We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owners and comfortable room”
Review of Old Wills Farm

Old Wills Farm
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Wills Farm
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly owners and comfortable room”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with my mum (I see she's already written a review!) for a friend's wedding. Our room was lovely, very comfy beds, very quiet surrounding area, even though you're not far from the A12.

I think we had their family room as it had an additional room with an extra bed but this also meant we had the extra space to watch TV when we wanted to, plus we had a family sized bathroom. As mum said, no milk for tea available in the room but I'm sure if we asked for it, it would have been provided. We were offered a cup of tea when we arrived which was in lovely china tea cups and we were also given a slice of cake, yummy.

As has been said already by other reviewers, the breakfast was excellent, tasty sausages, lean bacon, and eggs cooked just how I like them. I wasn't too sure about sharing the breakfast table with other guests but thankfully the ones we shared with were friendly and on the second day, really chatty, which was lovely.

The showers all have a water pump to give them power, which is why they are noisy, and there's little that can be done about that but just be aware you will hear other guests showers through the walls.

The house itself is lovely as was the welcome and I would certainly be happy to stay here if I ever visit this area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My daughter and i stayed here for 3 nights we were attending a Wedding at Prested Hall and it was very convient. The house is unusual wooden floors throghuout. We asked for a twin bedded room which we got with a little annex with another bed and chair and tv and bathroom off. Very nice. The beds were comfortable and facilities fine. Although i would suggest they supply long life milk for your tea.They only left coffee mate which is not nice in tea. I realise that the rooms are hot and it would be difficult to keep ordinary milk fresh. Perhaps they could look into that, its our only comlaint. The other guest rooms are very close and you did hear the other showers very loud, but as we were already awake it didn't matter. The breakfast was excellent, you do have to sit at a table with the other guests but it was ok for us.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as had a friend's wedding nearby. The communication when booking was excellent when we requested and early check-in. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower small but nice and hot. We were asked what time we would like breakfast, and it was excellent quality with the cooked choices prepared to order. There was also juice, cereals, fruit and yogurt. Overall a lovely stay and at a very good price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foxydan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We used this as a stop over on a long west-east England family trip. It was pretty easy to find in the dark (though more than the half a mile from the green stated in the instructions). The place is spotlessly clean, well furnished and comfortable. The owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good. No real down sides - the shower room in our room was pretty cramped but fine for one night. Sunday night food available at The Sun in Feering - OKish...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
1.1 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
546 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#3 of 3 in Feering
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
332 reviews
9.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Wills Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wills Farm

Property: Old Wills Farm
Address: Old Wills Farm Little Tey Road, Feering, Colchester CO5 9RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Feering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Wills Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Wills Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wills Farm Feering, Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing