides details. It is quite possible to walk into Llandrindod along either footpaths across fields or via a lane but given the time of year did not give it a try.

To sum up, a perfect retreat in the country to get away from the madding crowds. As you can read elsewhere, the owners are trying hard to make the place a success and providing you realise it is not the Ritz and manage your expectations realistically, I don't think you will be disappointed. We would certainly return.

If I have to make a negative point, I just wish they would mow (or at least strim) the back garden but I am pleased to report that did not affect our comfort!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We return year after year for the welsh cob sales in October. The hotel is in a lovely location, quiet and relaxing, an ideal base for attending events at the Royal Welsh showground. Originally a bed & breakfast with former owners, however, the new owners have upgraded it to a hotel. Although there are three owners, we only deal with one of them, Jonathon, who is very obliging and welcoming. We meet up with other guests who also return year after year for the same event. The owners are extremely accomodating, a good example is they only serve food in the bar until 9pm, we were all late returning on Saturday night, after 9pm, and they served us all food & desserts, although we did make them aware we may be late the night before. Don't expect a modern hotel, this is an old farmhouse, but tastefully renovated, and I would fully recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a separate sitting area, choose a suite or premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey
1.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
12.1 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Wells Hotel

Property: Three Wells Hotel
Address: Chapel Road, Howey, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5PB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Howey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Howey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a unique, small hotel nestled in the heart of Wales. Whether you're visiting the Royal Welsh Showground, doing business in Llandrindod Wells, or getting active walking, cycling, mountain biking or kayaking through some of Wales' finest countryside, Three Wells is your perfect base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Three Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Wells Hotel Howey, Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing