We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Horse Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The White Horse Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Eight of us enjoyed a wonderful Sunday lunch in the restaurant in front of a blazing log fire. The dining room looked sumptuous - all tables were laid with white linen tablecloths and napkins, sparkling clean glasses (both wine and water per person) and candles in silver holders on each table completed the elegant presentation. The locally sourced sirloin of beef was delicious and perfectly cooked and others in the group who had loin of pork and roast turkey respectively reported the same. It was accompanied by a large dish of steaming mixed vegetables, plenty for all. All sauces were provided. The starters and puddings were of equally good quality. During our long and leisurely meal the fire was checked and stoked with more logs at regular intervals. None of us could fault the meal, presentation, atmosphere or service and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNEP052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dinner for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner has eaten here several times with mixed results, I have only once been in for a drink a few years ago and it looked a mess, so it was with some trepidation that we headed for the White Horse having won a meal for two in a local raffle.
On arrival the staff were pleasant and welcoming, the Guinness was very good, we were offered menus and a large specials board and told we could sit were we like (this is a change of policy as my partners group were told if you sat in the bar you could only order from the bar menu) starters were fish cake and pate both of which were very good, for mains I had sirloin medallions and my partner had the Irish pork both of these were excellent, cooked to perfection and served with very fresh veg
We has a bottle of house red that was pleasant and perfectly acceptable as a house wine, the lady serving behind the bar (sorry did not ask her name) was very very helpful and made the whole evening very enjoyable, based on this we will be returning more often as we are only 15 minutes walk away
The only thing I would change would be to have fresh milled pepper rather fine ground, but that really is getting picky!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great country pub meals/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been coming here for ten years, this is the perfect lunch stop for us when out and about on the Kent/Sussex border, whether light or serious lunches. The pub has a smallish back bar and larger tabled area for the pub meals, which include Sunday roasts, other meat roasts, casseroles etc and fish mains, a couple of vegetarian options (which I am told were excellent) and above average desserts - I particularly recommend their lemon posset (which comes with home made biscuit). The coffee is good too and sometimes comes with what *looks* like a home made choc, which is unusual for a pub. Slightly more expensive than some pubs but this place is a case of getting what you pay for, the portions are big (but not huge). Top quality fresh meat and vegetables - plenty of both, esp veg. Cosy wood fire in bar in winter. So far the roast beef has arrived in 'average' style ie bit pink but not too rare, yet not overcooked - medium I guess.

We've eaten in the restaurant too which is a finer, formal but not stuffy room and has more choice on the menu, more of an 'occasion' place - there is more room and larger tables here if you are a bigger party, but I have seen eg venison on both menus and it was really nice. Beautiful view from the windows at the back (past parked cars on busy days), a lovely space to sit and look at the countryside from the garden on sunny days, plenty of car space. In the reception area there is a fish tank under the floor (!) with glass floor, but these are not for dinner. Pleasant landlady, the usual lovely young girls with varying degrees of experience waiting on tables, always welcoming. Regulars are in evidence as well as occasional visitors like us. A great place to stop if you're roaming around this rural spot, some distance from villages. Historical info/pictures etc. Clean loos. B & B but we've not tried this - the xmas break sounds fun.

Incidentally, we were present during a previous reviewer's 'burnt' experience on May Bank Hol Monday 2010 (just checked my diary), and this was one of those episodes you remember. We both remember the staff's reactions rather differently from the description below. At the time we thought it curious that we'd ordered exactly the same food which was served at the same time, presumably from the same batch, yet ours wasn't burnt at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NubblerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst meal ever had, rip off prices, staff not interested or helpfull.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Family of 4 Had lunch if you could call it that, Chicken Korma and Rice over £10 cost in Supermarket not more than £3-00 from which it was most probably bought and served, roll and butter £2-45, 2 pineapple drinks over £4-00, Prawn salad starter £6-95 need magnifier glass to find prawns, over all a rip off, stay well away staff not interested when you complain. my Uncle of 84 years treated us and lives in Cowden, what a disgrace.



Mrs P Barnes Lancing Sussex

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very expensive for the amount of food you recieve.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

we had a meal in the resturant bar of this place,my mother was charged 2.50 for a stale old bread roll disgusting,very small meals for very high prices,the food is rubbish,staff couldnt care less ,would not eat there again,or recommend anyone to eat there.how they get away with such
poor service is beyond me and there place is very very damp.awful experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing